We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun music and food with friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John A's

John A's
Ranked #149 of 2,027 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
az
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun music and food with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We found our way to this place for 7 nights in a row as we enjoyed the music which usuallly starts at 8pm daily and at 6 on Sundays. The house band was great as were the other performers such as Dan Schafer Mon-Wens. We found the happy hour very reasonable and the staff were all very polite. The nachos were big! This is a very clean place and the music was not so loud as other places so we could meet and talk to others around us. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    174
    106
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been to John A's quite a few times. The fried pickles and the mushrooms are the best appetizers! The entrees are good too. The best part is the music. I love to see some "unknown" singers get up on the stage and sing with the band on open mic night. The whole atmosphere is fun, and good place for people watching :) Although its a bar, it's also suitable for families. Kids just can't sit up at the bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crazy great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Came down from Chicago to watch the Bears slaughter the Titans. Ate here the first night, and was surprised how crazy good the food was!! Great entertainment as well!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Better Not Miss This One!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good food, Good service and Great music. On Music Valley Drive. Super bar for every age. What more can you say?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Server was very helpful with suggestions and was very attentive. They also have live music which starts at 8:00.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janetkay1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John A's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing