We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Yarra Junction attraction”

Blue Lotus Water Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kew
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Yarra Junction attraction”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although I've lived in Victoria for more than 70 years, I'd never heard of the Blue Lotus Water Garden until last weekend when a friend suggested we visit it - she'd seen a small paragraph about it in the weekend Age.

We arrived around lunch time so decided to dine in the cafe first. It was a lovely day in the low 20s C, blue sky - just perfect. The cafe is situated on a lake of water lilies - one feels as though one is in a Monet painting! The view is so beautiful that one can easily forgive the long queue to order one's lunch and the lengthy wait for the food after that!

We walked around the gardens after lunch for more than an hour and still hadn't seen the full extent of the property. Every aspect is gorgeous - I took numerous photos of the stunning views. The Blue Lotus Water Garden is a photographer's delight!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank judijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    38
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely views, spectacular blooms, relaxing and very different”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to the Blue Lotus Gardens for lunch and a walk around the gardens. There were hot houses and lakes and ponds all displaying various lilies. The variety was excellent with many many blooms and signs to explain what was what. The walking surface was easy and there were Pete with prams and wheelchairs easily moving around. Drinking Water was readily available around the picnic areas and there were many undercover picnic tables available. We had lunch in the restaurant. The food was fresh but standard fare such as gourmet lie chips and salad or quiche and salad. It was quite expensive and we had to wait 45 minutes between ordering and receiving our meals because they were quite busy. Entry to the gardens was $15.00 per person with children and seniors discount available There are lots of pagodas and seating available around the park so it is quite an opportunity for a leisurely outing. It is an easy drive from Melbourne with lovely scenery along the way. One good idea is that there are many large umbrellas available for load in case it is wet or sunny. There is an extensive retail nursery and the staff here, as well as everywhere in the gardens were extremely helpful. We came home with a lovely water lily for our pond. Recommend this outing for all ages especially for anyone who would like a little time out from their busy lives.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Aquinn1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Glorious waterlily gardens ”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited with our three adult children and four grandchildren from 7 months to 11 years. We booked a table for lunch in the Cafe. Food was fine, except for rather sad chips, and despite very pleasant and helpful staff it was very slow. (Too few staff) Quite expensive ($19.90 for lotus salad, $27.00 for flathead, chips and salad,) but fish, fish cakes and quiches were very nice and accompanying salads with Thai dressing a step up from the usual, and kids' meals at $7.90 (nuggets or the like with a paddlepop or similar icecream) were very good value. Lots of space to walk and a really glorious display of so many varieties of waterlilies and many, many other beautiful plants and flowers. Lovely walks including a river walk, lots of spots for picnics, excellent signage and information. We spent 4 very pleasant hours here. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A unique destination, worth a Sunday drive”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the only place in southern Australia where you can spend hours surrounded by acres of waterlilies, lotus and good country air.
The café improves with every visit, the gardens are beautiful and a photographer's dream. Ideal location to take visitors and a pleasant country drive to get there.
Don't expect fanfare and 5 star table service, expect peace, tranquillity and relaxation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Waldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful and amazing”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This beautiful place has been around for a while however I only heard of it recently. With few good friends, we decided to explore the place, which is only about one hour plus from Melbourne CBD. The Blue Lotus Water Garden simply beautiful, the whole area is about 14 acres, it has its own cafe, nursery, and gift shops. There are also places for people who want to do picnic. We had a picnic and started to take a walk around the garden. Almost everywhere we went, the sceneries were beautiful, so many beautiful lotus and water lilies, there are also few red bridges, huts and pergola which gives the nice ambience to this vast garden. We visited this place on Sunday and there was a live music performed by a very talented single musician... he played a variety of musical instruments and it added a very nice nuance to this garden. The entry fee is worth for the visit. For those who want to visit and know more about this place might want to check out their website - http://www.bluelotusfarm.com.au/index.html

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lotus Water Garden also viewed

 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Yering, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Blue Lotus Water Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing