We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deloraine Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deloraine Homestead
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My girlfriend, her mother and I took a trip to the Yarra Valley and we very fortuitously came across Deloraine Homestead as our accommodation for the night. Met by hostess and owner Peta, we were directed to the most delightfully decorated and comfortable room. Filled with a regal bathroom, a host of ornaments and accessories adding charm and character, as well as a balcony overlooking the vast property, the room had everything we wanted. But that was only the first of many wonderful experiences at Deloraine. Peta is warm and obliging, not to mention a terrific cook. Providing us with handy hints and tips about the area, as well as cooking a feast of a breakfast, Peta welcomed us to her home and treated us like family. I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast enough and the fact that it is at the back of a sprawling property with animals and nature abounding only added to the experience. Relaxing, peaceful, scenic and perfect in everyway. High recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Summary:
Deloraine Homestead provides excellent Bed and Breakfast accommodation in a picturesque location near Yarra Junction.

Arriving at Deloraine Homestead:
Check-in is 2pm. But unlike hotels, it is done in an casual style. We were upgraded to the Jacaranda Suite, which was a nice surprise.

Deloraine Homestead itself:
Deloraine Homestead is a large house with wide, stunning views of the surrounding gardens and countryside. Rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated with much attention to detail. Peta is a wonderful host.

Rooms:
There are only 3 rooms. The Wedgwood Room looked very nice but it would not have the views that the Jacaranda Suite and the Cottage have. The Cottage is the largest room and can be self catered.

Meals:
An excellent breakfast is included in the room rate. Peta also offers a set dinner menu for those who want to dine at the homestead - it's BYO by the way. We decided to dine in and very much enjoyed the experience in the lovely fine dining room.

Leaving Deloraine Homestead:
Check-out is 11am. It was and casual and friendly.

Room Tip: The Jacaranda Suite and the Cottage have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We came in on an incredible special which we more or less thought would be too good to believe. in fact it was far superior than stated and provided everything advertised and more. At full rates this property would still be one of the best we have stayed at. We could not have wished for more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bighawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Peta's a great host and she's got an amazing house perched all by itself on top of a hill overlooking the Yarra countryside. Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 night having cycled from the Cog cafe in Mount Evelyn (don't take your girlfriend cycling for 4 hours in the rain in winter for a romantic treat). On arrival we settled into the Bush Pallete; a really nice self-contained unit with a wall of floor-ceiling windows looking out on the valley below, had a long shower, then joined Peta for a glass of wine or two by the fireplace in the main house. We then moved on to a lovely dining room for a 3-course meal and some more wine which carried on lateish into the night because we were having such a nice time. Full slap-up brekkie in the morning, then a late checkout and, noticing the anxious eyes of my weather-watching partner, Peta even offered us a lift back to Mt Evelyn with the bikes which we politely declined but was very generous nevertheless. Would highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deaglehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Okay, Deloraine Homestead isn't in the centre of the Yarra Valley. It's on the outskirts. But I think your money goes farther here.

It's gorgeous. It's large, and the rooms are enormous. Host Peta's sense of decor is finely tuned, and everything here is elaborate and attractive. Maybe too frou-frou for some, but if I'm spoiling myself a like a bit of luxury.

Because she was light on guests, Peta upgraded us to the big corner suite, with panoramic views out over the valley below and hills in the distance. Sunset out on the porch was incredible.

Each breakfast was an experience, and Peta's immense fun. I can see why regulars come back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed here over the Easter break and had an amazing time. The setting is picturesque, the homestead is beautiful, ornate & serene and the owner Peta is a lovely, warm woman who lives and breathes hospitality. Her attention to detail is amazing - everything you want or need is taken care of.

This is the perfect spot for a quiet yet romantic getaway - come with your partner and book a wine tour and check out Warburton and the local winery restaurants. After a full day exploring Peta will cook you a delicious dinner to enjoy in the dining room or make your own dinner and cosy up in front of the fire (in autumn/winter). Other friendly guests make for a fun, social and warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

My experience at Deloraine Homestead was absolutely superb. The beauty & quality of this home is amazing. The care & attention with the service that was provided was delightful. Being in the Yarra Valley, this home is beautiful & surreal.

The room I stayed in was absolutely beautiful & was fully supplied with all that is required for an enjoyable stay.
Sitting out on the veranda, looking out at the gorgeous view of the mountains in front of me, was an experience I specifically remember, I did not want to forget.

The location is great. It's around the corner to the shops & many unbelievable attractions, including the Blue Lotus Watergarden, Mount Donna Buang & walking tracks by the river.

I am definitely returning again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koko017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Junction
20.6 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
17.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
18.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deloraine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deloraine Homestead

Property: Deloraine Homestead
Address: 355 Tarrango Road | Gladysdale, Yarra Junction, Victoria 3797, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Deloraine Homestead 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Deloraine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deloraine Homestead Yarra Valley/Yarra Junction, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing