We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trash made our evening special”

Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley and within an hour of Melbourne, Rae's is an ideal venue for any occasion - a romantic getaway, that long awaited girlie weekend or just an excuse to escape. From casual coffee’s, to hearty breakfasts, chic lunches or intimate dinners, Rae's Restaurant will see you eat and drink in style. The views are breathtaking and the facilities invite you to extend your day. Enjoy a massage at our day spa, trek our walking tracks or simply indulge with a glass of bubbles by the fire. The warmer months make it impossible to resist the outdoor dining area overlooking our vines. For a bit of retail therapy, don’t forget to visit our Cellar Door.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very relaxed yet professional, food excellent and very open to constructive criticism, overall dining experience was made extra special by the delightful and attentive wait staff!!! Especially the delightful young lady who looked after us. Tash thank you again for a wonderful evening:)

Jen and Dave

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Jen and Dave

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values especially Tash. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 389 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently visited Balgownie for our anniversary and had dinner at Rae's. Great local produce, (picked from the veggie patch out the back!) and inventive menu. The service was fantastic from Harrison, who knew about the chef's selection and what would suit our tastes. Harrison was attentive without being imposing, a nice balance. The wine list was good, would have preferred a few more options to select on it though. The desert tasting plate was heaven!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Wow what a great review, thank you. It is great to be able to use our own produce in the restaurant, fresh and delicious. Thanks for the compliment for Harrison, he is a great asset to our team and I will ensure your compliments are passed onto him. The desserts are amazing and great you had enough room to fit them in!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can not recommend this place highly enough. It provides the whole dining package: excellent service, food and atmosphere.

We had important relatives from overseas that we were keen to impress. We booked this place for a Saturday lunch and were upgraded without asking to a private room with brilliant views of the vineyard and gardens. Staff were very attentive, helpful and professional. We were personally greeted by their very friendly manager.

We had the 3 course set lunch which was very good value for a Yarra Valley winery of this calibre. The food was of a very good standard. We even got a chance to sample complimentary wine tasting at their cellar door whilst we waited for the meals to come out. It was a lovely dining experience overlooking a lush manicured lawn, white rose courtyard and a sprouting vineyard in the near distance. They even had statues of Australian animals which the children found amusing. I highly recommend this place for functions as well as private dining.

This place is attached to a resort which we are hoping to come back soon one day to stay so that we may once again dine at this lovely restaurant. This place is located close to Yarra Glen township and Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Ice Creamerie for those who are after something to do to walk off the huge lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank melbgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for such a great review about your Lunch at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional experience which we have clearly met. We are pleased you enjoyed your private dining experience with the amazing view! We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer service values and a fantastic location and property. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant and also possible Balgownie Estate again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food and wine was amazing, the menu was not extensive but superb in tatse and quality and a meal I will remember. The atmosphere was lovely and the views were beautiful, also what made the night was the service and passion the staff had for their roles. Thanks to our waiter Harrison who completed a perfect night for us with his suggestions of wine to complement the food we had chosen, it really made our night. Rae's is a place i would recommend to anyone who wishes to celebrate a special occasion, and ask for Harrison!! Great service, lovely staff wonderful weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values especially Harrison. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thank you Rae and staff (Tash, Caitlin, et al) for looking after us for dinner on Thursday and Friday. Your enthusiastic service was really appreciated!! Food was excellent and very enjoyable for the whole family.

All dishes were very well prepared, service enthusiastic and professional!

PS On a general note..a disappointing feature of the Accor Advantage plus is that it is not accepted for Bfast or lunch?! This is the reason we dropped out of Accor before...being treated like a second class customer ....A bit of an anomaly and very confused....you are either part of Accor or not! You cant have it both ways!...really an issue for Accor and Balgownie....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your experience. Great to hear you enjoyed the meals at Rae's Restaurant. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the Accor Advantage Plus. Your feedback is really valuable to us and our Rooms Divisions Manager Jason would like to have the opportunity to talk to you directly about the feedback. You can contact him on 03 9730 0700 or email him directly on rdm@balgownieestate.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate also viewed

 

Been to Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing