We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley and within an hour of Melbourne, Rae's is an ideal venue for any occasion - a romantic getaway, that long awaited girlie weekend or just an excuse to escape. From casual coffee’s, to hearty breakfasts, chic lunches or intimate dinners, Rae's Restaurant will see you eat and drink in style. The views are breathtaking and the facilities invite you to extend your day. Enjoy a massage at our day spa, trek our walking tracks or simply indulge with a glass of bubbles by the fire. The warmer months make it impossible to resist the outdoor dining area overlooking our vines. For a bit of retail therapy, don’t forget to visit our Cellar Door.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the 3 course meal. Scallop & beef carpaccio to start were both delicious and a great start. Main course was eye fillet with veg & crispy skin salmon with smashed peas. Both cooked perfectly to our liking. Dessert - although we were full & didn;t really need it - chocolate fondant with blood orange sorbet & ice cream/sorbet selection. Highlight was the blood orange sorbet! Would have been happy with a couple scoops of that on its own!
Our waitress - Shae - was gorgeous. Friendly, attentive & a sense of humour. She made our meal all the more enjoyable.
We also received an amuse bouche - califlower & goat cheese sipper - a thick soup - also delicous!
Meals were well presented & arrived quickly - but not too quickly.
All in all we had an amazing dinner and rolled out the door for an early bed time!

Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Danielle T,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a raving review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional service. Great to see we have definitely succeeded! Your compliments for Shae will certainly be passed on, she is a great member of our team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 365 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, we had lunch, drank some wine, got to sit in a Ferrari parked right at the restaurant door. The service was spot on. My hat off to the chefs, the food was awesome!! We'll be back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaxon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for the great review Jaxon B. The Ferrari's have certainly been a great added bonus to those visiting the Restaurant and add to the amazing experience. I will certainly pass your compliments onto the chef.

Hopefully we will see you at Rae's Restaurant again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed overnight at Balgownie Estate and dined at Rae's Restaurant for breakfast.
The main hot dishes are served to order, which ensures hot delicious food.
We enjoyed the Big Brekky dish (1x scrambled and 1x fried version). Food arrived hot, fresh and delicious.
Could help yourself to other items (eg. toast, tea, coffee, juice, etc.) including danishes (which are served warm).
Disappointed we couldn't stay long enough to experience lunch or dinner, given how nice breakfast was. Hopefully we will be back to try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PurpleSunshine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food, wine and service was excellent - hope to return w=if Andrew and staff are still on board. Great people to deal with

Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values including Andrew. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to dinner on Tuesday the 27th. The food was fabulous. We had the three course option, the scallops were a stand-out. For mains we had the beef and it was perfection, and the chocolate fondant was wonderful. We were so full. Our waitress Caitlyn, was fantastic, very professional, knowledgeable, and nothing was too much trouble, looking after us all night. It was so nice to have attentive staff. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter19383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Rae's Restaurant - Balgownie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing