We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but seriously over priced”

Wine Bar Restaurant @ Yering Station
Reserve with
Wine Bar Restaurant @ Yering Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
victoria, australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not bad but seriously over priced”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came for Sunday lunch recently. Have been several times before and generally have liked the food and wine. However, it is beginning to get seriously overpriced for what it is. I am always annoyed by the pushing of sparkling water to begin with - before you've seen the wine list and come to grips with the fact that mineral water will cost you $11 a bottle. Starting to be common practice in upper end restaurants but still annoying. Then there's wine by the glass at $12 - or $19 a glass if you opt for the reserve or vintage wines. This is perhaps understandable in a restaurant that cellars their wine, but in a winery, for your own wine it is a bit rich. The food was OK. Eye fillet was good as was ocean trout for mains. Children's menu lasagna was a very small square of not stunning lasagna with some steamed vegetables (bland), but at least at $14 it was 'reasonable'. My other gripe was that the waitress informed me that my $42 main would not be very substantial and I would thus need to order sides. The baked potato gratin was in a ramekin and was a not particularly appetising grey/brown colour and varied in texture from dry on top to sludgy underneath - another $9. Desserts were generally good. I think the standard of food has fallen a bit, but the prices have stayed high. Could do better and could afford to be slightly more generous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    23
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday family treat @ Yering”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a lovely meal with the family at Yering. The full glass floor to ceiling gives an uniterupted view to the Yarra Valley. As a farmer the view was of poor land, tussocks and weeds, I think a foreground of even decorative vines, trees would be more appealing than the swamp. We had mains and shared the tasting selection of desert at $40 a plate. That was enough for our party of 6. We all enjoyed our main, but like most qulaity restaurants we ordered 3 sides of vegies. Potatoes, heritage tomotoes were both nice. The brussel sprouts as the special were horrible and about half left on the plate.We asked them to come without the bacon...but we did not expect them dosed in wasabi sauce...it just tasted foul. I was convince to buy the Reserve Shiraz at $98 a bottle and I hope my son and my daughters boyfriend enjoyed it as I missed out as the waiter filled their glasses but gave me the bill. As a tip- go to the Gallery and wine tasting in the old cellar and taste the wines prior your meal. You might be quite happy with the Station series at half the price of the Reserve Range. The current owners also own the Xanadu winery in WA. Well worth the Sunday lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WallyandPhoebe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
516 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great view across the valley”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This restaurant serves a range of dishes for all tastes. A bit barn like, in that it is all open and noisy. Not a good place to take kids though. We enjoyed a bottle of their sparkling while sitting outside enjoying the view across the valley.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, beautiful view”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Yering Station restaurant is in a very modern building looking out to the Yarra Valley countryside. As I recall there were no vineyards in sight, but the view was magnificent nonetheless. The dining room is large with floor to ceiling windows looking out to the Valley. The restaurant serves 6-8 different entrees and a glass of their wine, along with coffee or tea and a bite of a sweet, for lunch. I chose a chicken breast with a delicious pâté that came with a frisée salad -- it was delicious and just the right amount of food. There are many large tables for friends and family groups. The service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“food artistry at its Best”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Well done!!! thank you to the our friends who had this recommended by the women of wine, with the manicured front gardens to the views over the Yarra Valley, the setting is the start, an array of fine entrees to choose from and the main course selection was magnificent. the morton bay bugs were full of flavour set in a presentation that was exquisite, every meal was designed like a work of art. Good wines to drink that complimented the meal, well done to the staff, all smiled and the chefs, amazing work.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar Restaurant @ Yering Station also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Wine Bar Restaurant @ Yering Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing