We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation and so clean!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leafield Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leafield Cottages
Ranked #1 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and so clean!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I were given a voucher as a gift and stayed at Leafield Cottages for two nights at the end of February. Ron was a great help when we were booking and Jan was welcoming and helpful when we arrived. The cottage was very comfortable, extremely clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast provisions were very fresh and more than adequate. We weren't disturbed by road noise and found the position of the property perfect to explore the surrounding areas. Jan suggested we eat at the Toolangi Tavern and this was a very good idea as the food and service were wonderful. We recommend this accommodation for a place to stay to explore the Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousenous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Leafield Cottages is a lovely spot to rest and relax in the Yarra Valley. Located close to De Bortoli in the north of the valley, it is also well positioned close by to other wineries and a few minutes drive from the town of Yarra Glen. We stayed for 4 days in February and our hosts Ron and Jan were welcoming and hospitable. The initial phone enquiry was quickly followed up with a Word doc confirmation and also driving instructions on how to reach the place from Melbourne Airport.

We stayed in the Pool Suite, which is a spacious area underneath/attached to the main homestead. It comprises of 4 adjoining rooms - a lounge room, bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, and bathroom. Outside of the suite is a patio with table and chairs, which overlook the swimming pool and gardens. Audible noise through the walls from the main home, and from highway traffic outside was very minimal and barely noticeable. The bed was comfortable, we had an excellent sleep. They had also bought flat screen TVs for our (and all the other) accommodation just before we arrived.

The Pool Suite catered to our needs during the stay. Country breakfast provisions were in the kitchen on arrival (fresh chicken eggs, bacon, bread loaf, croissants, cereals, milk, orange juice, and condiments - including Jan's home-made loganberry jam). We were able to prepare meals easily and also cooked dinner in the oven one evening. Our friends stayed in the historic Rose Cottage so we were able to check out the inside there, which was kept in good original condition, spacious and well furnished. We were also given a tour of the attic rooms in the main homestead, which looked like another cosy place to stay.
After letting them know we had booked dinner at De Bortoli, Jan and Ron offered us a discount coupon (they have an arrangement with the winery) which we used to enjoy an excellent 3 course meal. Jan really went above and beyond as a host by picking us up and bringing us back to Leafield after dinner, because our pre-ordered taxi never arrived!

All in all, this was a lovely place to stay and we would recommend it. Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steakman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We recently strayed and felt like we were being watched the whole time. When we arrived we were told repeatedly what time we had to check out. Definitely wasn’t the warm welcome we were expecting. The owners didn’t even tell us their names when introducing themselves. We were also reminded of the "DO NOTs" of the place and it made us feel very uncomfortable.

At almost $200 a night I felt this was overpriced with rooms with small old TV's, out of date furniture and a basic breakfast that only considered of eggs, bacon and bread! Oh and not to mention you had to cook it yourself, ensure everything was washed up , packed away and you were reminded to take all your rubbish out of the cottage!
Next time I would rather save my money and stay at home! I wouldn’t recommend it at all!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twins2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent 2 nights in Sage Cottage and can only speak highly of the owners and the accommodation. Jan and Ron are extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast items supplied were fresh and tasty. The surroundings are picturesque and I was not aware of the traffic noise although I'm a very light sleeper. We would definately recommend Leafield to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My mum came over on a visit from the UK and I was looking for somewhere special to take her. I found it. From the moment we arrived, Jan and Ron were impeccable hosts. So friendly and a real source of excellent local information and advice (including tip offs about the Toolangi Tavern and the Yarra Glen Grand hotel - both of which were lovely places to eat). We stayed in Rose cottage which was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Very comfy beds, hot powerful shower, big kitchen with all the pots, pans, crockery etc we could want. The convenience of local eggs, bacon, milk, croissants and bread in the fridge to make breakfast as and when we felt like it. Lovely sunterrace was great for spring morning breakfasts. Easy walking distance to several wineries (although beware - midweek in spring isn't the best timing. Most wineries are only open at weekend at this time of year.) The location is perfect - easy travelling to Healsville, yarra glen, kingslake, black spur and marysville. I would particularly recommend a trip to Maroondah reservoir which was stunningly beautiful. A wonderful holiday in a beautiful place. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just spent two unforgetable days at Leafield Cottages. We were greeted by the lovely Jan, who had all the time in the world for us despite being in the middle of upkeeping the gorgeous cottages. We were in the Hanaby Cottage; cosy, charming, inviting, traditionally decced out, immaculate attention to detail, gloriously clean, delicious fresh eggs, and tranquil settings are how i would desrcribe this warm cottage. The ameneties were all there, the log fire place added to the character, and the comfortable bed and duvet were winners in their own right. Jan and Ron are wonderfully warm and easy going hosts, and i would recommend the Leafield Cottages to anyone. We can't wait to have the opportunity to go back and to catch up with Jan and Ron. Keep up the Excellent job Guys, you are both terrific.

Room Tip: All the cottages have their own privacy away from the main house. They all look very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our little getaway was fantastic. Both the owners were very friendly and helpful and up for a good chat. We stayed in sage cottage. Little one bedroom with everything to make our stay comfy! Cottage exceptionally clean, bacon and eggs in the fridge for us to cook for breakfast was very nice. They helped us book a winery tour with Yarra Valley Tours which was also fantastic. We will definitely be back. Had such a relaxing 3 days. As others have said it is close to the road but we did not hear the traffic from inside the cottage. Absolutely beautiful property, cottages are cozy and owners a pleasure to talk to. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec-and-Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
0.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art at Linden Gate
Art at Linden Gate
#2 of 7 in Yarra Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leafield Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leafield Cottages

Property: Leafield Cottages
Address: 1921-23 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leafield Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leafield Cottages Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing