We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De'Vine Escape(Dixons Creek)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Yarra Glen Bed and Breakfast(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
$106
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$123
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art at Linden Gate(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leafield Cottages(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
DixiGlen Farm(Dixons Creek)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melba Lodge(Yarra Glen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveler rating
511
364
138
92
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
364
138
92
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar doorrae's restaurantwine tastingyarra valleynespresso machinesteam roomtasting roomheated poolbalgownie estate vineyard resortcourse dinnerstaff at receptionmy partnermid weekbuffet breakfastlounge roomwedding anniversaryrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay when visiting the beautiful Yarra Valley. Centrally located to the beautiful Alowyn Garden, Yarra Valley chocolate and wineries. Gorgeous views over the vineyards and the mountains in the distance. Breakfast was included I. The room rate which was lower belt and had a good variety. Our room was a good size and lovely and clean. Highly recommend somewhere to stay when visiting Yarra Valley. Good for couples friends having a weekend away. Only down side not many place to walk.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharonu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo W, Guest Relations Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hi Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review! We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday in the Yarra Valley, and privileged to be part of it! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us to plan your next visit.

Best wishes,

Balgownie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

A great venue for a conference and accommodation is very nice and beds a great for a peaceful rest. Facilities are well kept and maintained, staff are very helpful and proactive. Their customer service manner is above excellent and happy to assist always

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Anis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo W, Guest Relations Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Anis,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5 star review! We work hard to provide all of our guests with the most friendly and helpful service from our staff, as well as a beautiful resort experience for our corporate guests, and we are glad to see that this was reflected on your recent visit.

We hope you get to come back for a holiday and experience all else that we have to offer!

Best wishes,

Balgownie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious meal for lunch yesterday. Loved that you can have two courses (either entree and main or main and dessert) for $49. I enjoyed the perfectly spiced Middle Eastern Fritters and the medium to rare Porterhouse steak with winter greens and my husband had the Calamari and a well cooked Porterhouse. We shared a side of delicious hand cut chips with garlic aioli. The accompanying Black Label Shiraz was delicious, so good I bought a bottle at the cellar door to take home. Will definitely be back again.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Philippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo W, Guest Relations Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hi Philippa,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent meal at Rae's! The fritters are one of our absolute favourites and we are so glad you enjoyed it too. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best wishes,

Balgownie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

My husband and I arrived at Balgownie and started with a couples massage. the staff were friendly and professional and the massage was fabulous. From here we went to check into our room and we were met with the same happy, friendly and helpful attitude. The unit was clean, spacious, up-to-date and comfortable. In all we had a great weekend and cannot recommend Balgownies enough. I cannot wait to go back for another visit.

Room Tip: They all seem to be equally as good as one another
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyblanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Good: Good restaurant setting.
Alright food.
Bad: Food took so long to get to our table - we got there at 12.15pm. Entre came at 1pm. Mains came at 2.15pm. Felt like the chef went fishing for the fish & hunting for the lamb & beef.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank dimple16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo W, Guest Relations Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hi Dimple16,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent dining experience at Rae's Restaurant. We are disappointed to hear that your meals were not outstanding, and concerned to hear about how long it took for your food to arrive. We have looked into the matter you have brought to our attention, and implemented further training in our front of house team.

We sincerely hope that the rest of your visit was enjoyable and relaxing, and hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Balgownie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews