We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Only stayed 1 night at though because it is tie with my hotair balloon package. We stay in a 2 bedrooms suite and the whole place is quite spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed and very nice scenery from the rooms. Didn't get to try out food though. Had the wine tasting and it is a very pleasant wine cellar. Great place to chill relax. Will love to go back again.. Check in is hassle free but took awhile, checkout is smooth, no hiccups too. Downside.. maybe slightly pricey if i would just book accommodation without the package. And because the location, will need quite a drive out to town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Good afternoon fenzf,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and provide some good feedback. Our rooms do have the beautiful views down the Yarra Valley. We are constantly reviewing our procedures to streamline both check in and check out, ensuring there is a minimal delay during those periods.

Best regards

Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We travels across Australia for seven weeks and this was going to be one of the highlighted stays. Decided to splurge a little Balgownie for four days. Sorry we did. They did not live up to their own reputation at all. One of our worst stays in country. They advertise great views from the deluxe suites so we upgraded. Wrong. There may at one time been great views. But now the trees have grown up and they built a big gravel parking lot in front of some of the rooms (including ours). So that's the view. When we checked in we noticed a number of lights were burnt out and promptly completed the "fix it" card in our room. When we dropped it off at the desk the clerks said that shouldn't be so. In four days, however, they never fixed the lights. The parking lot near the rooms for guests is too small for the number of rooms so don't be surprised if you have to walk a long distance to your room. They don't provide carts for luggage so be prepared to shlep. We were told a cart and driver would come by (it seemed it was a bit of a bother to the staff) - but by the time they showed up most everything was lugged to the room. The room felt more like a store. Be careful. There is lots of stuff for sale in your room. They even charge $12 for condoms. They state internet is available - but it is only through a cable. No wireless available in the rooms (really?! - in this day and age at a modern facility like this??). The steam room was broken and the "experience spa" was full of screaming kids. The water was luke warm. And they advertise this as a romantic getaway for couples.

One last thing. We are a same sex couple. When we came to check in the clerk looked at at us and stated "We only have you for one room and we don't have any other rooms available." Do you think he says that to opposite sex couples?

Stay somewhere else. We loved Yarra Valley and will be back. But not at Balgownie.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay and want a view, be rather insistent on what the view is of.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

I would like to apologise for the recent experience not meeting your expectations. We have taken your feedback on board and discussed them at length.

I would also like to apologise for the lights in your room not being attended to Immediately. We have re-enforced our procedure in this regard.

Should you wish to discuss further, please contact Paul Koenig on 9730 0700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went to Balgownie for a two night stay - it was wonderful from the start to the finish! The staff were fabulous, the spa suite was to die for - luxurious, spacious and very well appointed - and the food awesome. I'd recommend Balgownie to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeCharlieGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Balgownie Estate Resort and Spa. It's lovely to receive your positive feedback, and I will certainly pass your comments on to all concerned at our Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked at night there for Anzac day , in a suite 410 with jacuzzi inside and beautiful view , the room was really nice , staff at the reception really friendly.
We went there for a tasting , really nice guy , and good wines , really good prices too, we got few bottles , back to our room , to enjoy the wine on a balcony with a nice view and some cheeses we bought in a morning , but we didn't have any bread , can't find any bread on a room menu , we called the reception ( Cris ) and he said the restaurant is closed and we don't sell any bread but I'll try to get some and let you know...and a bit later a waitress came with some nice bread and we enjoyed wines and cheeses.
Then at night we went to the restaurant , really nice atmosphere with the nice fireplace , I ordered the scallops for starter , what an amazing surprised , the best scallops I ever had , main and desert was as good as the starter , service was good too.
Was a lovely evening.
Next morning we got a full breakfast there , fresh products , nice breakfast , even some French pastries , which it was good because I'm French and not a lot of restaurants have some , well lot have some but far from what we can eat in France , but this croissant was quite nice .
I was disappointed about the hot breakfast , like bacon , sausage...was not hot , was a bit cold , I would say it was the only negative point.
Anyway , you pay for a luxury place and you get everything you pay for and more , I would recommend this place if you want have a romantic or family week end.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Balgownie Estate Resort and Spa. It's lovely to receive your feedback, and I will certainly pass your comments about the Scallops onto our Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was taken as a surprise break for my birthday in December two nights in a 1 bedroom suite. view to the south east over the valley was just stunning. The room having its own kitchen area was great, we were able to on night 2 get some cheese and wine and just have a night in.

Spa bath fits 2 grown adults with ease :)

Hotel facilities are good, the walking track of a morning was nice and a great way to see the Valley from another perspective. Indoor pool was lovely, tennis courts were good (though the hire rackets were needing a new grip, though at $0 hire I wouldn't complain!). Restaurant was great too, beautiful food, and we sat on the veranda after dinner with coffee and watching the night sky.

Close to prefect, hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It's so lovely to receive positive feedback, and very much appreciated. We are very pleased you had a lovely experience at Balgownie Estate, and you enjoyed all the facilities here at the resort.

We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed here last night. I have to say I wouldn't waste a cent on this place!! The food was poor and terrible, I was still hungry afterwards and the chicken was pink in the middle. The service wasn't that great and when a handicapped man came through the waitress proceeded to say how awkward it was in front of him!! HOW RUDE. I have to say though the room and wine tasting was good, beautiful views and great spa. Now this mornings breakfast i found a worm in my raspberries and the waitress didn't even attempt to apologize. I then had a massage at Natskin which was meant to go for 90 min and I paid for 90 min and I reckon I was massaged for about 45 min and the rest was diddle daddle and filling out forms/ getting changed etc. I mean I don't mind paying good money but what I get back better be substantial to what i'm paying. Do not waste your time here, was sooo looking forward to a night away and I feel like we were treated like lower class on the Titanic!

Room Tip: Don't even bother
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Feedback is always welcomed and needed to ensure we deliver to our high standards and our guests expectations. We take pride in our service and customers comfort, on this occasion it has clearly not been met

I have passed your comments on to our Restaurant Manager, and would ask that you call him should you wish to discuss your experience further. You can contact Chris Kapakoulakis on 9730 0700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We came here last year and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so I thought ide surprise my wife for her birthday by taking her out saturday night to Rae's restaurant. We were greeted by the friendly host and were booked to sit by the fire place which he turned on before we were seated. This fireplace should be turned on at the start of the evening as it really adds to the atmosphere upon arrival.

Our waitress was disinterested and barely gave us a smile, she didnt know what several of the items on the menu were and had to keep running off to ask at which point I thought. ..ok she is new I can be patient. We both decided on the eye filet. We ordered some estate wine by the glass from Balgownie. halfway through pouring it our waitress mentioned that it was the slightly more expensive one and then ran out of wine from that bottle and ran off to get a fresh bottle to top up the glass. The wine turned out to be quite good but you must tell your customers first what your doing without making the assumption they will just take the next dearest.
After about 20 minutes we had to ask for the bread, olive oil and balsamic to be delivered as we were watching other guests who had arrived after us already get theirs and then right as the bread came so did our mains. Of course it was a scotch filet that was delivered and we were so hungry we tucked into it thinking that perhaps we had heard our waitress wrong.
Sure enough several other tables were told they were getting eye filet with scotch filet landing on their table which by the way wasnt to bad but another mistake to add to the growing list. our waitress walked past our table countless times with the water bottle In her hand but never saw that we had a glass needing to be filled. We ofcourse looked at each other when we ordered dessert but believe it or not that was delicious and went off without a hitch. When it came time to pay we mentioned all of the things to our flustered maitre de and he was apologetic and really just made excuses as to why the waitress didnt perform. One was that our waitress works at wedding functions and doesn't know the menu...what about her smile ? Does she save that for the weddings ? I even pointed to a couple that had just ordered the eye filet and said that he should mention it to them but he didnt seem interested. To top it off he bungled our bill and if it wasnt for the wife spotting it would have charged us 20% extra on our bill. In the end we got 10% off our bill but after what was such a bungled night, for what we paid, it was really just adding insult to injury.

This place isn't cheap and im happy to go and pay money for good food and service but what we experienced tonight was very disappointing. They were simply not as well oiled as they should be for a restaurant of this standard and little touches which are almost common sense were completely overlooked and ruined our experience.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Feedback is always welcomed and needed to ensure we deliver to our high standards and our guests expectations. We take pride in our service and customers comfort, on this occasion it has clearly not been met

I have passed your comments on to our Restaurant Manager, and would ask that you call him should you wish to discuss your experience further. You can contact Chris Kapakoulakis on 9730 0700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
548 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
335 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
147 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,026 reviews
5.6 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: $150 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing