We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Balgownie Estates was above our expectations with well-appointed, clean and spacious rooms and excellent service. The grounds are breathtaking and the restaurant and cellar door are definitely worth going back to. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Great to hear about your stay at Balgownie Estate, looks like we have ticked all the boxes for you! There are great facilities on site such as the walking trails and the spa in the rooms is very relaxing. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals at Rae's Restaurant We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

A modern resort set in the beautiful Yarra Valley. Rae's restaurant overlooks vineyards and menus include fresh local produce. Resort pool area is indoor with high windows overlooking the resort gardens, which are beautifully tended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MaryDMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley, we are really lucky to have such a great property with so many facilities. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My son was married at Balgownie in January this year. The setting was lovely and we had a wonderful day BUT...
Despite having 16 rooms booked for months, we were advised the day before that some rooms were not available/ had less beds etc this resulted in us having to notify our guests and rearrange groups and 8 guests chose to return to Melbourne rather than stay at another. Place suggested by Balgownie but with no offer of transport (one of the advantages of staying is not having to drive after a big day)
Rooms were not ready on the Saturday ( many reviews say the rooms are dirty but we did not find this)
Many serves of steak were RAW ( not rare or the chosen medium)
Paying accounts the next morning was a disaster! Guests were charged twice for breakfast, accounts were wrong, a room service meal paid for on Saturday was charged again on checkout.
Office staff were unable to explain charges on accounts and restaurant staff insisted on payment before entering restaurant for breakfast despite it being organised at reception the day before.
There were other issues with payment of the reception account. No contact was made after the day to see if we had any comments etc.
My son wrote to clarify these points and it took over 2 weeks to get a reply - still no phone call!
None of our issues were answered to our satisfaction. The email ended with a request for wedding photos to use in an advertising booklet!!!!!!
Luckily our families and our guests had a happy day and we have tried to accent the positives to the newly weds and not let Balgownies limitations spoil their day ( although we have recommended to two other couples to look elsewhere for their big day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Carolyn,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I would like to apologise that your stay at Balgownie Estate did not live up to expectations. Could I ask you to call Karen Dixon, Front Office Manager on 9730 0700, so that we can discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you turn into the driveway of this property you know your about to experience something amazing. We brought our children out for a night to get out of the city and loved every minute of our stay. The welcome and service from the reception staff is impeccable. The rooms are clean, well sized and easily accessible. We ordered room service and it was possibly the best we have ever had (and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels). The therapy pool is well worth a visit with special magic jets that sooth sore muscles. The breakfast is lovely and you eat and overlook the beautiful vineyards. Take a drive to the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie, it's well worth the visit. A beautiful gem hidden away in the Yarra Valley, well worth the drive and will definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank KAT2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley, we are really lucky to have such a great property with so many facilities. Very happy to hear you had time to relax and enjoy the pool at the Day Spa. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We went to Balgownie with 7 good friends to check it out to see if we would like it to host our wedding. We wanted to try the food in the restaurant to see the quality because our thought was if they stuff it up at a paying restaurant then how can they do it for 100 wedding guest. Our fears were nothing. The food was amazing. The staff amazing. Catered for everything. .. Nothing was to hard. We were the last ones out of the restaurant and even though they wanted to pack up and go home they never hurried us out. We also stayed in a spa suit and it was amazing. .. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, shower was over the spa which I hate anywhere but the actual spa was good. The whole experience was amazing. We will most likely host our wedding here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank el_maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley, we are really lucky to have such a great property with so many facilities. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I brought a package through cudo. Very excited to have a break from our kids we were not disappointed with our stay. Melissa was lovely at reception, our one bedroom spa suite was beautiful. Had a massage at natskin and everyone was happy and welcoming. Both breakys nice and dinner on last night was amazing ( scallops yummo) . Thank you for a lovely stay- you will see us again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley, we are really lucky to have such a great property with so many facilities. Very happy to hear you had time to relax with a massage at Natskin Day Spa, such a relaxing experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
581 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
346 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
159 reviews
9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
141 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: $137 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing