We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a prviledge spa suite. Three main complaints: 1. Bathroom smelt bad. Toilet stank of urine when we arrived. Horrible sewerage smell coming out of drains after using the shower and spa bath.
2. Noisy - every time someone knocked on a door nearby it sounded like ours and we kept getting up to answer the door. Could hear the whole conversations of people walking in the walkway in front of our block of rooms. Felt that for a premium room in a quiet tranquil setting there should have been more of a feeling of privacy.
3. Very expensive. $395 for the night. Expected the room to be flawless and it was not.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion053
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth
2
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our week in the Yarra. The Hotel reception, restaurant and cellar door staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. The only thing that let us down was the servicing of the room was very poor, I would have to say the worst room servicing I have every experienced. We travel very frequently and I have never come across a situation like this any where before. For example the bed was not made properly, it was just pulled up and the bed cover laid over the top. When we opened the bed at night the sheets were still the same as when we got out of bed the in the morning. room was not cleaned well. The room was also left not clean and with missing towels, no toilet paper and tissues frequently. I asked my wife to check as I thought we must have been staying in a self service hotel room. Apart from that we still enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I spent a week at the hotel as part of a small conference.
Lovely hotel, well laid out, excellent food but with slight maintenance problems.
The room was spacious with a lounge and balcony. However, i noticed a couple of maintenance problems one of which did not get fixed all week as it was the main window blind it could have been an issue (i was rarely in the room). This and other problems were notified to management on day one. Others like blown light bulbs should have been picked up by housekeeping i would have thought.
Nice local walks on which i saw a Kangaroo!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Leacherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our visit to Balgownie was for a relaxing weekend away with mum, a trip we look forward to once a year.
On arrival staff were very courteous and welcoming.We were given a sample of the local bubbly which was a lovely touch.We were advised where our room was ,just behind reception. We were allocated a ground floor apartment, down about 10 steps to get to there. Rather dimly lit during the day, which can be a little dangerous when carrying bags and cases.Part of our view was lovely ,except that half the view was obstructed by a huge row of pine trees, rather disappointing. I advise asking for a top floor apartment ,if possible near the giant chess set side. This side of the apartments gets lovely afternoon sun and an unobstructed view, ours was shadowed and cold.The apartments themselves however were impeccable. The spas are amazing.Views across the valley can be seen from the spa.The rooms and the service to the rooms was excellent also. We were very disappointed that the pool was having maintenance done, of which we only discovered by checking the website a few days before going. A courtesy call would have been nice.
Apart from the couple of things i mentioned this is a lovely place for a getaway in the Yarra Valley. Staff are friendly, the restaurant is amazing, full compliments to an amazing chef and wonderful food.
I would definitely return,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location was ideal as not far away and both the wine and room view were fantastic. Dinner quality was excellent and the value the same. Service by the staff in the restaurant was top class as were all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beautiful souroundings and views, vineyards as far as the eyes can see. Loved getting up early to view the hot air balloons in the distance. Very spacious suite, loved the king size bread and crisp linen. The staff were courteous and friendly.Plenty to do especially if wine tasting is your thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citychick533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
580 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
345 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
158 reviews
9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
141 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: $137 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing