We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Gardens”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Balgownie is set in such a beautiful position, this is actually our fourth time staying there. It is quiet except that the doors do slam with a big bang, with lovely views to match and the good thing is it is not too far from Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    324
    124
    78
    67
See reviews for
140
665
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and the rooms overlooked grassed areas with little bunnies that came out at sunrise & sunset. The level of customer service was outstanding and our family were treated like VIP's. Perhaps the hotel could consider installing some and a laundry BBQ's, as the hotel is not particulary close to shops (and we didnt want to eat at the restaurant for lunch and dinner everyday!). Will definetly be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookesaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Not having spent a lot of time in the area, I was very happy to have stumbled across this little piece of heaven only 2 hours out of Melbourne. I had been lucky enough to taste Balgownie wine at a friends place, but never thought I would be able to go to the source and be walked through a first class wine tasting. The range is exceptional and quality second to none - truly an example of how Australian wine can compete with the best in the world. The cab-merlot, shiraz, and sparling shiraz were my picks of the day. Visiting the estate with six friends, we hadn't planned to stay for lunch, but after tasting the quality of the wines, we decided to sit down and enjoy the diverse menu, celebrating the best Australian produce and cooking styles. The steak was perfectly prepared, but from the looks of the other meals being enjoyed by my friends, I really don't think you could go wrong. The restaurant has a great setting and it gluten free and vegetarian friendly. It was just a first class way to spend an afternoon.

The only regret I had was that I wasn't able to enjoy the rest of the facility ie relax in the spa, but given the experience I had I will definitely be back, next time to enjoy all the services and fully relax. You cannot go wrong with spending some time at Balgownie Estate.

Room Tip: Definitely do a wine tasting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2theK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2011

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by reception staff and offered a tasting of their sparkling wine. We also received a free upgrade to a spa suite. The rooms were lovely and just a short walk from the carpark. The view from the balcony was stunning and we loved that the spa had views outside also. The room was beautifully decorated and everything was very clean. The pool and gym were also fantastic. We had a beautiful dinner in the restaurant overlooking the Yarra Valley and the service was great. The king size bed was very comfortable and I loved the longer pillows. It was a perfect location to spend our 13th Wedding anninversary. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed a night at this estate and whilst the room was large, and clean I couldn't say it was comfortable - 2 single beds pushed together and advertised as a 'double' to me is false advertising and not romantic!! The manager calls this 'industry standard'. Perhaps if you are staying in a cheap b+b or motel, not a several hundred dollar a night hotel.

The meal in Raes restuarant was a rollercoaster of quite nice alternating with frankly nasty food. The prices would have been expensive in the heart of the city for nice food......

The real mess started the next morning - breakfast was busy but i would have imagined that as the place was full it would be expected people would all plan their meal around an hour before check out time. There was no bread left for toasting, no coffee, no hot food only some cold meats and cheese. The atmosphere in the restaurant was one of anger and we felt as if we had been taken for a ride paying top dollar for one of the worst breakfasts I have had (perhaps trumped once on an 18-30's holiday in greece!). I felt very sorry for a young couple and their party due to marry later that day.

We complained to the receptionist who was shockingly rude. Apparently breakfast is free and therefore we were being tight by asking for our money back. Odd though that you can pay for a room only or more for a rate including breakfast....... I find it incredible that staff such as this lady are kept employed - as the face of the company she is one customer at a time putting the final nail in the coffin for this hotel.

Dont risk wasting your money or hard earned leisure time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winelover11255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Due to have a baby in a week or so , we used this as or last private excape. We up graded to a balcony spa suite, well worth it! It was lovely to relax in the lounge,sitting on the balcony,even had a spa after dinner to hurry things along...didnt work. Dinner was devine, if we didnt live 2hours away i would go regulary for dinner,so so yummy! Pool & gym were really nice,hubby had a swim and sauna,while i read next to the pool. Thank you for a fantastic last night of freedom!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Based on reviews, I was expecting a great stay, I was not disappointed. The resort is cheerful, reception friendly and helpful. the view from the room was delightful as were the roses and birds. Having spent the previous three days in the city it was a welcome change.

We have stayed at Mercureproperties before. They are either bland 3 star hotels or exciting properties, this was one of the good one, in fact I could not understand at first why they were not a Grand Mercure. The only thing that I could see was that the bedding could be upgraded (king bed was an obvious twin put together complete with the ridge in the middle) otherwise . . .

We enjoyed being able to make coffee and have breakfast in the room as well as the space (rooms are all suites as far as I know for we certainly did not ask for anything other than the basic). the restaurant is pricy, but offers incredible meals and the wines are not only great, but well priced. (Not always a given at cellar door restaurants as we discovered in the Adelaide Hills)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,971 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Property: Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing