We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and scenery but you have to be patient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yarra Valley Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse as part of our honeymoon to Australia. We made a last minute decision to visit Yarra Valley and made a booking 2 days in advance via Booking.com.

We arrived prior to the normal check-in time as we would be picked up for a wine tour but we wanted to check whether the booking was received ok. The gentleman who greeted us couldn't immediately find our booking and then disappeared looking for the booking. He stayed away for what seemed ages (in the meantime the wine tour bus arrived and everybody had to wait for him to return). After about 15min he returned still without finding our booking but he reassured us that all will be ok upon our return in the afternoon.

And it sure was. We could choose which one of the garden rooms we wanted. Both were huge and very nicely decorated! The guesthouse is located in a beautiful area filled with wild (night)life (as we also discover something made its home between the roof and the ceiling of our room). Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Trying to check out also took forever so patience is definitely required when checking in or out of this beautiful guesthouse. It is a great place to stay while exploring the Yarra Valley wine region. Bella the cat (the guesthouse's feline resident) added a nice memory to our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phia_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Yarra Valley Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived very late at night but Tony didn't seem to mind answering us at 12am! As soon as you arrive you feel very 'homey' and comfortable. The rooms were very large with a fireplace although the heaters heated up within moments! The bathroom was amazing and very very large! It was the perfect little getaway to relax and unwind, there is also a late checkout of 12pm. Well done!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hayleynicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Yarra Valley Guest House from 11th - 14th.Sept.2012. We were shown our lovely hillside studio over looking the beautiful manicured gardens in all their springtime glory. It had a great real flame gas heater, very cosy at night, king size bed, bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, & large spa bath. Each morning breakfast was provided in the breakfast room, a real feast with lovely fresh bakery items, fresh juice and fruit,cereals and the morning papers to read.
Anthony, our host was charming and most helpful explaining places of interest and wineries to visit and always very friendly.
We are both looking forward to our next stay there to further explore the lovely Yarra Valley

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the Valley Guest House 9-11-09-. Driving to the place, I wondered were we were going. Not too far from Yarra Glen, about three minutes. Once we drove up the most beautiful drive way bordered by tress and see the a very beautiful Garden. We were met by our host Anthony who showed us the most wonderful room , king size bed with a conner type fire place and a huge spa and a private courtyard. WOW. It was the most relaxing environment i have ever been in and I even read a book for two of the days, I do not read books. The breakfast on offer was very well received and quite unexpected, fresh fruit cereals & yoghurt and all types for breads. On our departure we asked Anthony on a suggested route back to Melbourne. Marysville was recommended. Thank-you so much. We definitely will be going Back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

POSITIVES:- Beautiful manicured gardens, pristine well kept. Rooms large and clean. We stayed overnight on the 24.8.2012. Split system A/C /Heating. Fire place. King size bed (Bed A) electric blankets, double spa bath. Heated towel rails. Coffee and tea facilities in the room.
Small private courtyard with BBQ if required. Continental breakfast which consisted of muffins, danishes, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea, coffee, crumpets and croissants. Morning paper provided.

NEGATIVES:- Milk was not provided for the coffee or tea in the room (perhaps an oversight by the cleaner?) The dining area was very cold when we entered for our breakfast.Kindling for the fire had to be retrieved on our arrival.

Overall a pleasant stay - just a few little things would have made it absolutely perfect. I did correspond with the owner after we returned home and he was most apologetic, and advised that he had now put systems in place to correct any services that weren't provided or attended to. An owner that actually listens to his guests - something out of the norm!

Room Tip: Bed A has a private courtyard. Their are 2 separate suites which we didn't view but more private...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TackSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent a night here in July 2012. Our greeting should have warned us of things to come. The owner didn't seem to know we'd booked, then took us to 2 rooms which weren't ready, then finally a third room - which wasn't the one we'd booked. At this stage we were just happy to get into any room. He said he wasn't sure of the aircon was working and asked me to test it. We had to gather our own wood for the fire. There was supposed to be bottled water as there were warnings not to drink the tap water. There was also supposed to be milk in the fridge for tea etc. We then bought our own. Next day we went to breakfast to find no staff there. In fact we saw no staff at all in that morning. The web site photos mis-represent the rooms. We noted other arriving guests having the same run-around on their arrival. A weird place - avoid it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a lovely anniversary stay in a king room; clean, warm, and cosy. Very comfy bed, and room well equipped. The Guest House nestles in a beautiful setting, and is situated close to the wineries. Continental breakfast was quit filling and well presented, enjoyed in a lovely, small dining room whilst reading the daily papers. Late check-out was a plus.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Infinity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
2.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
147 reviews
8.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Guest House

Address: 319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range: $203 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yarra Valley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Yarra Valley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Guest House Yarra Glen, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing