We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean and nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melba Lodge
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Melba Lodge. The property is well maintained and spacious. The rooms are nice, clean in old style furniture and so is the bathroom.

I'd surely suggest anyone to stay there.


Cheers,
Roberto.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Melba Lodge on 9 Oct 2011 and it was great value for money. David was very pleasant and a good breakfast cook. The premises are clean and comfortable. Would be happy to stay there again if we were down that way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvaCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
676 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed at Melba Lodge for one night while on work in Victoria

Melba Lodge is exactly the reason I need to stay in B&B accommodation more often and big hotel chains less often!

I was met by the owner who could not have been more friendly. The property is well laid out and really has all the features you could want in order to relax and enjoy the Yarra Valley. As my stay was a mid week stay, I had the place to myself, but in no way did I ever feel that I was treated any differently to if the place had been full.

My room, while small and basic, was well appointed and comfortable, and I'd certainly stay there again.

The only comment I'd make of any negative nature was that the airconditioner was quite noisy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Melba Lodge. Our family, consisting of Parents and five grown up children, some with husband/wife and 5 grandkids spent 6 nights at Melba Lodge. We booked out 4 queen rooms, the penthouse and the cottage. The building has a real country charm about it. The owners generously gave us a great discount on booking such a large group. We arrived on a cold winter's day. Heaters were on in every room ( much appreciated by us Queenslanders ) and the venue was warm and cosy. The beds were quite comfortable and breaky every day was delicious. Our family was delighted to be able to get together frequently in the conference room and to play billiards together each night. Our hosts David and Helen were extremely accommodating and every little thing we requested was attended to happily - even down to printing up some tickets we booked online on our computers. Having lots of family living in the area, we really appreciated being able to have children down for the night and have family drop in to spend time with us. The venue was plenty large to manage our then-extended family.
Thanks to David and Helen. We'll be back. What a lovely time we all had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marysteph61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Melba Lodge is in a great location, but unfortunately over-rated.
Having stayed in many places, we appreciate its features may make it 4 star, in theory. However, it appears as neither a hotel nor a genuinely friendly B&B – more of a functional guest house. By saying it wasn’t “genuinely friendly”, we mean we didn’t sense the owners loved what they did & we didn’t feel welcomed. We just felt another one of thousands bedding down for the night.
We paid $175 for a queen bedded room which we expected to be small - but it had a meter of space to both one side & bottom of bed and approx 2 meters of space to the other side of the bed. TV in the bedroom was very small & on high cabinet, mattress firm but adequate; bedding looked clean but didn’t look new or smell fresh. Electric blanket was essential as the room was extremely cold. Ensuite had shower only, which was fine – but it looked old & was functional. There was heat lamp, but with high ceiling it would take while to heat. Bathroom was so cold our towels did not dry overnight, despite hanging up.
Breakfast was adequate and cooked food was fine – one tip for the owner, the two poached eggs side by side on toast with herbs in the middle of each, looked more like female anatomy. More tasteful presentation advised! Mushrooms were tasty & coffee was nice & hot though.
So in summary, all was adequate & clean, but just lacked ‘warmth’ in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessieRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We needed a 1 night stay in the Yarra Valley to attend a wedding and managed to get a decent rate at the Melba Lodge on expedia ($175 for the night). Many of the other hotels in the area required a 2 night stay and that was just not possible for us so finding Melba was perfect. I was very worried as there was only 2 trip advisor (my bible!) reviews, the last being 2008. I shouldnt have been. Melba Lodge was wonderful! It isnt a hotel and if you dont expect it to be then you should be fine.

The owner greeted us as we walked in, gave us a friendly tour of the conference room, games room with bar, billards table and darts, TV room, dining room and our room. He showed us a small kitchenette where you could make tea and coffee etc and told us breakfast would be served between 9-10:30. The hotel is a quick 2 minute drive in to Yarra Glen and only a couple of minutes from some fantastic wineries.

The room was small but more than comfortable. It had a comfortable bed with nice linens, soft carpet, 2 side tables, a wardrobe, ceiling fan, air conditioner and TV. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and nice sink area. It had a nice country federation feel. The bathroom provided soaps, shower caps and quality toilet paper (cottonelle! Yep these things are both noticed and appreciated!!) The entire lodge was spotlessly clean and very well kept. It was quiet and nice and cool on a hot day.

Breakfast was delicious with freshly cooked eggs, bacon and toast as well as an assortment of cereals, fruit and juices. Overall we were very pleased with Melba Lodge and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliegirl_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Pretty much as expected, middle of the road motel, nothing special, clean, tidy, standard breakfast, situated on the edge of a main road.

This is advertised as '4 star comfort' 'boutique feel' and is a good example how meaningless star ratings are. Nothing more than a checklist of features and definitely not a measure of quality. Tiny room, dated decor, awful bed, antique A/C system, noisy plumbing are but some of the features not listed.

After our first night we asked to cancel the booked (via wotif, never again) and paid for third night. Though obviously hesitant the owner agreed, we booked alternative accommodation in Melbourne only to return later in the day for him to have changed his mind, refusing to refund our final night. We cut our losses without hesitation and returned to our vastly superior (and cheaper) accommodation in Melbourne.

It seems a shame that such a major tourist destination as Yarra Glen is blighted by an outrageously over priced accommodation cartel, we'd recommend spend a fortune for somewhere truly special, or base yourself in Melbourne.

  • Liked — Well located
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchbucanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbabb, Owner at Melba Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2009
When a customer has booked through Wotif and wants to cancel during their stay, we need to speak to Wotif before responding to the customer. It was unfortunate that the customer spoke to me as I was mowing the lawn and he misunderstood what I said,i.e .. I would check on the cancellation policy and let him know. He seemed happy with that and I was surprised to find he had booked into a city hotel before I had a chance to check our cancellation policy with Wotif and speak to him again.(only an hour later) He did not offer a pressing reason for cancelling. I accept that I should have had better knowledge of our Wotif policy which is now clear for both the customer and for me. When I explained we had a no cancellation policy after date of arrival he seemed to accept that as fair. I learnt a valuable lesson in customer service, the need to have a good chat to the cutomer in this situation before they leave.

Our accommodation offers a variety of rooms, this guest stayed in a Queen room which is a good value option that with everything else our Lodge offers (lounges, billiard room, spa room, dining room etc ) meets the 4 star rating. For a little extra we have larger rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
6.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in Yarra Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba Lodge

Property: Melba Lodge
Address: 939 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Yarra Glen
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Melba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba Lodge Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing