We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yarra Valley Grand

Yarra Valley Grand
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: We welcome you to a place filled with eclectic charm, quality pub food, an extensive range of local wines and brew matched with live free music every weekend.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a delicious meal in the beautiful dining room on a Tuesday night. It was very busy, fortunately we had booked. The dining room is beautifully restored and despite being full was not noisy at all. My husband and I shared the dips which were very tasty. I enjoyed home made falafel and my husband had the best parma ever! The drink selection was fine however desserts were light on. The staff were friendly and helpful. We thought the pub was excellent value with our food bill coming to $55.00. Much cheaper than other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    49
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Did not deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The meals are expensive for what they are. The Parma came out undercooked, and was not crispy on the outside at all. The chips were soggy. The calamari entree was $15, and it came out with 6 pieces. The kids menu was the best for value and quality. At least our daughter had crunchy fish and chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch. Nothing on the menu, service was poor, food was very average and toilets were dreadful. This is just an average pub that you would find anywhere. The last time I came here (which was years ago) it was so much better. Why has the menu quartered with nothing on it than the average Parma or fish & chips?? Plenty of other places to go in the picturesque Yarra Valley.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No great selection of beer or wine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went here for a meal. Menu said "see board for specials". There were no specials...only soup! Food menu was well below par. Nothing special, just standard pub food. Staff were friendly enough. Dont expect anything special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
201 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stopped in here after a sky dive for lunch. Extensive menu and good wine list, lots by the glass. Quality staff who want your business. Chose the Beef Bourguignon which was an inaccurate discription, it was a beef stew, however it was excellent, good flavour and the mash superb. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarra Valley Grand also viewed

 

Been to Yarra Valley Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing