We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food (and don't forget the great beer)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hargreaves Hill Brewing Company

Hargreaves Hill Brewing Company
Reserve with
Hargreaves Hill Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food (and don't forget the great beer)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ate lunch in their functional restaurant at the rear of the tasting beer bar. There were three of us, we each ordered a different main; steak, pork, seafood. All were delicious and good serving sizes. After a slow start struggling to accommodate a number of patrons who all arrived close to opening time, service was OK. Restaurant seating is pragmatic and private.
Additional to the restaurant, we bought some of the local produce on offer and, of course, a number of their own beers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    68
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Make Sure Someone Else is Driving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went there the night before a wedding and had our own private room. Atmosphere great and food very good but if you like your beer you need to other reason to visit. A good range of beers brewed specially. Not driving so tried quite a few and they were all excellent. Try the tasting plate with a number of different brews. All in all most definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“brilliant meal and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

had a brilliant meal with a group on 20 and the meals were of an excellent standard and the service exemplary...the menu has a broad selection but of the choices we had - not one was aqnything other than an excellent choice... we've already been back and the standard was equally good - worth a drive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A beer here for everyone...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great atmosphere, talented staff know their stuff.
Many beers to choose from and a tasting paddle option to get started.
Food was pretty pricey, you would hope its good!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TenaciousDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I often go to Hargreaves Hill for dinner and this time was very disappointing.
The squid was chewy and over cooked, we asked for extra jus with our pork belly which never arrived and we ordered the panna cotta with figs and never got any figs. When we complained, they gave us a $3 discount. Which to be honest felt like a slap in the face. Won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlyshaHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hargreaves Hill Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Hargreaves Hill Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing