We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Holgate Brewhouse

Holgate Brewhouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.26*
and up
Champion Racehorse Tour with Beer and Wine Tasting
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Woodend
Attraction details
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Upon arrival had a quick and efficient check in then shown to my room by a very friendly young lady. Room was very spacious and well laid out with a very big bathroom. Only drawback was the very small TV. Went down stairs to the pub and had a fantastic meal,(Corn Beef) and had a very nice few hours drinking some fabulous beers. Loved the Brick Kiln. Will visit again in about two months for a few beers with the brewers. cannot wait.

Thank RogueAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beers are good, food is not. Cheapskate new front doors insult the heritage of the town, and symptomatic of management attitude. Management refuse to refill 2cm of lemonade (for a 3 year old) without payment for a full pot (?) - ie Stingy. Some local wines by the glass are good, but hardly worthwhile, plenty of better options for food and drinks nearby.

2  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I'm sorry you don't like the bar doors. The old one broke & we had to get new ones made quickly. We are looking at ways we can improve the look of them. We don't top up used glasses as it unhygenic. Yes we do have some great local wines by the glass as well as the Holgate beer on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice pub - their Holgates beer is fantastic.

But the owner is notoriously tight with food budget she allow the chef and it shows. Basically they rip off their customers - high prices for average food. It's sad and could be so much better. Also being a local I've heard lots of issues - last minute cancellations of groups, long waits, etc.

But definately worth a visit to the bar!

1  Thank mycheekyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for visiting. Our meals are generous and range in price from $10 to $35 for eye fillet. Many of our meals are $20 (fish & chips, burgers, pie, parma) & are great value!! We have never cancelled a group booking in our 11 years of trading!! Sometimes there can be a wait especially on busy weekends but many other busy restaurants are the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends and was disappointed with the experience. The rooms were sparsely furnished and could do with some refurbishment, the decor looked very tired. The noise travels in this building mean you can hear everything from the corridors in your room. The food was very poor, especially the pannacotta dessert which three of us were unable to eat. Someone seems to have gone a bit crazy with the gelatine. One of our party had to send their breakfast back to the kitchen too. Instant coffee was the coffee available at breakfast. I've never come across that before!! For the prices they are charging (upper end mid-range) I would have expected better quality. The staff, while not rude, seemed thoroughly uninterested in their customers. The beer was ok. I'll be looking for somewhere else next time I head off for a weekend in that region. Recommendation - stop in for a beer but eat and stay elsewhere.

1  Thank rambler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for visiting. We have decorated the rooms in a modern uncluttered style with crisp white linen + runner + cushions. We also have ground Convent Bakery coffee from Abbotsford + plungers in all the accommodation rooms. I believe the staff bent over backwards to look after you & even asked another group's "Santa" to visit your table?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Decided to have lunch at Holgate Brewery after visiting Hanging Rock and we were not disappointed. Good service by friendly staff and the food was great! One of us had the Waygu Beef Pie with chips and salad and two of us had the Duck Shanks (yes! DUCK shanks! 7 each as well!!) and one beer drinker enjoyed the Temptress. Great value for money and hearty meals. You won't leave feeling hungry!

Thank laced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holgate Brewhouse also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Holgate Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing