We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Woodend
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Magnificent

Had a lovely walk up the walking trail to Hanging Rock. Wonderful views and opportunities for good... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Oz_Pilgrim
,
Queanbeyan
Great for outdoor lovers!

About an hour drive from Melbourne CBD and easy to find. Really good for people who loves to have... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Namal P
Read all 384 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Woodend
from $118.06
More Info
from $97.80
More Info
from $83.13
More Info
from $282.92
More Info
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
210
139
29
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
210
139
29
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging rock the reserve summit walk information centre gift shop great walk worth the climb car park entry fee well worth the effort per vehicle picnic grounds fantastic views plenty of space boom gate great family day nooks and crannies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place years ago when we came on bus trips for the Hanging Rock races, but this time I was testing out my bionic knee six weeks after the replacement operation. The Summit Walk was fine, a nice smooth sealed trail, with stairs under the Hanging Rock on an optional section. Large pillars of rock on the way up, and more on top. Artists were painting the views with varying success on a fine sunny day. We regularly take visitors on a circuit over Mount Macedon to here, and then on to Hanging Rock Winery.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful and scenic walk to the summit. Spent a pleasant time with family and had a good lunch at the cafe. Must visit place for all who read the book or watched the movie.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Venture249670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Would recommend beautiful walk to the summit then we did the base walk also, great, friendly service at cafe when we got a coffee

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank wendysP1121NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Lots of interesting rock formations, fabulous views of the surrounding countryside and Mt Macedon, takes about 50 minutes with a few short moderately steep sections. Overall a fairly easy short walk well worth it for the beautiful outlooks.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank luckilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

If your even a moderate fan of the Picnic at Hanging book/movie, this is a must visit, it took me over thirty years to finally get there after first seeing the movie but it was well worth the wait. Be warned though, the climb to the pinnacle of the rock will be something of a challenge if your very unfit.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank ABS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews