We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite family outing!”

Hanging Rock Reserve
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Woodend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Favourite family outing!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited The Rock with friends for an invigorating Winter climb after not having visited for four years. The climb is always beautiful and fun! (wear good hiking boots, runners with grip!) Really liked the education centre which was new to us, and the kids loved it too! Give the Café a miss - 3 o'clock afternoon tea time in the school holidays and the staff are unwelcoming with only a few measly looking muffins on offer (and some scones after we practically begged as they had them put away???!!!!) Glass cake cabinets etc with nothing in them?! How ridiculous for a café! The coffee and scones were actually nice when they arrived though! All in all, Hanging Rock is a great family day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    104
    19
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go early to experience the haunting nature of Hanging Rock!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went to Hanging Rock as a side trip and thoroughly enjoyed the time spent there. The views from any level are spectacular. Go early before the crowds and the noise to experience the absolutely eerie quiet which adds to the mystique of Hanging Rock. Well set up information area adds to the experience. Cafe, picnic area and gift shop also available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank laced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful and calm”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

the hanging rock(s) is a must go! If you are looking for a place far away from the hectic city life, this is "the place to be :)

The scenic is beautiful and no need to mention the breeze of chilled fresh air o the top.
It s easier to go up than back down I reckon.

After hours of fun goin up and down we were craving for snacks/ suppers so we decided to have a coffee and some cakes BUT
this place (hanging rock cafe) I would not recommend you. The servant/ owner was rude and defn not welcoming. As soon as we finish our coffees (we could deal with that there weren t any cakes in the windows except a price list) and walked to the door her mood changes. out of the blue she was really polite and more than happy to say good-bye.

All in one: bring you own food/ snacks/ drinks and enjoy this beautiful place. You will love it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maika25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I revisited Hanging Rock after a break of 8 years an still found it totally enchanting.
The actual climb to the summit and the stops on the way are well posted and one can get lost in the magic very easily (as well as really getting lost) The legend that goes with the Hanging Rock makes it special too.
I went with interstate visitors and had the obligatory picnic and they said it was a must.
I agree !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nature is still fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great facilities, coffee shop and awesome walks. Not to mention events like the races :) Love the info centre and activities in there for kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FeistyKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanging Rock Reserve also viewed

Macedon, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 
Mount Macedon, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Hanging Rock Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing