We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pie shop”
Review of Bourkies Bakehouse

Bourkies Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Woodend
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Woodend, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average pie shop”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It says its won all sorts of awards for best vanilla slice etc but I've had pies and most of the cakes from here and its just a very average pie shop/bakery. Certainly nothing to write home about! Mind you, there is nothing wrong with its food, but its just a run of the mill bakery

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank markbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has slipped a little”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been going to this bakery for many years. It seems after they won the prizes for best vanilla slice they have raised their prices quite substantially and the quality has gone down hill a bit. It is a very popular place though. I would recommend trying the Piper Street Bakery in Kyneton if you want a really nice pie

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nil service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'd love to be able to comment on the food but I can't. We couldn't order any. We walked in and went to the counter. There were a few people eating at the tables but no one was actually being served. We waited for a couple of minutes to be served but none of the three staff behind the counter even acklowledged us. So we walked out. I don't think they even noticed or cared.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“The BEST Vanilla slices anywhere”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The vanilla slices are literally award winning. The meat pies are of similar standard, and the rest of the stock is pretty good as well, so it's worth pulling off the highway into Woodend to paying them a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Vanilla Slice King !!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It's a great bakery BUT it's so famous for it's Vanilla Slices you have to buy them early in the day or they sell out.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChezmossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourkies Bakehouse also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Bourkies Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing