We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mirkwood Forrest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Mirkwood Forrest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I have had a great time at Mirkwood on a number of occassions. Both cottages are lovely and it is great to wander round the grounds, which are absolutely gorgeous. Bruce and Kevin a re great hosts. They have a great knowledge of the local restaurants which is handy.

As a keen cyclist I have taken the opporunity to do some of the climbs up Mt Macedon and Mirkwood Forest is well located for that. Plenty of good MTB close by as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rowanfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A calm and peaceful enviroment,all my needs were catered for.the ambience of the garden cottage was delightful.Meet by Kevin and Bruce on my arrival---wonderful hosts,left feeling refreshed and renewed.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank glenysjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived on a damp afternoon to stay overnight in the Tennis Court Cottage. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Kevin , The fire had been lit and the music was on and it was so nice to be able to relax and enjoy what this place offers. Every little detail has been covered from the Chocolates beside the bed, through to the fully stocked pantry. Being able to have an outdoor dip in the spa under the stars and by candlelight was just another wow factor. This place exceeded expectations and the surrounding grounds are amazing. Highly recommended for a romantic weekend away..

Richard & Eric

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

everything was perfect. bed was super comfy, atmosphere was amazing and quality was up to standards. well worth the price. its the little things you notice. fire place was lit, bathroom floor was heated and music playing when we arrived. chocolates on the bedside tables were that perfect added touch. outdoor spa was my favorite. owners were very lovely to deal with!

Room Tip: tennis cottage was great and has outdoor hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A wonderful 5 star experience. We stayed at the Garden Guest House and it was tastefully furnished and very very clean. Champagne on arrival and Breakfast provisions was a lovely touch. Having the kitchen on hand was great as we were able to stay in for a meal. The plan was to have a relaxation weekend and this was the ideal place for it. We went for walks around the gardens, and there was plenty of room to lay out a picnic rug (or use one of the lounge chairs that Keven brought down for us) and busk in the sun. Hepburn Springs is only a 45 min drive away and therefore we were able to drop in there for a spa package. Mirkwood is an ideal place to getaway and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

A serene and spiritual setting, coupled with owners Bruce and Kevin's warmth and hospitality made this an unforgettable trip. I pulled up to the front gate and then disappeared behind a wall of foliage and nature reappearring a couple of days later, both serene and forever grateful to Mirkwood. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything about our stay at Mirkwood was more than we could have hoped. As others have mentioned every detail was thought of. We were shown to our cottage, the Garden Guest House, and entered to music playing in the background, fire blazing and champagne on ice. So much attention to detail, comfort of guests obviously uppermost. We certainly made the most of our cottage, out sightseeing all day then relaxing at 'home' in front of the fire in the evenings. Couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful gardens throughout the property, surrounded by regional park. We could barely see the other cottage or the main house, it felt very private. We had 5 days at Mirkwood and could easily have stayed much longer. We hope to get back one day and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripleMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodend
12.1 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Braeside Mt Macedon Country Retreat and Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Holgate Brewhouse at Keating's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation

Property: Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation
Address: 1671 Mount Macedon Road | PO Box 15, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Woodend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Woodend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate romantic country getaway! Selected as one of Australia's top 52 getaways by Age newspapers' Good Weekend Magazine! Mirkwood Forest is a stress-free zone offering guests: a private tennis court, in-door or outdoor spa, fishing in one of our five lakes (equipment provided), cycling (bikes provided), high powered telescope, gas barbeque, mountain bikes. Let's not forget - comfortable beds and total privacy! Your stay includes full breakfast provisions, robes fit for royalty, comfortable slippers, Molton Brown toiletries, and Egyptian cotton linen, high quality towels - everything you would expect from five star accommodations. Weekend stays of 2 nights; include a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine! Embrace total relaxation in the privacy of your cottage with one of the areas top masseurs (prior arrangement required). Everything is arranged for that romantic getaway - candles, music, total privacy- just bring yourselves, and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirkwood Forest Self-Contained Accomodation Woodend, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing