We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegan options!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campaspe Country House
Ranked #4 of 5 Woodend B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vegan options!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently stayed at Campaspe House for a conference, and everything about it was fantastic. The surrounds were stunning, the staff were very helpful and polite, and the room was tastefully decorated and welcoming. The main house was beautiful with open fire places, a pool/snooker room and nice lounge areas. One thing that really blew me away however was for every single meal there were special options for me as I am vegan. This included things such as an avocado and lemon dip with 5 different types of vegetables for dipping, with a mini berry sorbet on the side, and that was just for one morning tea! Other highlights included a dried fruit and nut truffle, pumpkin gnocci with flaked almonds, and many other yummy treats. I was really blown away by how thoughtful every single meal was when really they could have done something much simpler but they really went the extra mile.
The only negative comment - there were lots of little heaters in each room which perhaps just weren't quite enough. It didn't bother me as I was out all day but if you are planning to spend a lot of time in it may be a bit cold for your liking.

Room Tip: I stayed in "The Cottage" so I did not see any of the other rooms, but it had a fridge, mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatterboxhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I have placed a copy of your article on the staff notice board, so they can see that their work and effort is appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed and at home, with comfortable lounges, wood fires and views of the beautiful gardens. While we were not able to see the period rooms in the main house, would certainly recommend the 2 garden view rooms as these are not on the main walkway and have a lovely view of the trees. Easy stroll into Woodend and to station. The 3 course dinner is highly recommended and the wine list is very good. Breakfast is cooked to order.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms away from main walkway. If staying in winter apparently the room next to the boile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consistencyexpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Glad we made you feel welcome and comfortable, and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife was arriving on an international flight into Tullamarine at 8.45pm on an Easter Sunday evening and we wanted something not too far from the airport but in the countryside, vaguely in the direction of Canberra, where we were heading the following day. Much Googling threw up the Campaspe as fitting the bill - only 40 minutes from Tullamarine and off a quiet lane on the edge of the these-days sleepy small town of Woodend, bypassed some years ago by the Melbourne-Bendigo Calder Freeway.

The Campapse is a 1920s two-storey villa, surrounded by a beautiful leafy Edna Walling garden. The hotel has expanded to include a more modern accommodation annex plus outdoor swimming pool but the hotel's attraction is the original largely unchanged building. It features a fine verandahed entrance of the period and, in the downstairs public areas, lots of timber panelling, nice open fires, a pretty billiards room and (my wife tells me) a charmingly original ladies' bathroom.

There was a nice surprise about room prices. The modern annex rooms feature 'en-suite' bathrooms but there are two upstairs bedrooms in the original house which don't and are cheaper. Ours was generously-proportioned with a king-size bed and a delightful early-twentieth century 'Coo-ee' brand corner basin. The loo and shower were in the adjoining corridor and shared with the other bedroom - which was not a problem at all.

The antique theme doesn't extend to the dining area which is modern and overlooks the pool area. But it's all done nicely, including with proper linen table cloths and napkins. Good cooked breakfast.

Woodend is a good base for local exploring. The thriving main street has the usual collection for the area of fine old Victorian buildings; the famous and eerie Hanging Rock is just outside town; and there are many other places of interest nearby (e.g. Bendigo, Malmsbury, Maldon, Castlemaine). Those with an interest in Geelong Grammar School will be interested that the original Clyde School - later remembered as Clyde House at the Corio campus - survives outside the town as Braemar College. One of Clyde School's girls was Joan Lindsay, author of 'Picnic at Hanging Rock', who set the school depicted in the film at Woodend (though the building featured in the 1975 Peter Weir film is the much more impressive Martindale Hall, in South Australia's Clare Valley).

Only slight negatives - the pipes were a little noisy when the other upstairs guests used the loo, bathroom etc. And the kitchen staff were a bit insensitive with noise in the morning - their music and chatter was obtrusive both into the upstairs bedrooms and dining room.

But overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Campaspe country house for a girls night away. From the minute of our booking, through arrival and throughout the stay the staff service was excellent, friendly, and helpful. The house and the grounds are beautiful. A lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the city within an hours drive of the city. We ate at the restaurant and had lovely food. The rooms as others have said are a little small but who wants or needs to be in a room when you can enjoy the garden or one of the lounges in the house. While we were not there for business the conference facilities looked good and would be a great location to get people away from the office without travelling far from Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

14 of us spent last Saturday night here for my son's Buck's weekend which had started earlier in the day at a country race meeting. Accommodation was small but neat and clean, about 3 star. Dinner in the restaurant that night was extremely good, slow cooked pork belly followed by confit duck leg were up there with the best I've tasted. The staff were attentive and friendly (and probably relieved that we weren't a rowdy buck's party).

Overall a very pleasant place to stay after a hot day at the races. The main house is beautifully kept and furnished in art deco as befits its age.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A last-minute booking for seven couples to celebrate new year here could have been a chancy decision, but from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. We felt like guests at a friend's country retreat. New Year's Eve dinner at the restaurant was faultless and the young staff waiting on us were friendly, competent and efficient. The following night the chef again excelled himself. During the day we relaxed by the pool surrounded by the magnificent gardens of the property. It was a lovely relaxing start to 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from Campaspe Country House where we stayed one night. On arrival, we were warmly greeted and given a complementary glass of champagne. The room was small but very nice, clean and cosy. The bathroom was nice and big and very clean. We ate at the restaurant and I would recommend this as there is not really anywhere else to eat in the town. The food was amazing!! We had four courses and each one just got better (the vanilla creme caramel is heaven) and the service is great. What we really loved about our stay was the personal touches. It is not a typical chain hotel and the service reflects this. The staff really go out of their way to help you and it is the small things that make a huge difference. We will be back for sure, can't wait to go back. Will recommend to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay, Rebecca and Jonathan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaCook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodend
13.9 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
3.2 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Woodend
Auberge Woodend
#2 of 5 in Woodend
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holgate Brewhouse at Keating's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campaspe Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campaspe Country House

Property: Campaspe Country House
Address: Goldies Lane, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Woodend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable 50 minute drive north of Melbourne, Campaspe Country House sits nestled in the center of the beautiful Macedon Ranges - a region that just begs to be explored, with its cool climate wineries, antique stores, grand gardens and dramatic natural beauty (including the mysterious Hanging Rock). The property is also perfectly situated on the edge of the picturesque village of Woodend, with its burgeoning café scene, artisans and historic buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Campaspe Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campaspe Country House Woodend, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing