We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, Great Breakfast”

The Bentinck of Woodend
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bentinck of Woodend
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodend
Adelaide
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great service, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for a Rod Stewart concert at Hanging Rock (which was great by the way). They bused us there, provided a wonderful hamper (although we had to give up our glass orange juice bottles at the gate), made sure we all got home on the bus, and then provided one of the tastiest breakfasts I have ever eaten in a hotel. Being a former old folks home (I think), the room, ensuite and bed were small. However the bar, entertainment area and dining room are really tastefully furnished. They are also keen to please.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GourmondoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very professional and attentive service. The staff were excellent in making you feel welcome and were prepared to go that little bit extra to make sure that the stay was enjoyable and productive. Would certainly return and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdriftingglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a night for a work thing. The service was very friendly and helpful, which was good. The rooms are very small and personality free, but the compensation is the lounge and bar area which has some big comfy chairs and a nice fire. The conference facilities were fine, nothing special but not bad either. Basically it was good without really being great. I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have had an enjoyable stay. The food, service and hospitality has been impeccable. We look forward to returning again in the future. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwendolynnolten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at this property while we were visiting the Victorian Truffle Festival in Trentham. The festival dinner was held at the property, so we decided to stay the night.
Unfortunately, while the exterior of the building, the garden and the common areas inside are very attractive, I have rarely been more disappointed with a room.
Our first room was absolutely tiny, dark and very cramped. The others we were shown were just as bad, though with better light because they were on the northern side of the building. There wasn't even space for an armchair, let alone a couch.
The rooms only had double beds and you still could hardly move around them. My feet hung off the end of the bed and I'm not very tall. The bed had a double doona inside a queen sized doona cover, so part of the doona cover was not filled, and (presumably because of the doona situation) the bed had a tartan woolen blanket (just like from grandmas) under the "not full" doona cover (albeit encased in an additional sheet). The bathroom was so small we couldn't unpack our toiletries and my husband and I could not both be in there at once. Finally, and this is worst sin of all in a hotel - the bed was way too soft, dipped down in the middle, and every time one of us moved, the bed rocked around like we were on the back of a train. Seriously bad.
The place is a former "convalescent's hospital" - we were told that this was why the rooms were so small - really like little cells. The problem is, there is no way you can make them acceptable (unless you were to knock a few walls out).
I would never go back to this property. Don't even consider it for a conference or a wedding - your guests will think they've been put in nicely decorated prison cells - how depressing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank waerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Comfortable rooms, but we enjoyed the grounds the best. lovely gardens. Breakfast was very good with an made to order omlette for my cholestrol free diet! Staff were helpful and organised our dinner arrangements in the town. Good point to explore the surrounds, Mt macedon and hanging rock.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twofriends084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Have travelled extensively both here & abroad. Hospitality is second to none. Fantastic experience. Can't wait to be back.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mcksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodend
12.8 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holgate Brewhouse at Keating's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentinck of Woodend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentinck of Woodend

Property: The Bentinck of Woodend
Address: The Bentink Country House 8 Carlisle St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Woodend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodend
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The Bentinck Of Woodend Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing