We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one or two little niggles...”
Review of Wild Dog Winery - CLOSED

Wild Dog Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu has been designed to work with ingredients that are sourced locally at the peak of their season. Our kitchen prepares each element from scratch, using techniques that have been around for generations. Techniques that ensure you will see and taste each ingredient and remember your meal, long after you leave the table. Our menu is designed to be shared with family and friends as we believe in the importance of connections over food.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
822 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Just one or two little niggles...”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location, ambience and food quality at The Wild Dog deserves 5 stars and I'm tempted to mark it so, but there's just a couple of (easily fixable) annoyances that stop me from doing so.

We visited for lunch on a cold, wet and windy day. We were concerned that the poor weather might detract from our experience, but if anything, the dull day made the view from this very comfortable and warm restaurant even more appealing. There were only 5 couples dining on the day we were there, therefore all had a window table and were able to fully enjoy the lovely outlook.

As might be expected, the menu (and the wine list) is not extensive but there's sufficient choice to satisfy all. We ordered entrees of cauliflower soup and smoked trout. Both were very nicely plated and quite delicious. For mains, my wife ordered a scotch fillet and for me a Pork cutlet. I must say both meals were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, with the very tasty and substantial sides on a separate platter. Together with a couple of glasses of house wine each our bill came to $130 which we felt was good value - given the quality of the meals.

So why not 5 stars...?

1. They were too slow with the main courses. With only 5 tables occupied it shouldn't take 45 minutes between entrée and main course.

2. Why is it so difficult to get a smile from the waitress? Mind you, she did nothing wrong! She was polite, personable and prompt and almost entirely without charm. The interaction between us was at best, perfunctory. I'm sure she is a friendly and pleasant lady, but we didn't see it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location with views overlooking vineyard but food very expensive for what was served. Whiting was almost $30 without a salad, not realising sides were extras.

Wine was a good drop, but that is what you usually expect at a vineyard.

Staff were pleasant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grumpy staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Lunch with the family. Service slow. Not very friendly especially the older lady with blonde hair. Food was good. Great views. Bit overrated. Better places in warragul with much better staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumplestilstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we ate at the wild dog winery on 10/8/13 for lunch a stunning veiw over the rolling hills inside the fire was roaring the atmosphere was great. we ordered havey bay scallops charcuterie plate and rabbit & pork terrine this was shared between 3 people there was more than enough for entree and all dishers were fantastic the duck liver pate was so smooth and delicate we all wanted the gnocchi ox cheek for mains the waitress had to ask the chef as they were running short of the mushroom ragu. The chef was more than abbliging to make some up well it was worth the wait not over done with the gnocchi the mushroom and ox cheek was so tender and packed plenty of flavour there was a wedding on that afternoon at 3pm and not once were we or any other dinner felt like they were rushed or under pressure to set up fantastic day will dine again soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morwell
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Friday Special”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had lunch today with friends from Melbourne. Special Friday refers to the special $25 for two course or $30 for three course lunch which included lots of choices including vegetarian dishes, soup, entree, main, dessert or cheese, along with a great normal menu . Something for everyone. This restaurant is located 3 km from Warragul so an easy train trip then a short taxi ride and you can have a lovely meal and a few drinks..or designate a driver. Local produce and good wine list of their own wines. Wine tastings available.
Today there were two large groups and several other tables but the service was spot on. Being a rainy day there was no alfresco dining on the deck overlooking the vines.
We have been before and it just seems to get better.
They are now having Themed Dinners, think Fawlty Towers. Live music events are also happening.
Nice to come away feeling satisfied but not bloated. Very relaxed atmosphere. Will return.
Parking. Booking available online.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Dog Winery also viewed

Labertouche, Victoria
 
Warragul, Gippsland
Warragul, Gippsland
 
Warragul, Gippsland
Warragul, Gippsland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing