We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rustic food, location and friendly staff”

Riverview Cafe & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Warburton
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are situated in the township of Warburton in the Upper Yarra Valley and enjoy a unique position on the edge of the Yarra river. Our facilities include a rear balcony and deck where you will see the foothills of Mt Donna Buang and listen to the river meandering through the valley.Our menu is changed seasonally and where possible local produce is sourced to bring you the very best the Yarra Valley can provide. The food is wholesome and fresh and servings are generous
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rustic food, location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

2 of my friends and I had a girls' Sunday lunch here recently while I was staying at Forget Me Not Cottages in Warburton.

The staff at River View Cafe are extremely friendly and welcoming, as is the their service.

The menu is diverse and caters for all tastes.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is vibrant and conducive to a relaxed dining experience right beside the river. The styling and decor also resembles that relaxed and comfortable ambiance.

Apart from the great food and champagne, the highlight of our Sunday lunch at River View was the friendly and personable nature of the staff. A smile and jovial disposition goes a long way towards facilitating a great dining experience and this place delivers on all accounts.

We will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yarra, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

It took a while between initial drink order and the food. Had the dip board with excellent homemade tzatiki and poppadums (not listed but a nice surprise if not unusual choice).

Also ordered Devonshire tea which took a while and had to ask for the drinks to be made as we'd practically finished the scones - not sure the etiquette but i prefer drinks with it.

A bit pricey for some mains ($19 burgers) but on the whole not bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Love the food, views and staff. The food is beautifully presented and tastes even better! The food does take a little time to come out, but it's worth it. The views out from the balcony are good too, looking out over the Yarra River.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke and Rani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
2 reviews
“great food in wary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

yummo food, breakfast keeps me going til night, great service, beautiful outside deck area, friendly staff, cozy fireplace, Generous sized meals

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pygor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love the river view dissapionted with the new [little joe]”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Am a local and love the food the river view has had its moments but again on the right track, but recently had an experience with an other local and very disappointed,the service from front of house was rude and arrogant and the guy serving just didnt give a damn,will never go back again.in case you were wondering im talking about little joes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kalliblunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Warburton, Yarra Valley
 
Warburton, Yarra Valley
Warburton, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Riverview Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing