We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night away”
Review of Charnwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charnwood Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Warburton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary and from the moment we arrived, everything was perfect !! All the little extra touches really make this the perfect place for a romantic getaway. From the beautiful location, to the wonderful bedding, towels, sheets etc ... you really couldn't ask for more. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back and will recommend to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meags94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike I, Owner at Charnwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
We like to see our guests enjoying a complete rest, away from the busy world.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Charnwood again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Charnwood Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thank you Mike and Jeanette for our wonderful stay in Ella's cottage the last three days it has been absolutely wonderful all the extra special and thoughtful touches have added to our stay, such as port by fire, lovely fluffy dressing gowns, brekkie supplies, lollies, double spa and shower, everything was tastefully done and luxurious also information of things to do in area and about town etc just to name a few was wonderful. We recently stayed at the Langham in Melbourne earlier this year for our nieces wedding which was wonderful, staying at your cottages was right up there with that wonderful experience. I am hoping we can come again in Feb for our anniversary maybe try other cottage this time, keep up the great work will recommend your place to all our friends, thanks once again hope to be back soon. T&R Seymour

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this for Queen's birthday weekend & loved the poster bed along with the double in the corner of the room. It was very warm & cosy being very close to the main street where all the shops were as well. We went for some short walks & indulged in a 90 minute massage the Wellbeing centre which had a lot of teas/skincare products to purchase as well. The breakfast options were great with eggs, bacon, mushrooms & tomatoes. Bathrobes & slippers were also much appreciated. Would definitely come back for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebDanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike I, Owner at Charnwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Charnwood Cottages in Warburton.
Thank you for making time to give your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We decided to stay here for our anniversary. We wanted a calm and relaxed environment where we could free ourselves of the stress of the modern world, and this supplied it wonderfully. The spa was marvellous. The layout of the room with the couch in front of the gas log heater was nice and snuggly and warm all day and night. The four poster bed in Ella's cottage was beautiful with lots of pillows, cushions and lovely laced sheets and pillowcases. With a fridge wilth eggs, tomatoes, milk, fruit juice, bread and bacon and a bottle of claret for those who like a sip or two, we were well catered for. It was touches like these that made it different. Even the supply of two umbrellas outside the entrance was nice. It was completely beyond our expectations.

We were left to our own devices all the time we were there. We never needed to speak or see the owners.

Yes, the driveway was steep but our car made it easily. The cottage was only a short walk away from the main shopping strip, but it was quiet. The town isn't large but we liked the antiquities and craft nature of Warbuton. If we had more time, we would have tried some of the walks. I strongly recommend you walk up the hill behind the main trail in town and look at Boinga Bill's house. It is very original and individualistic (and hard to describe).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike I, Owner at Charnwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Charnwood, we do appreciate it.
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the environment here too, we love it here in Warburton.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Regards, Jeanette & Mike
Charnwood Cootages in Warburton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It is hard to say what we enjoyed more, the comfort and luxuries of the cottage, or the gorgeous location. The spa was a definite highlight, closely followed by a delicious breakfast on the balcony, in the fresh air. After breakfast we took our Son for a walk along the Yarra, feeding the ducks (which was a highlight for him) and exploring Warburton town.
Jeanette and Mike were fantastic hosts and we will definitely return. The only problem with our stay was it was all too brief. We will definitely stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraPulini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed in Charnwood Cottages on the weekend and we were incredibly impressed with it's position above the flowing Yarra river,the attention to the smallest details in the room,the breakfast provided and just the town of Warburton itself. Things provided like bath robes,slippers,bottle of port,bowls of sweets,etc just add to the whole experience. Very impressed and will be recommending this accomodation to anyone who intends to visit this beautiful part of Victoria. Thanks Jeanette and Mike....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflashGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hi Jeanette and Mike, thanks for being the perfect hosts and providing my friend and I with a beautiful, warm and welcoming cottage. From the moment we arrived we felt at home and loved the little touches which you provided for us, especially the soft towels and beautiful comfy bed and great linen. Nice to be able to cook up a meal and then relax and watch the river and the trees and of course all the lovely birds. We had some great walks and enjoyed rummaging through the great variety of shops in Warubrton. What a lovely part of the world you live in. We were sad to leave and hope we will be able to return next year, nearly turned the car around and booked for another few nights, ah well shall return. Once again, thanks Jeanette and Mike for your hospitality and friendship and the little extras. Loved it. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards to you both and of course to the lovely Ruby. Vicki and Sue x

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy and unwind as we did.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warburton
1.0 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
273 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
335 reviews
21.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buttercup Hill
Buttercup Hill
#3 of 5 in Warburton
14 reviews
17.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
19.0 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Cottages

Address: 2 Wellington Rd, Warburton, Victoria 3799, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Warburton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warburton
Price Range: $312 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charnwood Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warburton Luxury B&B Accommodation. Enjoy a relaxing break in your own serene hilltop setting. Choose from our two, one bedroom romantic spa cottages, our two bedroom family cottage or our three bedroom Heritage cottage. All are fully self-contained with beautiful queen size beds, log fires and stunning views. Relax on your own private verandah overlooking the beautiful Yarra River with just a short stroll over the well known swing bridge to the heart of the historic town of Warburton, Victoria just minutes from the start of the famous Warburton Trail. Yarra Valley Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Charnwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charnwood Cottages Warburton, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing