We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pfeiffer Wines

Pfeiffer Wines
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Wahgunyah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pfeiffer Wines is a warm, passionate family owned winery, located within historic Rutherglen - a region with a rich wine heritage, spanning over 140 years. The historic, century-old cellars are nestled on beautiful Sunday Creek,a tributary of the Murray River. Father and daughter winemaking team, Chris and Jen Pfeiffer are committed to creating premium fine wines through viticultural and winemaking excellence. Pfeiffer Wines produce a premium range of handcrafted, award winning wines – exquisite, meticulously crafted aperas, crisp stylish whites, elegant, full flavoured reds and the internationally extolled Muscats and Topaques - luscious, intense dessert wines which are the heritage of the Australian wine industry.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were very lucky to have been at this friendly winery on bottling day. We spent over 2 hours having a behind the scenes tour with Jean. Jen, the talented wine maker, was also on hand to tell us about her family vineyard. A great tasting experience as well as a great opportunity to buy some outstanding wines. Good fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    20
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really excellent winery visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had an immensely enjoyable, almost 2 hours, chatting with Robyn about the wines they produce and the stories behind them. The wines themselves were great, really good value, and including some of the very highest rated fortifieds in Australia. A 'must visit' if you're passing anywhere near.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael_L_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stunning location, excellent wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The local publican at one of the hotels in Rutherglen advised me not to miss Pfeiffer Wines and I'm so glad that I took his advice. Pfeiffer is set on the most stunning and picturesque location, right along the banks of Sunday Creek. Once patrons have sampled their extensive menu (which I'll get to in a minute), they are welcome to have a cheese platter and glass of wine at a table set up to appreciate the creekside view.
The lovely Rachael was on duty at the cellar door during my visit and she was truly excellent at her job. The wine list is very extensive and so you may need to allow yourself two visits just to get through them all! I focused on the sparklings, the Apera and other whites, their rose and came back later in the afternoon to taste the dessert and fortified wines. What a treat!! I particularly liked their 2013 Ensemble Rose, the Christopher's VP 2008, the Classic Rutherglen Topaque and the Rutherglen Muscat, but if I hadn't been on a budget I could easily have bought the whole selection!
Don't miss this winery if in the Rutherglen region.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paul is hilarious...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My friend Mel and I arrived at Pfeiffer's one chilly Saturday afternoon and were thoroughly entertained by the hilarity of Paul at the cellar door. His product knowledge was outstanding, his demeanour cheeky and overall we had a brilliant experience.
Looking forward to returning - bring on the 09 Chardonnay (fingers crossed?!?!?)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KazBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We first visited Pfeiffers on new years day in 1994 and had a picnic on the bridge with a group of friends. We have loved Pfeiffers and thier wines ever since, especially the Gamay and Shiraz wines. We regularly buy a case of wine which is still great after 20 years and try and visit whenever we are in north east Victoria. The place is really something special with the old winery buildings and the bridge over the Sunday? Creek.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Wines also viewed

 
Rutherglen, Victoria
 

Been to Pfeiffer Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing