We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a foodie, don't drive past!”
Review of Colliban Foodstore - CLOSED

Colliban Foodstore
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If you are a foodie, don't drive past!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Walking in the door of Coliban foodstore will blow you away. Here you are in a sleepy country village in rural victoria, and when you enter you will find yourself in a foodie and oenologists heaven! The wine selection is amazing including an excellent range of French wines I don't remember seeing since I was last in France. These guys even do a Nouveau Beaujolais release each November just as they do in Dijon each year. They have an excellent range of gourmet food products and if that's not enough you can just stop for a coffee or a three course meal in their restaurant as well. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place is flawless. The wine list is voluminous. I've never seen such a long list of half bottles - not that I ever order half bottles (the prices below are for full bottles). We were warmly greeted, the specials were thoroughly explained to us, and we were made to feel very welcome. Our dishes were all wonderful - carrot and ginger soup ($12), a spinach, roast pepper, and feta salad ($10), chips and aioli ($7), grilled Hervey Bay scallops with brown butter ($4.50/ea), vegetable terrine ($14), Wagyu steak ($35), smoked eel ($15), confit duck Maryland with smoked duck breast ($28), and the fish of the day, grilled Mulloway ($29). The wines were outstanding - Dog Point Sauv Blanc ($35), Pannell Syrah ($41), but the standout was the Ellis Shiraz ($40). Trentham is a bit off the beaten path, but this restaurant makes the detour worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific place to enjoy the comforts of Regional Victoria.”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I loved my experience at Colliban. Great food, friendly and expertly driven service, a winelist that must be the envy of many other establishments. One small gripe - don't eat outside unless you enjoy the smell of cigarette smoke. Otherwise a terrific experience at very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SerpentGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Went to the Coliban Restaurant for lunch last week-end. The service was exceptional and the food was to die for -- the stuffed zuccini flowers the best ever. We had a wonderful wine and the coffee was great. There was a couple sitting at the table next to us from Ballarat and this was their fifth visit. We will return for dinner and heartily recommend Coliban Foodstore

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“10/10 Repeat customer and have loved it every time”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

10/10 for breakfast, brunch or lunch. Service is faultless, food is delicious and atmosphere is very good. A top class country restaurant combined with an interesting gourmet food and wine store. Trentham is a lovely country village filled with character, interesting stores, cute cottages, gorgeous gardens and superb accommodation - we stayed at Twigs on High which is also 10/10. Only issue is its not open for dinner some mid week nights, only Thursday to Sunday.
http://www.collibanfoodstore.com/
MONDAY | Breakfast & Lunch
TUESDAY & WEDNESDAY | Closed
THURSDAY-SUNDAY | Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner
Open from 8:30am
Open all public holidays except Christmas day

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colliban Foodstore also viewed

Trentham, Victoria
Trentham, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing