We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make any excuse to indulge in this slice of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments
Ranked #1 of 3 St Arnaud B&B and Inns
Stanthorpe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Make any excuse to indulge in this slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here when in town for my sister's wedding in April. Being owners of tourist accommodation, we were determined to spoil ourselves so we rented both suites and were so pleased with our choice. Centrally located, stunning building, beautifully appointed and very gracious hosts - you could not ask for more. As per all of the other reviews, we were taken aback by the generosity of our hosts with wine, port, chocolates, hand-made soaps .... the list goes on. When we revisit St Arnaud we shall return to experience this slice of heaven all over again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Sincerely appreciate your review. We are continuing the tradition of making our guests as comfortable as possible at The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast so that we can provide a 'slice of Heaven'. Thank you and look forward to your next visit to St Arnaud. Rohan and Jocelyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

What a gem this place is. Our hosts Rohan and Jocelyn were a delight while our room, the Postmasters suite, was spacious and very comfortable. The little extras like a bottle of wine, lovely soap and chocolates were greatly appreciated. The modest price topped it off.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay in the Postmaster's Suite recently plus all the extras which all add up to making our guests comfortable. Hope to see you again at St Arnaud Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast. best wishes, Rohan and Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a wonderful find. This beautiful old post office has been converted into a large and well appointed b and b, as well as a tea room. We stayed in the quiet back room, which was lavishly furnished in a vintage style. The quality furnishings and fittings were delightful. Bathroom is a little small, but that is the only very small negative. The adjoining rooms you can use include a small comfortable lounge area, a dining area and a fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast hampers were exquisite and had everything a guest could need. A short walk to the main shopping area - with a fabulous Indian Restaurant that we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Telegrapher's Suite that you stayed in is our favourite with its black, white, silver and gold colours and cosy ambience. Glad you liked the guest living areas, breakfast hampers and our new Indian Restaurant 'Golden Brown' in St Arnaud which was recently licenced as BYO. Hope to see you again, best regards, Rohan and Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Was looking at accommodation for a few nights around the Inglewood, Wedderburn and St Arnaud area due to work commitments. After much online research on the quality, comfort and cost I decided to stay at the St Arnaud Old Post Office B&B. I ended up picking the Telegraphers suite and it was immaculate, modern, tastefully decorated and very comfy. Room has its own ensuite, but no TV - but that was ok as there was a large 45" LCD in the living room space which easily made up for it. The other suite has its own TV, so if you want a TV in your room then I suggest to pick the other suite. There is also a communal kitchen which has all the cooking facilities you would find at your own home, so it's easy to cook up your own meals. Supermarket is just down the road.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place as it's "a home away from home", and it's much more comfy and clean than a motel. I've stayed at many motels around Western Victoria, so it was a relief when I found this little gem.

Thanks Jocelyn and Rohan for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation for St Arnaud Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast. As you have mentioned we are well situated to use as a base for daily travel to other towns particularly if on business, for gold prospecting, bushwalking or winery tours.

The guest lounge is comfortable, the large TV is a bonus and the lounge is a hub to meet and discuss daily travels with other guests or friends. We have always liked to take time to cook when away and liked the idea of providing a 'real' kitchen for guests. The well stocked supermarket is five minutes walk, as is the laundrette, library and dvd hire store. There is a desk in the guest library for business guests with wireless internet provided at no charge. We are also adding a printer to the library as a further service for business guests.


Many thanks again for your review, we are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay here and hope to see you again in the future.
Rohan and Jocelyn Sinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a restful and romantic stay in the Postmasters Suite at this B&B over the Christmas period. The room itself reflects the photographs on the website and is spacious and tastefully decorated, with luxe linen and beautiful windows overlooking the park. A bottle of wine on arrival was a lovely surprise. Sweet touches like the herbs growing on the rooftop balcony show how well thought out the whole place was. The shared area is separate from the host's quarters and we felt quite at home. I haven't stayed in many true B&B's before and was concerned that the hosts would be intrusive, this was not the case, they were friendly and welcoming when we arrived and helped with questions, but otherwise left us to enjoy our stay. Extremely good value for money.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Postmasters Suite is the nicer of the two, but the Telegraphers is also lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay at St Arnaud Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast, Tearooms, Gallery. Our aim is to provide a friendly, relaxing and comfortable stay for our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

A stunning old post office turned into a BnB. Top floor rooms (2 only) and shared kitchen and living area. Fully decked out and super comfortable beds. Lovely hand made soaps and cool brekky packs at affordable rates. Handy location for visiting the Grampians and local wineries (all within an hours drive). Great BBQ and edible garden on the verandah. Super nice host Rohan. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed the St Arnaud Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast guest accommodation.
As you mention it is a great place to stay and visit Pyrenees wineries & the Grampians. St Arnaud also has many delightful historic buildings and several museums which are fun to visit. If you get talking to the locals the history here is quite amazing. Other activities include gold prospecting and tours of the town, both with local residents. Thanks again for your generous review, looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Arnaud, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

It is hard to express what a welcome surprise the old post office was. Every need is catered for and luxuries are thrown in too such as designer soap, complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates by the bed etc etc. It is a beautiful old building with tons of character in a lovely old town and not only do you get the room but also the fully equipped kitchen, lounge with big flat screen and a roof terrace with barby. All this for the price of a chain motel, Why wouldn't you stay there? The only thing I would recommend is staying for 2 nights at least. If you don't stay, at least visit the tea rooms on the ground floor which even has works by local artists.

Room Tip: The post master's suite is the better of the two and at the time of writing was the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan S S, Owner at St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your generous review about St Arnaud Old Post Office. It is a delightful heritage building surrounded by many other wonderful buildings. St Arnaud has a very interesting history and one of the best ways to find out about it is to talk to the 'locals' and do the Heritage walk around town. So glad you were comfortable and liked the extras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Arnaud
0.4 mi away
Motel St Arnaud
Motel St Arnaud
#3 of 3 in St Arnaud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.2 mi away
Donald Riverside Motel
Donald Riverside Motel
#2 of 2 in Donald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
24.0 mi away
Wedderburn Goldseeker Motel
Wedderburn Goldseeker Motel
#1 of 1 in Wedderburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments

Property: St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments
Address: 2 Napier St, St Arnaud, Victoria 3478, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > St Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful, iconic old Post Office in the heritage area of St Arnaud. Originally built in 1866, it operated as the Telegraph and Post Office until 1925. The building retains many original features. We can accommodate 5 adults (sorry, no children or pets) in 2 apartments. The first floor apartment has 2 suites-Postmasters & Telegraphers. The ground floor apartment, Posties Retreat is suitable for those challenged by stairs & has a single carport attached should you require it. *Room Only Rate incl complimentary continental breakfast hamper. *Posties Retreat 'No Breakfast'Rate. Meals unavailable with this rate. See our website to make your booking. 2pm check in, 11 am check out. Make arrangements with us if early check in or late check out required. Always available are free Wireless Internet, BBQ, bathrobes, slippers, fresh fruit & milk, organic tea & rainforest alliance coffee, comp. wine or soft drink for stays of 2 or more nights(full tariff), desk & printer for corporate guests, friendly & helpful hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing