We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in St Arnaud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel St Arnaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel St Arnaud
Ranked #3 of 3 St Arnaud B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in St Arnaud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in this motel for two nights while travelling to the Grampians. The room was a good size and spotless with a newly renovated bathroom. The bed was comfortable, with tea and coffee supplied and free internet it was a great stay. The owners Darren and Barbara were very welcoming and were able to assist us with our trip, providing plenty of information of the surrounding areas. We would definitely stay in this motel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannasusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The motel is about average , but the noise level from trucks is loud as it is on a corner, and trucks are going up and down in gears, all day and night . The owners were Ok , but the restaurant and bar was not working.Outside neaded a good clean . but the rooms inside were quite clean . We walked down to the nearest hotel to dine which had fabulous food .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Arnaud hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Horrible staff, horrible service, horrible facilities. I am a frequent traveller and have stayed in over a thousand motels throughout my life and I have never experienced such a horrid and poorly serviced motel. I advise any one looking to stay in the area to choose the alternative motel or travel to nearby Maryborough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travlr5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family booked a lovely family sized room at this motel and found the staff lovely!
The rooms were clean, warm and inviting. They had coffee and tea making facilities, free internet, towels etc. in fact anything that you would need for a relaxing stay.
The motel itself is undergoing renovations but these do not interfere with your stay whatsoever.
The cost, very reasonable.
My family and I will definately be staying at this motel again in the future.

Room Tip: The family rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelier_Barbi, Owner at Motel St Arnaud, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you Gerri. Your kind comments and positive feedback are appreciated. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed one night with friends on way back to Melbourne after a houseboat holiday on the Murray River. I had made the bookings for our group and got a lot of flak for making this one.
I chose this motel from it's profile. It claimed to be quiet and friendly and quiet and had a restaurant and a bar. Important considerations as I knew we would be coming off a long driving day which is why I chose this motel and not one of the similarly priced alternatives that did not boast bar and restaurant.
Arrived to find it was really a truck stop on the main road. Very basic and not too clean rooms. Restaurant was not open and nor was the bar. We found the pub nearby which did a great meal and drinks for us and did not charge through the roof. The motel is noisy. On the main highway and a lot closer than you would think to the railway line and it's train noise. Trucks starting up at dawn were only not a problem for us because we had an early start ourselves.

No cooking utensils and a very negative response from operators to our request for some items to use on the barbecue in the park across the road. We cooked breakfast with plastic cutlery given by the nearby service station which does espresso coffee. Leaving was a relief.

Don't know what the operators problem is. Perhaps we got the bad shift or they were having children problems or it was just a very very bad hair day. The place did not live up to it's advertising and the service was poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moggy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelier_Barbi, Owner at Motel St Arnaud, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It is unfortunate that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. In regards to your comments, we did in fact inform you that the restaurant was prebooked that day. The trucks were infact staying at the motel, in which, we remind you, we were fully booked out that evening. As owner operators of a motel for the past 9 years, I must say, that I have never come across a more opprobrious group of people. As to "a bad hair day"... follicle envy is a curse !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Arnaud
0.4 mi away
St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments
24.0 mi away
Wedderburn Goldseeker Motel
Wedderburn Goldseeker Motel
#1 of 1 in Wedderburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
23.7 mi away
Donald Riverside Motel
Donald Riverside Motel
#2 of 2 in Donald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel St Arnaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel St Arnaud

Property: Motel St Arnaud
Address: 3 - 7 Melbourne Rd, St Arnaud, Victoria 3478, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > St Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel St Arnaud 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel St Arnaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel St Arnaud Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing