We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The fireplace was the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sorrento
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The fireplace was the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in July with sunny days and cold evenings which meant a fireplace was a must.
Our room was hill top ocean views opp the reception area, A well equip room with every thing you could need, great views and balcony, these rooms are designed for two people and are very comfortable and clean, serviced daily. The fireplace the lounge, flat screen tv with cable and sky racing was a bonus but the gas fireplace was the best I have ever seen and so warm.
Breakfast was inclusive and was good. The hotel was beautiful and the food fantastic, the only down thing the bar was lifeless, no music, couldn't hear the races, sometimes couldn't get a. Bet on, all ways waiting to be served far to long as there was only 3 people in the bar. It was probably one of the worst publics bars I have every been in for atmosphere. So instead of spending up large for my birthday with freinds we went else where no drama. Other from that We would stay here again. The massage from the spa was very good thank you.

Room Tip: Hilltop ocean view room 37 excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    115
    35
    16
    19
See reviews for
42
141
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in July, 3 couples for our annual weekend getaway. 2 couples shared the apartment on top of reception. It was just perfect with beautiful sea views, fully equipped kitchen. The other couple stayed in the garden view room which was also lovely. Would love to return when the weather is better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Sorrento with a Groupon deal which was an excellent deal. The room we had was very well appointed and quite large and spacious, with floor to ceiling windows/door opening onto a decked area with lounge chairs and view overlooking the gardens. Very comfortable king sized bed, plenty of pillows and blankets, tea making facilities, comfortable sofa as well as table and chairs. We had dinner at the bistro, which was very busy but our food was delivered to us reasonably quickly and was super delicious and reasonably priced. Breakfast was in the bistro room where continental buffet breakfast was available as well as full cooked breakfast from the menu. This food too was of a very high quality and substantial serves. The hotel is perched on top of a hill with views over Port Phillip Bay and is just a few minutes easy walk to the main street of Sorrento, the beach and the ferry terminal. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

First weekend away in over ten years without the kids, my fortieth birthday, expectations quite high really. Check in was friendly, but I wish we were told we needed to book for the bistro. First night we were squeezed into the very corner outer table. The next day I walked into reception, (couldn't find a number to call), and asked if we needed to book and the receptionist offered to do it for us. But we still ended up in the outer corner again on a table that looked like it had been squashed in at the last minute. Oh well, the food was very good. The room, On the Hill, number 36 made a great first impression. The view was truly beautiful. The complimentary champagne was much appreciated and I looked forward to opening it after dinner and sipping it in front of the gas fire. Unfortunately, the gas fire did not work. Very disappointing. The room was a bit on the cool side even with the split system going, so we just went to bed early. The next morning, after a lovely breaky, very good, we popped into reception to tell them about the gas fire. That particular receptionist was friendly and said she would get onto it straight away. When we returned a few hours later, after a beautiful lunch at the other hotel, we were told by a different receptionist that they had got the builder in to look at it and he said to use the split system. Yes, disappointing. Ofcourse we would have to use the split system, we didn't need the builder's advice to do that. I expressed how disappointed I was, and the helpful receptionist offered to print out a picture of a fire and we could stick it on to the front of the heater. In retrospect I wish I had taken her up on that offer, would have been entertaining to play along with whatever that suggestion was, sarcasm? We have a split system at home, not a gas fire, it was part of the reason we booked that room. I think I would have felt better about it if there had been an offer of compensation of some sort, perhaps a voucher towards dinner or not charging us for the bottle of champers from the minibar. Overall, it was a enjoyable stay, but marred a bit by the broken gas fire and the lack of info about booking a better spot at the bistro. Sorrento itself is beautiful and we were blessed with sunny weather and a full moon over the water at night, very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nemoVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited the Hotel Sorrento, using a Groupon deal. It was excellent value, complete with unexpected elements of surprise and delight. These included complementary Champagne on arrival, full breakfast, a $50 dinner voucher for their restaurant, and a $50 discount voucher for a return visit.

The hotel is a historic site in Sorrento, perched on top of a hill, with magnificent views of the bay. The original rooms and new rooms are available.
Our room is large, comfortable with floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the gardens. Excellent standard of maintenance. Breakfast is buffet as well as a cooked breakfast. Dinner was also delightful and excellent value with the $50 voucher,

Within walking distance to the Sorrento shops and Cinema, our stay was very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had not pre-booked at Sorrento and chose the hotel as it was reasonably priced for a 3 night mid-week stay and had a room in the hotel (not the apartments) overlooking Port Phillip Bay. We were a bit concerned that it may have been a bit noisy with activity from downstairs but this was not a problem. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is included in the tariff and although we only had the full cooked breakfast on one of the mornings the servings were generous and the food well cooked.
Another reason we chose the hotel is its proximity to the Main Street which has a good selection of restaurants etc.
All of the staff we dealt with were helpful and efficient and the receptionist, Marg, who showed us our choice of rooms gave us excellent service despite the fact that she was very busy with other guests as well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol5237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had lunch recently on a weekend. It took us a bit of time to actually find the entrance to the bistro which is actually behind the building if you are parked in the car park. As a group we had a variety of dishes. The vegetable soup was supposed to be creamy but was a bit watery but still tasty, served with naan bread I felt a bread roll would have gone with it better. Some of our group chose just to have a salad and some chips. The chips were great. The pork belly was really good one of our group said. The prices here are good. I felt it is looking a bit tired now. However the service is friendly and the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
11.8 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
0.6 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
1.9 mi away
Portsea Hotel
Portsea Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portsea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
15.1 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Sorrento
Address: 5-15 Hotham Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sorrento Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing