We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers in good location close to back beach Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Ranked #7 of 8 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We chose to stay at Whitehall due to location. 300m to back-beach and 350 to town/shops. This Fawlty Towers like accommodation was built in 1904 and has 31 rooms, some with ensuites,
3 star guesthouse that provides continental breakfast (B & B) earliest time 8.30am. Booked a budget room with Wotif $130, room number 15 was ok for 1 night (double bed/shared bathroom hallway). Bathroom clean, there were 4 bathrooms on upstairs level - 2 down our end and 2 in middle of hallway. Kitchenette/tea and coffee facilities was also down our end which had full size fridge, sink, iron & ironing-board.
Free off street parking out back. I would have to question the comfort of guest during different times of the year, given no ceiling fan/air conditioner and thou rooms have fireplace not sure if in working order. Autumn and Spring should be ok. Pool may be the reason given 3 star, to me room was not well appointed..just basic. Has a sink,bed,window,fireplace?) My other bug bear is that there was NO top sheet on bed, just bottom sheet and doona on top.

Room Tip: We had budget room (Rm No 15) upstairs closest to beach end. 1. Window had flywire + 2. No balacon...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights as a means to explore this part of the world and also complete the Portsea Twilight event in the first week of January.

The place is large and imposing and whilst it looks as though it may have once been a grand guesthouse, to us it was almost like a rundown guesthouse/hostel.

Our room (upstairs with access to the balcony) was large and had a decent sized bed (king I believe), a small table with two chairs and a nice old mantle piece. Balcony access was nice but it also meant that people sat outside our room smoking - not pleasant. The two nights we stayed were really windy and we were constantly woken by the rattling windows in our room - not great for sleep quality!

Most of the bathrooms we used were great although one was quite old and needed some work.

The provided breakfast was continental but adequate and although there is a 'bar' it often felt as though you were an inconvenience to staff (when you could find them). On that point, we weren't advised of any of the facilities, taken to our room or given much advice other than our key and to go upstairs and turn left!

Location is pretty good but I doubt we'd stay here again - what you get for your money is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family (2A+2C) stayed for one night in January 2014.

When I was a kid my parents brought me here for our summer holiday every year for about 10 years. Back then it was a bustling Guesthouse, always full and with lost going on; cricket in the carpark, tennis matches, three meals a day, pool and table tennis a-plenty. I have many fond memories of these times and decided to take my kids there out of nostalgia.

Sadly, despite attempts to rejuvenate Whitehall, it appears a shadow of it's former self. When we stayed (mid Jan), the place was almost empty. Others have mentioned the ripped and lumpy carpets, but that was forgiveable. The tennis court is gone, as is the table-tennis table, only a basic continental breakfast is included, and worst of all (on a 42 degree day) there's no air-conditioning in the standard rooms - not even a ceiling fan. When you pay $240 for one night, that's a bit below expectations; even an onsite cabin has an aircon!

The staff, whilst I found them very welcoming and helpful, disappear around 6pm, from which point you're on your own until breakfast.

A courtyard off the dining room is a nice addition. Swimming options are good; there's a medium sized pool, and the surf beach is only 10 minutes walk down the hill, whilst the bay beach is a short drive (or 20 minute walk) away.

It's a lovely old building with a lot of history, and if some more money is spent sprucing it up with a few modern amenities, I think it can be a real gem again. However, for the amount we spent on one night, I'd probably look at other options too.

Room Tip: Upper floor front rooms have balcony access and views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This lovely old building is a curious type of accommodation: it seems too good to be a basic lodging house, but not well enough presented to be luxury accommodation. Its a step up from a motel and more like staying in a grand old country town pub that is being gradually updated. The public rooms on the ground floor are beautiful and the upstairs balcony is a charming place to sit and relax. The bedrooms are a bit dark and basic in their furnishing and presentation. We did not mind having to share bathroms and toilets: even though there were wedding parties staying there both days we were there, we did not find that we were inconvenienced in any way.
The continental breakfast was fine and well organised. Staff were friendly and effective when they were there (the front door gets locked at 6pm when the office closes and there seems to be noone around, though there is a number to ring if you need help out of hours.) There is plenty of parking out the back. Best of all it is only a short walk to the glorious Sorrento back beach. In the other direction its about 10 minutes walk to the shops and services in the main street. If you want to explore Sorrento and are happy to try somewhere a bit unusual, this is a top choice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was a little leery of the low price for the cheapest rooms, but it was fine. Comfy bed, good linens, clean shower/toilet rooms just outside my door. Good breakfast, friendly folks. I would surely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This guesthouse was a wonderful find. It was too cheap to believe and we were not sure what to expect. The carpets are worn and the building is old. The rooms are large and clean and have a hand basin. The shared bathrooms are plentiful, modern and well appointed. A small kitchenette on each floor makes life very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and was delicious,there was a wide variety of fresh fruit, cereals and bread/muffins etc. Coffee/ tea/juice. The staff were delightful and the courtyard offered a perfect spot for breakfast in the winter sunshine. The balcony were great to sit and enjoy the view. The lounges with great big open fires were a perfect feet up and fish and chips by the fire option. We will return.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the guesthouse on a Friday and Saturday night. We had a room with a little ensuite which included a bath (bath/shower combination). Overall the room was nice, but perhaps in need of a bit of a touch up. There were some cracks and obvious patch ups on the walls, but the décor was quite lovely. We both liked the room, it was a good size and had everything necessary; kettle, DVD player, fridge, etc.
A couple of criticisms would be for the tiny TV, and too short bed. Both of us had our feet basically hanging off the end of the bed. Aside from that, the bed and pillows were comfy.
All in all, it was a nice and relaxing stay, despite there being quite a few other guests it was reasonably quiet, and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the guesthouse if you're intending on a short stay and being out and about most of the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanic Apartments
Oceanic Apartments
#3 of 5 in Sorrento
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eastcliff Cottage
Eastcliff Cottage
#1 of 8 in Sorrento
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buoys on Queens
Buoys on Queens
#2 of 8 in Sorrento
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorrento Beach House
Sorrento Beach House
#2 of 5 in Sorrento
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento

Address: 235-237 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing