We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Ranked #7 of 8 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I would stay again...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I found this place to be great. Some people seemed turned off by the worn carpet and simple rooms, but for me it satisfied my two key criteria: a clean room and a very comfortable bed.

The shared bathroom facilities were excellent and the continental breakfast was adequate (not a great variety but no excuses for not being full afterwards).

I would be interested to compare by experience of staying in October to that of a person staying in peak season as there is a potential for noise being an issue (the verandah spans the length of the building) as well as the bathrooms becoming dirty (it was very quiet when I stayed)

But that is just speculation and my experience was great. It's the cheapest accommodation you're likely to get in Sorrento but it was still a pleasant experience for me.

Room Tip: I would imagine that you would want to get as far away from the lounge as possible (ground floor). U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipsy_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we should have perhaps researched this place before we booked. the shared bathroom might normally have been ok, but the guests who were staying at the time left it in a bit of a state. we did wait to lter to re-use in the hope they might be cleared up a bit, but didnt happen. the rooms were large, fairly comfortable. the carpets have seen better days. not bad, i just would prefer something more modern and with more private facilities. the breakfast was pretty decent and the owner helped us out to recommending some good places to visit in the nearby area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet_set_girl_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Loved staying at this lovely old guesthouse. Whitehall oozes history throughout the building, beautiful new clean bathrooms. Fantastically friendly staff!
The dinning room is a big grand room room with a fireplace the sun streamed as we ate our breakfast and read 1 of the 4 daily newspapers on offer. The breakfast consisting of every toast you can imagine including crumpets, yoghurt, fresh fruit and 2 choices of cereal is DELICIOUS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The first time we stayed here we booked a budget room. These are clean and comfortable but very basic with no view, they needed renovation when we stayed there but this was about 2008. Bathrooms are not as renovated as the ones upstairs but still plenty of showers and toilets available. The breakfast which was included was a fully cooked buffet breakfast which was delicious and good value. The place has a pool table, and lots of lounges with fires going which are great to have a wine on the couch. The mansion itself has a beautiful character and is a great place to stay for a winter break. The staff are very friendly and brought us glasses so we could drink our bottle of wine that we bought at a winery in the lounge.

The second and third time we stayed on the top level which has the traditional rooms which have a beautiful decor, a beautiful view, renovated bathrooms and very comfortable beds. These have a much more romantic feel and are larger. If you don't like sharing the bathrooms they do have an suite with an ensuite which we have not stayed in so i cant comment about it. We love staying here and continue to do so years after we started.

Room Tip: Choose a budget room if you don't care about getting a basic room, if you want a room with more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed at Whitehall Guesthouse many times over the past 15 years.The Welcome is always warm friendly and helpful, we have widely traveled throughout the world and always come Whitehall for rest and relaxation!.We highly recommend for a short or long break away

Room Tip: We stay in the Ensuited rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I'm not going to tell you to avoid this place, but I will share my experience with you and you can make up your own mind. This is a very old building, which was one of the attractions. Unfortunately it would appear that general maintenance costs are considered too high and not worth the investment. The common areas are worn, shabby and stale smelling. The carpet is hideous. All the stair treads are worn threadbare and the carpet on the first floor is lumpy and wrinked. The whole area needs new carpet and something to deoderise the air to achieve a welcoming atmosphere and first impression. At the moment it looks like no-one cares and this is confirmed during your stay. I encountered only two staff members and they were incredibly rude and unprofessional. They have obviously had zero training in customer service and hate their jobs and boy do they let you know it!!!
The rooms are large with casement windows. Some of the windown sills on the exterior are rotted away and flywire screen has little support. There is no airconditioning, just a pedestal fan which has little impact in a room of that size. The room smells stale so the windows need to be opened - unfortunately they don't work properly. The en-suite looked good at first glance. Upon use it fails in a number of ways. The wooden venetian blind is broken, with slats hanging off. The toilet roll holder, towel rail and soap dish are all not fastened to the tiles correctly. The toilet seat is barely hanging on to the bowl. The basin has a curious plug which needs to be lifted up by hand to allow the water to drain and then it comes off in your hand. The drains in this basin smell bad which indicates some problem with the plumbing.
There is no chain on the inside of the door - just a push in button, which is not adequate security as door can be easily opened from the outside.
The breakfast room is a nice area and the continental breakfast compares favourably with the competition. Only problem is that you don't feel like eating because of the smell in the areas you walk through to get to the breakfast room.
The grounds are tidy - a gardener was working - apparently there is money to pay him.
The back of the building - car park area is very shabby. The "guest laundry" is a joke - surely? Remind me which century we are living in please.
I could go on but honestly I don't feel inclined to waste any more effort on this place. If you choose to go there don't blame me I tried to tell you.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Souris740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a terrible place. The manager was rude and swore at us when we asked to be in a different room AS THERE WERE MICE IN OUR ROOM! She was incredibly rude and unhelpful (as there was only one other couple staying they had other rooms) yet she still made us feel as if it was our fault and we were making a fuss.

Will be taking this issue further and the manager should be fired.

If you want a full nights sleep with nice service, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HSmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanic Apartments
Oceanic Apartments
#3 of 5 in Sorrento
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moody's Motel
Moody's Motel
#1 of 1 in Blairgowrie
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastcliff Cottage
Eastcliff Cottage
#1 of 8 in Sorrento
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boathouse Resort Studios and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento

Property: Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Address: 235-237 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing