We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Ranked #6 of 8 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Sorrento
The guesthouse has lots of charm -its not 5 star but it doesnt claim to be. We were able to walk to the beach and town easily and the verandahs at the guesthouse were fantistic on a hot night with the lovely ocean breeze.
If you want reasonably priced clean accommodation and dont mind the shared bathrooms (which are very nice and clean also), you can expect a very nice stay with welcoming staff and great facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
14
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the moment of first contact with Oceanic it was clear they couldn't care less whether we stayed or not. However, we were attending a wedding and needed somewhere to stay. For the price we paid ($265 per night), I'm afraid I assumed comparable service and facilities. Breakfast was not included in this price.

The room was dirty - thick layer of dust on crockery, dead insects and cobwebs. The managements response was that the room had been cleaned. There was no apology or enquiry as to what could be done or offer to send someone to deal.

The guesthouse had all the atmosphere of a cafeteria. This place is a total rip off.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebirchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed there only for 1 night, thankfully!

the room was not exactly nice, just the bad and a lamp.

Nothing bad but,considering the price and everything I'd not suggest anyone to stay there.


Roberto.

Room Tip: The basic room with just one queen bad it's better the the more expensive rooms with maybe extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying in this lovely old Guesthouse in Sorrento but it fell well short of our expectations. The service was poor, the people unfriendly - I guess I expected an exuberant owner-operated B&B but the staff seemed bored and unexcited about this lovely old house. The carpet was threadbare in places, the kitchen was locked from like 6pm, the courtyard which looked lovely on the website was tired and looked unmaintained, the rooms were basic - they forgot to give us t-bags, only gave us 1 cup for 3 people etc. It is a lovely old building but seems to be unmaintained (insude and out) and the service was well below par - espcailly considering the price!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I've stayed in Whitehall guesthouse three or four times - most recently last weekend. I love the old style feel, the shared bathrooms (there are rooms with ensuites for a bit more), the shared loungerooms, the dining room for breakfast because it feels like you're in a different time. The carpets do need replacing but it appears to have been freshly painted recently. The shared bathrooms are in very good condition. The rooms are very basic - no drawers/wardrobes but for a couple of nights stay you probably don't need much more than that. All in all I think this is a good place if you're looking for budget accommodation in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A good location - close to beach and walking distance from town centre. Apartments were fine and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento with a little trepidation but we were very pleasantly surprised.

The Ensuite guest room was spacious and welcoming and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. We had everything we needed in the room for a lovely weekend away.

The staff were very helpful and after a small mix-up regarding our continental breakfast on the first morning of our stay, were generous enough to offer us a breakfast sitting for just the two of us.

It is an easy walk to Sorrento and the beach from Whitehall. There are are a number of rooms within the guesthouse where you can sit and relax while reading the paper or a book, play the piano or a game of pool or just sit and enjoy a glass of wine next to the fire.

We are planning to stay at Whitehall again.

Oh yes.....the carpets in the hallways are showing some wear but we thought that it added to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungAgain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanic Apartments
Oceanic Apartments
#4 of 5 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eastcliff Cottage
Eastcliff Cottage
#1 of 8 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buoys on Queens
Buoys on Queens
#2 of 8 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.0 mi away
Portsea Hotel
Portsea Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portsea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento

Property: Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Address: 235-237 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento 3.5*
Also Known As:
Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing