We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment but with some quirks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oceanic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanic Apartments
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment but with some quirks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and four days. At first glance the apartment ticked all the boxes, clean, modern and it has a cute kitchen and was a 10min walk to the back beach and 15min walk to town centre, so accessible location. We were excited to also cook our own Bbq dinner and breakfast but there was no stove available but luckily there is a shared bbq in the common area. The annoying part was that the dishwasher was not working in Apartment 13a so we had to handwash the dishes. So don't book apartment 13a if requiring a dishwasher. Another quirk is the confusing blanket/quilt which was covered by two separate sheets on both sides so at nightime the covers come off revealing the actual quilt. Some of the pillows are quite flat too. Overall a good stay only marred by some irregularities.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Qoraelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great two nights here. The townhouse was lovely- very crisp and clean. We stayed on an exceedingly cold two nights and were nice and warm. Nice selection of herbal teas aswell as the usual coffee and also a tv upstairs in the king bedroom!!! - great features! Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here as we had a wedding to attend in Sorrento. The apartment was small in size, but the perfect size for anyone wanting to stay for a few days. There was a dishwasher and the cupboards were stocked well with all the utensils you might need. The bathroom was downstairs though (and the bedroom was upstairs) which might be a problem for those needing to get up and use the facilities in the middle of the night in the dark. But other than that, everything was nice. There was a queen bed and a single bed upstairs and the queen was quite comfortable. The only issue we had was that some people came home late and were a little loud and you could hear it through the thin walls. And we were watching the TV but the station kept cutting in and out before cutting out completely. Aside from that it was a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a special find this apartment was and such great value for money Thurs and Fri night

Little bit back from Main Street like 10 mins walk ( me who is slow) to start of shops.

Great size apartment very clean modern, huge king bed, tv in bedroom and lounge.

Court yard front and back which was small but nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Studio with spa.
Was neat and tidy apartment with a small courtyard, well equipped kitchenette (microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, all crockery and cutlery) and close to the beach. clean bathroom and spa.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sinusoidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A king sized bed and a single upstairs, along with a double sofa bed downstairs means there's plenty of room for a family.

We were there in winter and the downstairs is quite cold. The only heating is a split system air conditioner upstairs. Upstairs is cosy warm, but as downstairs has no rug or carpet on the floor, it remains cold even when the heating has been on for hours.

There is a kitchenette but no cooking facilities bar a microwave. For me, I would expect a self contained apartment to be just that, but the lack of facilities means you are forced to eat out for just about every meal - and Sorrento is not cheap, so factor that in to your stay.

Well positioned in the summer for an easy wander to the back beach.and not to far a walk into town. There is only one car space for apartment so if sharing with another couple, be aware you will have to park on the street.

As a single mum with a teenager and younger child, it is great for me as there is room for all of us and a child's friend, so everyone is happy. Sorrento is not a cheap break, but a gorgeous part of the world

You are also able to use facilities across the road including a small outdoor pool, another plus for summer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneJeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at Oceanic Apartments over the Queens Birthday long weekend for two nights with a friend. The apartments are a good size for 2-3 people and are well laid out. There is an upper level with a kind size bed and single bed and a TV. The downstairs has a couch and TV with kitchenette and bathroom. There is also a little private courtyar area.

Great staff, close to everything and everything you need, except a stove. Tthere was a microwave, kettle and dishwasher. My favourite part was the plunger coffee. It would have been even better if there was an iPod dock.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
11.8 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
0.5 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastcliff Cottage
Eastcliff Cottage
#1 of 8 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Apartments

Property: Oceanic Apartments
Address: 234 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Apartments Sorrento, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing