We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, clean apartment for long weekend”
Review of Oceanic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanic Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice, clean apartment for long weekend”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a two-storey apartment, its was clean, bright, comfortable and well equipped. the location is good, 5 minutes walk to penisula national park and short drive to the town center. a bit pricecy, $270/ night, overall, it's great, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irsemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Came for two nights with my little family. My husband, myself & my 4 month old son. The accomodation was ideal! It had enough room for us all, good modern furnishings, fantastic location & great price. Want to stay here again soon! Highly recommended :D

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I and our 5 year old son stayed at oceanic apartments and found it to be a great place to stay for a 3 day getaway.
Why we enjoyed the stay:
- well equipped - basic kitchen but enough utensils to cook simple meals
- clean
- cosy upstairs with a separate single bed for our son
- very close to the back beach
- quiet location
- daily housekeeping
- effective reverse air conditioning

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in Room 12A for a romantic weekend away. The room was perfectly sized for a night away - think motel room size - but with a king size bed, quality linen, flat screen TV and a couple of chairs. Its in a great location - handy to the cafes, shops and the beach too.

Everything was clean, and working as it should, and the heater was very warm on our wet and miserable evening in Sorrento.

The whole room and bathroom is definitely compact in the studio we stayed in, so its probably not for someone wanting lots of space. We would loved to have stayed in the 1 bedroom loft style apartments but were too slow to book.

Only negatives - there was an exterior light on that kept the room brighter than we would have liked, and the pillows were pretty average. But we are fussy pillow people so others might not notice.

Overall we loved it and will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I booked this apartment under the assumption that it would be a nice relaxing place to spend a much needed break with my family. The website describes the apartments as “architecturally designed and stylishly decorated to provide the ultimate in guest comfort”. The $215 per night price tag also implied the apartment would be of high standard, however it was the worst accommodation I have stayed at in the last 20 years. The apartment was extremely dirty, the fixtures and furniture were old and damaged, and many of the appliances were not working.

Here are just some of my complaints about the apartment:

• whole apartment was very dirty and had clearly only received a very peripheral clean for many months
• bathroom floor was sticky
• venetian blinds were broken and very dirty
• cobwebs on ceiling and behind blinds
• lots of scuff marks on the walls
• kettle was sticky
• toilet brush was filthy and the area around it was also very dirty
• furniture was very old, chipped and damaged including a hole in the coffee table
• cigarette butt marks right outside the front door
• spiders and cockroaches were seen
• lounge mat was filthy
• bathroom fan didn’t work
• light globe not working in bedside lamp

The apartment was not “stylishly decorated”, or the “ultimate in guest comfort” and there was certainly no “Sorrento style living room”. To be frank, the place needs a complete overhaul. Had we booked for more than two nights we would have left early as I could not have spent another night in the accommodation.

Don't go there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelbourneReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A quiet location within walking distance of the town, this is one of the best places to stay in Sorrento. We stayed in a two-storey apartment with smallish but cute front and back courtyards - the perfect size for a quick meal outside - with an upstairs bedroom with double-bed and single bed. Downstairs is a comfy couch, small table, kitchenette with microwave, toaster and kettle. Quality furnishings inside - flat screen TVs in the bedroom and downstairs. Single-drawer dishwasher, top-notch cutlery and crockery. Great bathroom with bath over bathtub - and heat lamp for those chilly mornings. Inverter air-con works very well heating or cooling. Very clean and well set-out, we would definitely recommend staying here. We paid $165 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went to a wedding at All Smiles, and Oceanic Apartments are very close to that venue on the ocean beach. After reading some of the Trip Advisor reports, we weren't expecting too much at all; but we were very pleasantly surprised. We were in Room 13 too!but not unlucky for us, The room was compact, but plenty spacious enough for two people; fully equipped with a kitchenette (microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, all crockery and cutlery). The bathroom was good too.

Besser bricks painted cream, white timber slats for the ceiling, white sailcloth drapes, grey floor tiles, large KS bed with white covers and an abundance of pillows, a rust red couch, and a cute white triangle table and two chairs. Outside, a petite courtyard with a table and two chairs - altogether very charming.

Only one thing detracted slightly -the courtyard windows and eaves outside are full of cobwebs and spiders, they really need a good brush down. A shame, because inside was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
304 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
5.2 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buoys on Queens
Buoys on Queens
#2 of 8 in Sorrento
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastcliff Cottage
Eastcliff Cottage
#1 of 8 in Sorrento
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Apartments

Property: Oceanic Apartments
Address: 234 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanic Apartments are 18 individually decorated, self contained, serviced apartments - offering an unbeatable location in Sorrento on the Mornington Peninsula. The apartments back onto the national park - a short walk to the magnificent ocean beach. A 10 minute walk in the opposite direction is the main shopping centre of Sorrento featuring many high street shops and local design centres, together with numerous dining options. At the end of this street is the magnificent bay beach of Port Phillip Bay. Surrounded by wonderful wineries, coastal walks, a huge array of dining options and the famous Peninsula Hot Springs, Oceanic Apartments is the perfect holiday destination on the Mornington Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceanic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Apartments Sorrento, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing