We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there!”
Review of Oceanic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanic Apartments
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I booked this apartment under the assumption that it would be a nice relaxing place to spend a much needed break with my family. The website describes the apartments as “architecturally designed and stylishly decorated to provide the ultimate in guest comfort”. The $215 per night price tag also implied the apartment would be of high standard, however it was the worst accommodation I have stayed at in the last 20 years. The apartment was extremely dirty, the fixtures and furniture were old and damaged, and many of the appliances were not working.

Here are just some of my complaints about the apartment:

• whole apartment was very dirty and had clearly only received a very peripheral clean for many months
• bathroom floor was sticky
• venetian blinds were broken and very dirty
• cobwebs on ceiling and behind blinds
• lots of scuff marks on the walls
• kettle was sticky
• toilet brush was filthy and the area around it was also very dirty
• furniture was very old, chipped and damaged including a hole in the coffee table
• cigarette butt marks right outside the front door
• spiders and cockroaches were seen
• lounge mat was filthy
• bathroom fan didn’t work
• light globe not working in bedside lamp

The apartment was not “stylishly decorated”, or the “ultimate in guest comfort” and there was certainly no “Sorrento style living room”. To be frank, the place needs a complete overhaul. Had we booked for more than two nights we would have left early as I could not have spent another night in the accommodation.

Don't go there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelbourneReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

A quiet location within walking distance of the town, this is one of the best places to stay in Sorrento. We stayed in a two-storey apartment with smallish but cute front and back courtyards - the perfect size for a quick meal outside - with an upstairs bedroom with double-bed and single bed. Downstairs is a comfy couch, small table, kitchenette with microwave, toaster and kettle. Quality furnishings inside - flat screen TVs in the bedroom and downstairs. Single-drawer dishwasher, top-notch cutlery and crockery. Great bathroom with bath over bathtub - and heat lamp for those chilly mornings. Inverter air-con works very well heating or cooling. Very clean and well set-out, we would definitely recommend staying here. We paid $165 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went to a wedding at All Smiles, and Oceanic Apartments are very close to that venue on the ocean beach. After reading some of the Trip Advisor reports, we weren't expecting too much at all; but we were very pleasantly surprised. We were in Room 13 too!but not unlucky for us, The room was compact, but plenty spacious enough for two people; fully equipped with a kitchenette (microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, all crockery and cutlery). The bathroom was good too.

Besser bricks painted cream, white timber slats for the ceiling, white sailcloth drapes, grey floor tiles, large KS bed with white covers and an abundance of pillows, a rust red couch, and a cute white triangle table and two chairs. Outside, a petite courtyard with a table and two chairs - altogether very charming.

Only one thing detracted slightly -the courtyard windows and eaves outside are full of cobwebs and spiders, they really need a good brush down. A shame, because inside was spotless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed mid December the apartments are compact but where fine for us. Blinds where extremely dusty and the room was so light so early it ment no relaxing sleep in. The apartments have what u need and I loved that someone actually knocked to service the apartment! The week before we stayed at an apartment that was not serviced. The tv was annoying very limited channels but all in all nice stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend and paid $265 for one night, expecting a five star experience for the price. Instead it was disappointing. The apartment was quite small, tiny bathroom with a cramped shower and toilet with minimal bench space. The furniture was in need of repair or replacement with damaged tables. The dining table was a fold up table in the corner that two people would barely fit around so good luck if you have kids.The flimsy blinds downstairs were all damaged or bent.
Upstairs was also disappointing with no balcony or windows with a view. One window our of four actually opened to allow fresh air in, and it had a view of the roof! The king sized bed was actually two singles zipped together and I could feel the join all night so I slept on one side only. The curtains upstairs were not working properly as the drawstring was broken, meaning I had to pull them across then put my bag in front of them to keep them shut! The "private courtyards at front and back" they mention are tiny. The one at the back was about 2m X 2m and you'd barely fit two chairs out there. The front courtyard is a bit bigger but there's no table and chairs so you can't really sit out there unless you want to sit on the floor!
I expected a lot more for the price, I thought this was a basic apartment and I wouldn't pay more than $160 to stay here. have stayed in the Hilton for less than the price of this place and I won't be staying here ever again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shanks1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was looking forward to checking in & having a great weekend.
I was so disappointed, it looks great on the website but it's not & if I could have I would have got a refund & checked out!
It's dirty, dead flies, spiderwebs, stained furnishings, blind & shelves full of dust.
Broken shower head, old box tv's & remote control didn't work.
Courtyard unusable as it was overgrown & full of spiderwebs.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllaJS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just got back from a weekend at the Oceanic Apartments in Sorrento. Its a quiet sleepy little place off-season but very friendly and there are some great things to see, do & eat. The apartments are modern and comfortable, with a loft style upstairs area for sleeping. The king bed was actually just two singles pushed together, but it wasn't a drama. There isn't any view unfortunately, but with so many nice beaches close by its easy enough to find someplace nice. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, there is also free WiFi at the Whitehall Lodge (same company) across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
323 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
5.2 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
147 reviews
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Portsea Village Resort
Portsea Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Portsea
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Apartments

Address: 234 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: $150 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanic Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanic Apartments are 18 individually decorated, self contained, serviced apartments - offering an unbeatable location in Sorrento on the Mornington Peninsula. The apartments back onto the national park - a short walk to the magnificent ocean beach. A 10 minute walk in the opposite direction is the main shopping centre of Sorrento featuring many high street shops and local design centres, together with numerous dining options. At the end of this street is the magnificent bay beach of Port Phillip Bay. Surrounded by wonderful wineries, coastal walks, a huge array of dining options and the famous Peninsula Hot Springs, Oceanic Apartments is the perfect holiday destination on the Mornington Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceanic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Apartments Sorrento, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing