We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and decadent!”
Review of Just Fine Food

Just Fine Food
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Sorrento
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Home of Sorrento's famous vanilla slice.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious and decadent!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were drawn to the vanilla slice at Sorrento with the promise that it would be the best in Australia! We didn't believe this as we thought we had some good local products.
But we had to admit...they were right. It was delicious, decadent and as dreamy as it looked! For the first time in your life, you may need to share! (It was very filling)
Yes, a bit pricey, but it's a good idea to share!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    90
    46
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Better than Fine”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

With good timing, we managed to get a table inside as it was a cold and windy day.

My wife enjoyed the Potato and Leek soup together with the accompanying delicious Olive bread.
I had the excellent Beef pie, chips and salad. The pie was full of chunky meat with a good bordeaux flavour. The kids being fussy had a bowl of chips.
We shared the 'famous' Vanilla slice, my wife loved it; I found it a bit creamy but ate every crumb.

We found the service to be excellent, the kids were given crayons and paper to draw. They each received a gourmet Chocolate frog. The atmosphere was warm and cosy and our waitress was very friendly. Be prepared for the Toorak tractor prices common in many beach-side holiday towns, would you really expect anything else?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Vanilla Slice - The only thing I'd buy here”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Vanilla Slice here is legendary. The slice is thick alright but the sweetness wasn't sickly. It was just right for my liking.
What I used to do was to buy a slice and drive down to the back beach, and enjoy the slice there. There is another cafe at the back beach so maybe you can buy your coffee there.

I gave it an Average due to young staff and their non-existent smiles and courtesy. Otherwise the food was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EruditeTravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Maybe it was a goo day”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I see complaints about the coffee, soup and service in other reviews, but our experience was just fine indeed. My potato and leek soup was tasty and hearty, with som yummy olive bread, and just the thing on a cold, wet, windy arvo. The coffee was very good. And the service was smart and very friendly. We didn't have the vanilla slice this time, but I recall from a visit some time ago that it was very tasty, as was the breakfast. And the chocolates are really worth a try (the little cappuccino cup was excellent).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Burned coffee and uninspiring cakes”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a busy place, and we thought to give it a try. The place looks ok, lots of customers having a cake. The cake was not impressive, it is if you are really hungry or doesn't have a clue what good food really taste. They also served us burned coffee. The price was not really worth it. And when we left the place, our clothes smelled of cheap food.
No we will not come back to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Fine Food also viewed

Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
 
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Just Fine Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing