We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silverwater Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Bridge Motel(Newhaven)
View Hotel
Seabreeze Motel(Newhaven)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveler rating
322
384
166
69
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
384
166
69
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphillip islandbedroom apartmenttennis courtsindoor poolgames roomtop floorbuffet breakfastgreat for familiessteam roomtable tenniswasher dryerplay areagreat facilitiesstaff at receptionmid weekpenguin paradethree bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 994 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This was our second time to the Phillip Island area so we knew we wanted to avoid the drab motel units that are plentiful here. Silverwater was wonderful and priced well due to it being off season. We had a beautiful two bedroom unit in a building with no other occupants. As mentioned by other reviewers, the indoor pool was very warm and that made it perfect for a swim in August. The billiards room was also a hit with my family. It may be more expensive than other places in the area, but off-season, in particular, Silverwater is definitely worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegoanywhere42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed at Silverwater in a 3 bedroom apartment to celebrate Father's Day. Everything was perfect! The accommodation is sensational. The staff are fantastic. The resort is possibly one of the best in Victoria. 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata8ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stopped at this hotel in winter. It has four apartments to a building that evidently are condominium units for sale. Includes a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, etc. which makes it geared for lengthier stays. The rooms are fine and there was a heated indoor pool and a fancier dining room and bar. The hotel is conveniently located just before the bridge for Philip Island. If you get a good rate this hotel is a fine stop.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at Silverwater only for one night. We were sorry that we couldnt stay a few more. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which was tastefully furnished. The design of the apartment was modern and provided plenty of space for the 4 of us (3 adults, 1 child). The apartment had two balconies, one at the front near the entrance hall (smaller, with the BBQ on it) and facing the ocean, was a larger deck, which overlooked the grounds of Silverwater also. The beds where warm and comfortable. The linen clean. The kitchen was well stocked with wine glasses, bowls, cutlery etc etc. Large fridge.

We settled in very easily and made use of the heated (like bath water!) indoor pool, quite late (7.30pm). We ordered food from the restaurant and collected it shortly after our swim to eat back in our room (cheese plates, anti pasto for us and some napoli pasta for the little one). You could arrange for it to be delivered, but there was a delivery charge! I will conceed that the restaurant was a golf buggy drive away from our apartment. Food was quite ok.

Silverwater resort is quite large, with accomodation blocks strewn across large grassy fields. A childs playground, walking paths and a pond with water spouting high into the air is all scattered about too. Despite the tremedous view of the ocean from most rooms, it isnt a matter of just walking a couple of minutes to the sandy shore...not sure if there even is one...it was a quite a way away from Silverwater itself anyhow.

It was lovely to see some cows not more than 100 meters away from my bathroom window in the morning. Location wise, its about 10 minutes drives to Cowes and about 15-20 to the penquins.

Breakfast in the morning left a lot to be desired. We chose to eat in the restaurant and have the full buffet (about $25 per head). All the hot food was barely warm. Coffee, being delivered by waiting staff, was luke warm (if you managed to flag a staff member down to give you some!). Eggs cooked to order in the kitchen where great, but the stuff in the bain-maree thingo's - for the price? Urgh! Your best bet is to either stock your own breakfast requirements in the kitchen of your apartment, or nip into San Remo where several bakeries and cafes serve hot breakfasts for cheaper prices.

I would definately stay again, bringing my own food supplies. Despite being a little out of the way (in terms of attractions on Phillip Island) the view from the resort apartments of the ocean was nothing short of breathtaking, especially at sunrise. Just beautiful. Instant relaxation.

Apart from the breakfast, the only other real annoyance was that I left my and my daughters bathers in the dryer (after our night swim) and upon calling housekeeping the day after we left, it seems that our bathers have not been sighted or found. Quite strange when I know exactly where I left them. Lesson learned that packing shouldnt be left to my husband and that if you lose something at Silverwater, dont hold your breath about getting it back.

Value for money, service quite ok, rooms are really good. We will return soon I hope!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginkoVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Do not consider staying at Silverwater Resort. We arrived to a room the size of a dog house, with a terrible smell of off cheese in the room, old food smell in fridge, dirty sheets, door didnt close and the handrail on our third floor didnt support us at all, nearly fell three stories down and the response was from the manager " Thank you for your Feedback, hope you come back again" Who answers a complaint that way ? Good one Ivan Skidmore ( Manager - Apparently ! ) The rooms are so over sold on there website and other accomodation sites. Dont waste your money ! Who gives these places there star ratings anyway ?

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJAY80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverwaterResort, Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2009

As the Manager of the resort I feel it appropriate to expand on this review.

The room mentioned is our Resort Room which is our entry level room, which is the standard size of all normal hotel suites. The resort also features very spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments which range from 70 - 120 sq meters.

I do agree that on this occasion housekeeping did not clean the room to the standard required and set by ourselves. As per our guests feedback YTD cleanliness of rooms currently rates at 98%, which we are very proud about. We also pride ourselves on responding to any guest issues and rectify them immediately.

Unfortunately on this occasion we were not informed of any issues until 3 days after departure, which makes it quite difficult for us to rectify. What was more concerning that the handrail in question is stated as "nearly fell three stories down due to not supporting us". If you believe that your own personal safety and that of others is at risk then this should be reported immediately !!.

As a Manager of a resort we do want our guests to return, it most certainly was not the answer to the complaint, but was genuinely offered.

In reading this response as potential guests of Silverwater Resort or other hotels, all I recommend is when you are staying overnight or just having a meal in the restaurant, don't wait till after you leave to raise an issue, inform us straight away and as hospitality professionals we will find you a solution and hopefully allow you to enjoy your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews