We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silverwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverwater Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family fun in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Silverwater Resort is an enormous near-new resort situated 10 mins from the heart of Phillip Island. It is set on a stunning hillside overlooking the water and comprises several chalet-style buildings housing between 4-12 separate apartments/rooms in each. We paid approx. $350 per night for our family of four (including a full buffet breakfast) and were given a ground floor one bedroom apartment (one queen bed) with an interconnecting resort room (also one queen bed and one bathroom) overlooking the ‘village green’ where many of the families are placed. I did have the choice of booking a two bedroom apartment, but decided to book this configuration as it gave us an extra bathroom, TV and a separate entrance. Although this option was more expensive than the two BR apt, in hindsight I was glad that I paid a little extra per night as it gave us much more privacy and space. We did not hear any of our neighbours (except for the occasional overhead footfall) and barely any noise once the balcony doors were closed. (However, in summer this could present a problem, as voices do carry from the upstairs balconies into the apartments below.) On the positive side, a VERY big plus for us in apt 303S was that our bedroom shared no internal walls with any of our neighbours and faced the quiet rear of the building. On the negative side, the resort room was very small and faced the busy village green, which could present noise issues at night. If I had just booked this room for my husband and myself, I would’ve been very disappointed as it was so small and poky; however as an additional bedroom for our children adjunct to the apartment it was fine. The kitchen was also fairly basic but met our needs for the weekend. The pool area is beautifully landscaped and our children loved swimming in the (very warm) indoor pool; we also enjoyed the gym, games rooms and tennis courts. We had dinner one night in the informal ‘café’ adjacent to the main restaurant which didn’t require bookings and was more casual. The food was fine and well priced. Overall, we had a wonderful time and found the resort staff very accommodating and pleasant. Although it was extremely busy, the atmosphere was friendly and warm. Like most places, the resort would probably be at its best during off-peak periods where you don’t have to line up for the buffet or feel squeezed out at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    344
    146
    63
    44
See reviews for
426
263
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

My partner and I headed down to Philip Island over the Superbike Weekend. We chose Silverwater on account of its 4.5 star rating and we really needed AND expected a luxurious weekend away from our very busy professional lives.

Basically we are left wondering who hands out the ratings for Hotels in Victoria!

The Resort rooms are not much more than a fancy cosmetic overhaul of 3 star apartment block. The rooms are small and Queen beds only. There is NO mini bar. There are none of the usual 4.5 star hotel room inclusions ... everything is extra - and you pay for it !

Then there is the unfortunate reality that the place has been built on the cheap and you'll know EXACTLY what your neighbours are up to - there is no noise insulation between apartments and you'll get to know your neighbours ..intimately !

The "All Day" dining - room service - is only available 11am to 5pm. And room service for dinner is only available 6pm - 8pm.
As for the food - bypass the dinner menu at all costs !
For the first time in my international travel experience - I sent the food back .... it was nothing short of terrible. I have eaten better at a country truck stop !!!
Worse still, when we expressed our disappointment - we were told by the Food Manager that it was basically out fault and that we had chosen the wrong dinner from the menu !
After something of an argument - we were discounted the cost of one meal ! Not good !
The one outstanding factor was the one particular guy on the bar - he was just outstanding in terms of personality, service and product ..he was so outstanding compared to the mediocrity demonstrated by his staff colleagues - we only wish we had caught his name to sing his praises !

At no stage did staff make you feel welcome ...we actually felt like we were imposing by just being there ! When checking out ...we were not even asked the ubiquitous "did you enjoy your stay?

In short - if you have travelled widely and/or know what 4.5 star means in the hotel industry and the value and service that goes hand in hand with such a rating - DO NOT go to Silverwater - you will more than likely be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We weighed up between Silverwater and a private house and in the end were swayed by the gret price we were offered for 3 br and the onside pools. In hindsight, despite the occassional sound of 'elephants tapdancing' in the upstairs apartment, we made the right choice.

LOCATION: While we intended to have a 'Phillip Island' break, we were relieved to be able to turn into the resort before the traffic jam that commences as holiday goers venture across the bridge to the island. Silverwater is a couple of minutes drive from San Remo shops, set on the main road, but most of the buildings seem well enough back from the road not to be affected by traffic noise. There is also a 'back (dirt) road' access to San Remo, so no need to even brave the traffic if you don't want to!

Our 3 br apartment (533) was on the ground floor at the end of a block enjoying exceptional views across the bay and into adjoining pastures (the cows gave a bit of a thrill to the kids!) We were only affected by some noise from the apartment above, no doubt they were by some from us.

OVERALL LAYOUT: 3br apartments mostly around front of property (possibly the best views), 2 br apartments around and overlooking village green and 1 br apartments in middle overlooking lakes. Reception/restuarant/pool pretty central.

APARTMENTS:
Good layout, with master bedroom enjoying beatiful views and a generous sized bathroom (bath, shower, toilet, double basin). Decent size lounge (especially when you rearrange the furniture a little) with patio off towards ocean views. TV with some 'foxtel/austar' channels, but no DVD player (a bit annoying when you want to entertain house bound children - BYO player). mp3/CD player available in room. Smaller kitchen than expected,but reasonably adequate. A coffee plunger would be nice. Dishwasher much appreciated, though noisey and takes a while to clean. Bring a bit of detergent from home for when you run out.

BRs 2 & 3 are snug, with a king bed in one room and 2 singles in the other, which we pushed aside to fit in a porta cot. There is no clock radio in either of the 2&3rd brs, if that matters to you.

Bathroom 2 is pretty poor - very small, note to open shower door inwards, not outwards into the toilet, and strange smell eminated from bathroom which was nothing to do with us. There are far too few towel rails/hooks in the bathroom and rooms, and while the clothes 'horse' is helpful, it only holds so many things to dry. Washer/condenser dryer very handy. Standard wash/dry cycle lasts about 4 hours.

*note, you need to put your key in to power your apartment, which is fine, and a good idea, but clearly the fridge is on override, though the dishwasher and washing machine are not, so to finish a cycle, you either have to be in the room, have a spare key or run them overnight.

FACILITIES:
Pools: Very clean, inside pool was very very warm, and busy given that the weather was quite cool. Great to get there before 8am where possible. Outside pool was cool, but would be lovely on a 25+ day. While we appreciate that the one pool services all types, it would be nice to have some signs preventing ball-games and diving, particularly for the safety of children. So pleased we chose the resort with the pool given the weather over New Years was pretty cool :( Pool towels provided (1pp)

Games: Table tennis, air hockey and pool - free of charge, take your key to get in, collect gear from reception.

Sports: Tennis courts - book early in peak season, close at 8pm. (depsite being floodlit). Volley Ball net on 'village green'

Kids: Good playground for most ages. A bit of shade over it would be nice. Porta cot hire $22 and booster (high) chair $22.

Parking - we had 2 spaces allocated, but there was visitor parking as well, so I suspect that there would be plenty of spaces should you need a spare.

RESTAURANT: Didn't eat there, but had a coffee. Reasonably good. Seems like a nice enough atmosphere, not sure about food quality as we didn't eat there!

CUSTOMER SERVICE:
Not bad, great booking by email (though some more confirmation emails would have been good). Friendly welcome and check-out adequate, but in between service a bit dis-interested. Note, as was bluntly stated to us, that apartments are 'self contained' and once you use up your starter packs of washing liquids and soaps, you need to provide your own or order a $70+ clean. If you are staying for 7 days or more your rates include a mid stay clean (inc. linen and towel change). House keeping staff were lovely and very efficient - they did a great job!

Overall, a great option, nothing 'special' but great value, with good facilities. Lots of apartments so I suspect would rarely book out.

tip. Check out the beach down the end of the dirt road (turn left out of the resort entrance).It's worth the climb down the hill through the dunes, protected, clean, quiet. Nyhaven fish co-op on the pier stood out as best for seafood and Nude Food cafe was great for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment about 3 days before we travelled for $240 from the website and were lucky enough to get a ground floor room with an amazing view. It would have cost the same for 4 people to stay in 2 crappy motel rooms, so it was great value.

The photos on the hotel website are accurate and the rooms were clean, new and well thought out. Kitchen facilities were brand new and well-stocked with pots, pans, kitchen utensils, etc. Just bring your own oil, spices and provisions. We ate lunch on the spacious balcony watching the view and slept well on comfortable beds with 2 pillows each. There was a large "rainshower" and a bathtub in a light filled bathroom.

2 minor gripes: The location made the wind whistle through the bedrooms: it was a bit annoying at night but we slept ok. Also, there was a sweet cloying scent in the air (from too much cleaning product or some scary air freshener?) but you get used to it after a while.

  • Liked — The views and the space
  • Disliked — Staff were quite non-comittal.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank littleLQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed for only one night and the Silverwater seemed a great base from which to drive the 10 minutes to Philip Island. Unfortunately for us we arived late, with ony enough time to grab a very late light lunch before heading off to the Penguin Parade.

The Silverwater resort is a stunning complex and provides beautiful views of the surrounding area. Unfortunaltely for us we were not there long enough to enjoy any of the facilities other than the bar (after a very cold, windy and wet evening on the beach waiting for penguins) Although we were too late to get a meal in the evening, the bar staff were very sweet and attentive in providing hot chocolate and brandies to warm us. They also threw in some home made cookies and I think we ate them out of crisps, snacks and peanuts!

Although the rooms are very modern, bright, clean and well appointed one critisism is that the sliding doors to our balcony was not well fitting and as a result when it is windy (as it was the night we stayed) they rattled all night long.

Despite the lack of sleep though we enjoyed our stay and if we are ever in the area again, would be likely to stay again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The windows
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

I have stayed here before and had a great time, the apartments are beautiful, no complaints... but in order to have the whole package your staff too needs to provide each guest with the personal touch. We stayed at Silverwater Resort over the Melbourne Cup long weekend and we stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 2 nights.
We arrived late due to my husband working so we lost a day. Trying to cram everything into one day we didn’t get the chance to use the resort facilities, On the day of check out, I approached the reception staff and kindly asked if it were at all possible to delay check out from 12pm to 2pm. I was firmly told that I would be charged $20.00 per hour that I delayed check out, for they wouldn’t be able to “sell” the room, I did tell the lady that all the rooms surrounding us where empty and she said that it was the resort policy. I was given a smug look from staff and I walked off.
I have referred a lot of family and friends to this resort and I am extremely disappointed by the way I was spoken too by staff.

On a lighter note, apart from the female staff that were rude, it is a beautiful resort and I do recommend it to all who don’t mind driving 10mins into Phillip Island.

  • Liked — The view and the appartments are beautiful
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend and found it to be brilliant. I have worked in hospitality for 8 years including a number of those years in 5 star properties and found this place to deffinately be up to that standard in most areas.

The staff were lovely and very accomodating as we arrived (very) late and wanted to stay a bit longer on the Sunday. Also i think the hotel being about 10 minutes drive from phillip isalnd does make a huge difference - and a good one. It really does feel like a resort and the water views were good. Food for breakfast if ordering a la carte were not large servings but were reasonably priced. Tennis courts etc are great and as the hotel is only a year old everything is new.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will be staying there again myself.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Gem444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Remo
9.5 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
18.3 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
22.1 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwater Resort

Property: Silverwater Resort
Address: 17 Potters Hill Rd, San Remo, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > San Remo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silverwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwater Hotel San Remo
Silverwater Hotel Phillip Island
Silverwater Resort Phillip Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing