We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with great facilities for the kids !”
Review of Silverwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silverwater Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 5 days - 134 - at front of the resort with great water views.....and the main coastal road in between with a constant traffic sound the only real shame ! Apartment was super clean and comfy and welcoming after some great days at Smiths beach and late afternoons by the (very cold) resort outdoor pool. Apartment could use some fly wire in the bedrooms - watch out for the bugs come dusk ! Aircon was great as was the general supply of kitchen needs, towels etc - all good ! A second TV would have been handy as only one in the lounge area. We ate two great dinners at the restaurant - food quality not a prob at all ! Highly recommend this resort for families with young children - our kids (8 & 12) did a cooking class one morning and loved it ! Overall service was just fine as was vibe of the resort .....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Silverwater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 950 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 3rd time at Silverwater Resort, we stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Village Green on ground floor for 7 nights. Rooms are small, but being at ground floor suited us perfectly as our children aged 5 and 2, could just open the door and run around outside with us being able to see them from the living room, the addition of the jumping pillow was great, the kids had sooo much fun on them, the playground is really only suited for toddlers, there isnt any cover for those warm sunny days, so would be nice to see sails or any kind of protection over the pillows and playground. The window coverings in bedrooms are awful, cheap, thin holland blinds, you know when its morning as light comes right thru them. Couches arent the most comfortable either, tv should be on the wall and without that useless desk which is just in the way, i think management needs to put some thought into re arranging the apartments, we actually moved things around during our stay, it gave us more space.The apartment was spottless on our arrival, and was equipted with all we needed. Beds are comfortable. The pool is set at 31 degrees, well thats what we were told, i dont believe this as we have our own pool and is much warmer at 29, but i wont argue the point, i just noticed lots of people, espescially females, saying how cold the water was, i just sat in the spa, was nice and hot as it should be.This is a good family resort, has lots of facilities to keep the kids busy, i highly recommend it as in Philip Island you wont find anything much better then this.At checkou tstaff did not ask how our stay was, i found this to be wrong, they should always ask, i wanted them to know that on the night before our departure we went for a swim, it was the weekend when "tough mudder" was on, so we came across a group of young people sitting in spa with cans and bottles of alchool, it was kin of intimadating for famillies with young kids, this is not allowed at the pools, but they did it and got away with it, we left as they were getting a bit loud for my liking, anyway...it was a one of im sure, but if staff asked me, i would have mentioned it. Overall, we had a fantastic holiday with our children, and will be returning next year as Philip Island is one of our favorite destinations!

Room Tip: Village green ground floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our 3 year old daughter in a 1 bedroom apartment and couldnt have asked for more. The room was clean, staff friendly, had no problems with check in. Daughter loved the pool and playground, only downfall for me was that the spa wasnt working

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Not worth any money. Very small rooms could not stay longer than one night. You could hear neighbors whole conversations which was awful. Room doors were located right next to each other in a corner which I found uncomfortable and it made it seem like you had no privacy.
I would never stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biancasaurusrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvermanager, General Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Biancasaurusrex,

Thankyou for your feeback. We have a variety of rooms designed to accommodate a range of requests and personal requirements. It appears that you had reserved a resort room which is very much in the vain of a traditional hotel studio and as such suitable for short stays. We do recommend to our guests that if you require a larger room that our 1 bedroom apartments may be a more suitable choice.

I do apologise that your stay was impeded by the noise of your neighbour and suggest that if you are ever placed in this sitiation again that you contact the front office of the property for assistance.


Kind Regards


Stuart Kentish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We might have been the only people staying without young children but found the one bedroom apartment comfortable, clean and well set up. We used the sofa bed and still had a lot of space. The staff were friendly and responsive to our requests. I think we might have enjoyed using the facilities more if we had realised how popular this resort is for young children and their stressed parents and timed our visit out of school holidays. It's a great base for the many activities of Phillip Island and a short drive to the wonderful Ocean View Hotel bistro meals in Kilcunda.

Room Tip: The tennis & basketball courts start getting used at 8.00am so with a nearby room, a sleep in is...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Due to some negative reviews about the checkin, we went prepared and rang up few hours before checkin. The room was cleaned already, so checkin was no issues for us. It seems that people who have been having trouble with checkin is on Sunday. I did notice that on Sunday, the cleaning staff were pretty busy. And it does make sense that Sunday is a busy day for checkout, as people need to get back to work on Monday. However, i guess the hotel should be prepared for this.
Anyway, we got the Hillside 1 bedroom apartment. We found the location of the room to be ideal. Right across the road from the swimming pool/games room/gym, and the kids play playground. The rooms were clean and modern, and had great ocean views. Had a TV in the lounge and also a smaller tv wallmounted in the bedroom also. Had extra few foxtel sport channels, but the reception on these channels were not very good. The digital TV receptions were fine.
As we stayed here in the peak time, there are many kids, and you expect some rooms to be noisy. Luckily we had the top floor room, and the noise wasn't too bad.
The BBQ is electric, and it was pretty clean. Could have done with some BBQ utensils.
All in all, we had a good time at this resort, and were impressed with the facilities here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmkory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 6th till 13th January. Like a few others we waited 2 hours for our room which we found amazing in this day and age, but I have to say staff were very polite under difficult circumstances (there were several families in the same position). Manager gave us a couple of free breakfasts and a drinks card as compensation. The resort itself is very good and we were happy with our apartments, a 2 bedroom on the top level with beautiful views across the water. The apartment was very clean and we did not find any noise problems, I specifically requested a top floor as I have encountered overhead noise in other apartments and find it very annoying. We had a mid-week linen and towel change which was adequate for us . I would stay here again if I could have a similar apartment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Remo
9.6 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
40 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
503 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
9.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwater Resort

Address: 17 Potters Hill Rd, San Remo, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > San Remo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Price Range: $131 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silverwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwater Hotel San Remo
Silverwater Hotel Phillip Island
Silverwater Resort Phillip Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing