We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from comfortable apartments”
Review of Silverwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silverwater Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Silverwater is a resort complex of small apartment blocks dotted around a hill looking out across the sea to Phillip Island.

Very clean and well equipped 3 bedroom apartment - kind of a duplex layout - with furnishings in neutral greys and beiges.

The resort centre has a really great swimming pool complex, with sensible indoor and outdoor pools and a spa and steam room. Pools were cold but not heart attack cold.

There is also a good children's playground and tennis courts.

The resort is convenient for the attractions at Phillip Island, but they are all a 15 minute drive away.

Very relaxing and beautiful views. On a sunny day it really is heaven. But it is expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 962 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having read other reviews on tripadvisor prepared us for our stay at silverwater. I find other reviews of this property helpful and can see what they mean after having stayed there. We booked last minute on wotif at $310.00 a night and this was the only accomodation suitable for our family of 4. We booked a 2 bedroom one bathroom apartment. Apparently during peak season, check in is from 3pm. Our apartment was a good size with a decent kitchen equipped with a dishdrawer, full size oven and fridge, microwave and two hobbs.Bedding was very clean but the apartment itself could do with a thorough wipe down and the couch needed to be drycleaned (or someone should have chosen a fabric more suitable for commerical use). The bathroom had a large shower with a rainshower head and there was also a laundry with tub and a combined washing machine/dryer unit.

There are two swimming pools- one inside and one outside which were very busy and popular but could have done with a proper clean as first thing in the morning when the pool was open you could see debris still sitting on the bottom of the pool like plasters, hair ties, rubbish etc.

Bouncy pillows and a kids playground was a hit with our family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Silverwater Resort from 30th December to 6th January.
This resort is fantastic for children. The outside pool is heated with a shallow area for younger ones. An open grassed area called the village green is ideal for children to kick a ball around. Two jumping pillows are available, along with a play area with swings and slides.
Tennis courts are available with free equipment hire and even a basketball court!

The restaurant is great, morning coffee is just right, buffet breakfast is plentiful and delicious.
The beer battered chips are excellent!
There was a power shortage one night (the whole region) and this meant the restaurant could not offer their standard menu. They arranged a free BBQ for all bookings. We got there at 9pm without a booking, just as the cooks were packing up. They cooked fresh food for us and our five children, no charge! They stated they did not want to send away children who needed an evening meal.

The apartments are very clean. One of the cleanest we have stayed at. Yes they are small but our family of 7 managed quite well. Our apartment had beautiful beach views. Another family we traveled with stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, overlooking the village green. You could here families in the surrounding apartments, which was a relief as my friends young child can be loud! The environment of the complex was very festive and family orientated and really, it was a fully booked resort with many children present. Noise is to be expected. You can either get upset about it, or enjoy the experience of families holidaying together.
The only let down for the apartment was no vacuum cleaner! I cannot understand why they don't supply one. Situated amongst trees and grass, the floors do get dirty. I called reception and they did supply one and then collected it when it was no longer needed. I believe this one vacuum cleaner serviced all the apartments! No FOXTEL!! The fee for the apartment per night does not justify this. Your own BBQ is available on your balcony and we used this many times. Air conditioning is great, even on a 38 degree day, washing machine is clean, fridge is big and beds are comfortable. Our apartment, 136, did not have enough cooking utensils or large bowls for salads, and the ones available were not completely clean.
The staff were amazing. Very friendly and helpful. They received many complaints about the power shortage, which was totally out of their control. They strive to assist you and did not deserve to be treated poorly by some people.
I was happy with the location. A two minute drive to San Remo Town Centre, which is beautiful and great for children.


Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thezanigeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

it won't be a good result !!

Ha ha like the other reports, our check in was 2pm, but apparently really 3pm even though our confirmation said 2pm- apparently our error for the giving us wrong time !! Finally got our room around 4.30. When we checked in we were told THEY had a bad day, running late but could not even guess when we could have our room. Could be 2.30pm or 6.30pm - had NO idea !! Totally unacceptable for taking money from people, what ever the amount !
Only stayed the one night , yes sure clean and tidy but ... they did US the favour, by letting us stay and have our money.
Upon check out we were told it was all our fault re check in and the time cause people that stay in peak time are dirty and it takes longer to clean up after us !!
Yep joke is on you Silverwater, won't get our $$$ again and will tell ALL our friends !!!
And no, we aren't dirty either !!

Room Tip: Don't go there !! You may not get your room til very late !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44happytravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvermanager, General Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear 44happytravels44

Thank you for your feedback.

As experienced by a number of other reviewers; this time of the year is exceptionally busy with some room delays for arriving guests. While every effort is made to ensure that guests can access their room on arrival in some cases this is not always possible. As also stated previously, we do offer complimentary beverages and access to all of the resorts facilities for guests who are inconvenienced.

To quantify your comments: The context of the staff’s explanation for the delay is more related to the increase in length of stay and as such the rooms require more cleaning time to bring back to a saleable state.

Again, thank you for your feedback


Stuart Kentish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived on the 6th of January at 2.40 pm as the check in was at 3pm.
Little baby had to be asleep by 3.10. The room was not ready when we arrived and was not ready even after 3pm. After long argument with the receptionist no one could tell me when would the room be ready. At 3.20 pm I called manager but she also couldn't tell when would the room be ready as it was in cleaning progress.
When asked for room number to check on the progress of the cleaning manager refused to give it to me.
Finally at 3.45 we received the keys. We weren't the only one waiting. The reception was full of unhappy people. Lucky foe us because we had baby we were fist one to get it. When I came back to the reception at 4.10 for some inquires people were still waiting.

When walked into the bathroom one of the toilets was not cleaned at all had hair and wee on it. Not enough towels and if you need extra toilet paper or towels or tissues you got to pay extra. The remote control for the TV had to be changed even those all of the TV's were replaced only two weeks ago.
After using the dishwasher we had to wash by hand as it was leaving dirty plates. Balcony was not covered at all, so the table and the chairs had bird poop all over the place.

And even those the beds are not bad the couches are old and you fall right through them.

Personally I don't think I'm coming back here unless it is dramatically changes in management.
You would hear lots of good reviews in off peak season but defiantly they are not copping in peak season very understaffed as the management trying to save money!!!!

Room Tip: Don't come here pick time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex669_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvermanager, General Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Alex 669_79

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the resort. As there are a number of points that you have raised I have separated each to provide a individual response.

Check in time: While we strive to achieve a 3.00pm checkin time for all arrivals, it appears in your circumstance this did not occur.

• There are a number of variables that determine room cleaning times and while every effort is made to achieve the benchmark of 3pm, I do apologise for the 45 minute overage in receiving your room.

• It is also our policy not to give out room numbers prior to the room being returned as we have previously had guests enter the room with belongings and proceed to unpack while staff are still cleaning slowing down the process even further.

• The procedure we follow for any delay post 3pm is to take a mobile number from the guest and offer a complimentary beverage in the bar area until the room is ready.

Room: I do apologise for the issue with the bathroom and trust that it was rectified immediately upon reporting it to our housekeeping area.

• As our rooms are apartment style we provide enough provisions including toilet paper, tissues, detergents, cleaning spray and dishwashing powder to facilitate the first two to three days of our guests stay. We provide these items complimentary and in line with the apartment style of resort we operate.

• The balcony without cover is one of the few in the resort that does not have a roof and can attract birds. The bird in question is a swallow, which nest during the summer months in Victoria. As an environmentally friendly resort and the fact that the nests are protected we have taken to educating our guest on their habits and cleaning active areas rather than interfering with nature.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the beds. I would be interested to understand which room you were in as to determine the condition of the couch. If you could kindly let me know I would like to look into.

Again, thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards

Stuart Kentish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

staff were 'politely' RUDE.... rooms were very noisy, you could hear everyone else in the rooms either side of you. Not a great place for kids, rooms were small, sqeaks in the room from levels above and rooms beside us, very noisy hotel, and the blinds let light in.... location is terrible and a 25 minute drive to get to the beach at Cowes. Beds were terrible and rooms weren't very clean.

Room Tip: all rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chaslolla43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvermanager, General Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Chaslolla43,

Thankyou for your feedback. As stated in a previous review, we have a variety of rooms to suit all tastes and budgets. It appears that you had reserved a resort room which has similar attributes to that of a traditional hotel room and suitable for short stays only.

I was also a little surprised with some of your other comments as the property is very popular with families with a spectrum of facilities as testified by other reviewers. There is a also numerous family friendly and surf beaches closer to the resort than Cowes which are notated in your arrival information and map.

Again, thankyou for your feedback.

Regards





Stuart Kentish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Designed for families. Onsite activities include swimming pools, jumping pillows, games rooms, and a jungle gym. Lots of space to run around onsite. During school holidays, there is a kids' club (1 hour per day for over five year olds) and a free nightly movie.
The site is on a hill and can be a little windy.
We stayed in a three bedroom upper level apartment. The balcony was spacious with lovely views. The apartment itself was compact and smaller than comparable accommodation at other resorts. Very few kitchen containers and bowls compared to other self-catering options.
The resort is well staffed and service was good.
Our only real complaint is the mid-stay servicing. We have stated at many self-catered family resorts in Australia and a mid-stay clean (where the booking is greater than eight days) includes vacuuming, mopping and wipe down of all kitchen and bathroom surfaces. Here, it was linen change only. Four other families travelling with us and staying in separate apartments all had the same complaint, so it is a common problem with this resort. Housekeeping will perform a proper mid-stay clean at no extra cost, but you have to make a special request.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lellobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Remo
1.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
44 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
9.7 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
519 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
2.0 mi away
The Island Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwater Resort

Address: 17 Potters Hill Rd, San Remo, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > San Remo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Price Range: $126 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silverwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwater Hotel San Remo
Silverwater Hotel Phillip Island
Silverwater Resort Phillip Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing