We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a wonderful idea as so difficult to leave our fur children at home. Chris & Charles made us & Gatsby so very welcome. It was a home away from home. Beautiful accommodation - bedroom with ensuite, sitting room with tea coffee & treats. Muscat too! Very roomy fully fenced garden for us & Gatsby to enjoy sitting outside with a lovely bottle of the local drop. The breakfast were fantastic & restaurants all in walking distance. Chris & Charles kindly offer to dog sit too & also provide information of restaurants & wineries where our fur children will be welcome. We will definitely return & look forward to seeing Chris & Charlie & their fur kids again next year. These are a treasure couple! Thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeBee2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    25
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
178
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warburton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've always been reluctant to book accommodation with my dog, so we usually camp with her instead. The reason for this is that in the past we've found the quality of accommodation, where dogs are allowed, has not been great. 'Must Love Dogs' is proof that you can cater for dogs and still provide high quality accommodation for people. As for the Chris and Charlie, they were so welcoming and such wonderfully warm people that you come away feeling you've made new friends. One thing I will never forget: we decided to eat out at the Victoria Hotel on our first night (we were eating in the next night) and left our dog behind, in the yard (she's normally an outside dog). When we got back, we found her inside happily watching 'Beauty and the Geek' ( she is an ex show dog, but I thought we had 'doggified' her more than that! :-)) . As she had fretted, Chris and Charlie had paid her a visit, calmed her down and put the TV on for her. You can't ask for better service.

All the meals were fantastic, though a word of warning - you might find it really difficult to find room to try one of Parker's Pies. Maybe buy some to take home as you leave as they are great too!

Oh, and if you do make it to Must Love Dogs, take a visit to the Victoria Hotel and play stick with resident dog Indie (border collie) in the beer garden - and yes, you can take your dog there too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently stayed with my dog for two nights and both of us were treated like alfa dogs. Chris and Charles spoiled us with great food, special home made treats and their friendship. Charles is an excellent cook and I highly recommend his special dinner. I'm planning the next visit already with our dog friends to catch up with a promised pan cakes. Chris and Charles are really serious about giving their guests (and furguests) great time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovefurchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yea
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our second visit and as enjoyable as the first. Good to be able to take the dog and not have to worry. Nice surrounds and able to sit in the garden as a group and enjoy a bottle of local wine. Chris and Charles are fantastic and the breakfasts enough for the day. Close to town so walk out for dinner. Would highly recommend a visit for those wanting to take the pet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from 4 lovely days at Must Love Dogs over the cup weekend, with another couple, plus our blue heeler Montana. We all had a great time. This was the first time we have ever taken Montana away with us to a dog friendly B&B. We were very impressed with the rooms, décor , cleanliness and special little touches. The highlight of the day was the scrumptious breakfast cooked by Charles and served by Chris. We liked to linger a while and enjoy the old world ambiance of the dining room and it was a perfect opportunity to plan our day.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The chandelier suite would suit couples who stay 2 or more nights; it has a more generous lounge are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a great time and it was fantastic to be able to take our furchild with us. Chris and Charles were very friendly and made a great effort to ensure we had a good time. The list of local attractions (wineries) that allow dogs was very useful and it was fantastic to be able to go out and know that Barney was being looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Chris and Charles provided a wonderful escape for two furry children and their parents.The Chandelier Suite had a luxurious and relaxing feel with everything we needed including special treats for dogs and their parents upon arrival. The puppy children moved in as if it was home. The garden yard was secure and very dog friendly.Our dogs were looked after extremely well whilst we enjoyed an evening out and we were spoilt the next morning with a delicious home cooked breakfast in their wonderful dining room.Must Love Dogs B & B is a must for all doggy people.

Room Tip: Chandelier Suite had very little traffic noise and had plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuddle Doon Cottages
Cuddle Doon Cottages
#6 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Property: Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing