We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Chris and Charles provided a wonderful escape for two furry children and their parents.The Chandelier Suite had a luxurious and relaxing feel with everything we needed including special treats for dogs and their parents upon arrival. The puppy children moved in as if it was home. The garden yard was secure and very dog friendly.Our dogs were looked after extremely well whilst we enjoyed an evening out and we were spoilt the next morning with a delicious home cooked breakfast in their wonderful dining room.Must Love Dogs B & B is a must for all doggy people.

Room Tip: Chandelier Suite had very little traffic noise and had plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 312 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is possibly the best B&B we've ever stayed in. The hospitality of the hosts Chris & Charles is unparalleled, from the moment you arrive until the time you leave, they couldn't be more welcoming or helpful. It's lots of lovely little touches that make it special. And the list of local dog friendly attractions, cafés etc as well as the resident dogs Princess,
Leo and Wee Wak made it a great holiday for our dog Jett as well. The food was amazing too, the breakfasts were great (especially the pancakes), and we'll definately be having one of Charles' special dinners on our next visit (which we're already planning!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second visit within a few weeks. Went for our 40th anniversary. Charlie and Chris put on a special dinner for us. The meal was to die for. Daisy our dog was spoiled with treats. Their hospitality made it a special and unforgetable weekend for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had never taken a dog on holiday before and with a 12 month old cattle dog I was a bit nervous but I needn't have been. Chris and Charlie were so welcoming, they know exactly how to settle in your dog (and you) and make your stay relaxing and fun. Breakfasts were great as was the dinner we had and Charles took us on a great little wine tour. Our dog Ted fell completely in love with Princess, the resident Great Dane and Chris took such good care of Ted while we were wining and dining. An absolutely lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolebilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Where do we start! we can`t recommend Must Love Dog`s any higher.From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Chris at the front gate with muffins for Criss, myself and Ted, to the fantastic Breakfasts cooked by Charles each morning. Pancakes to die for, eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and Asparagus, amazing.The chandeleir suite was Perfect and Immaculate. Ted was looked after while we were out and had a great time with Princess, leo and Wee Wak.After a week of complete Relaxation including a Swim in the lovely Pool we were sad to leave, but we will most Certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffery t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at must love dogs with our furry baby. Chris and Charles are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We didn't have time for dinner this stay but Chris organised an amazing hamper in the garden for our return from a wine tour, wine glasses and lace tablecloth included. Two nights isn't long enough to enjoy all this B&B has to offer. We will be back next yr.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Would recommend this wonderful place to anyone, Chris & Charlie are welcoming hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the area. Breakfast was fantastic and the Garden suite was clean, comfortable and very pet friendly with little treats not only for the dogs but us as well. The garden was securely fenced and had plenty of room for our two dogs to play. Great couple of days had by all.

Room Tip: Both suites are beautifully decorated. Only point I could make is that the Garden suite has more sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 13 in Rutherglen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuddle Doon Cottages
Cuddle Doon Cottages
#6 of 13 in Rutherglen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: $144 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing