We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at must love dogs with our furry baby. Chris and Charles are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We didn't have time for dinner this stay but Chris organised an amazing hamper in the garden for our return from a wine tour, wine glasses and lace tablecloth included. Two nights isn't long enough to enjoy all this B&B has to offer. We will be back next yr.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 308 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Would recommend this wonderful place to anyone, Chris & Charlie are welcoming hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the area. Breakfast was fantastic and the Garden suite was clean, comfortable and very pet friendly with little treats not only for the dogs but us as well. The garden was securely fenced and had plenty of room for our two dogs to play. Great couple of days had by all.

Room Tip: Both suites are beautifully decorated. Only point I could make is that the Garden suite has more sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our Airedale, Felix, first holiday away from his mum and grandma and we were wondering how he would cope. We were warmly welcomed by Chris and Charlie with cup cakes for us and Chris's special biscuits for Felix. We enjoyed a tasty candle lit dinner in their lovely dining room with Felix at our feet. Next morning Felix acquainted himself with the garden and met Princess, the Dane. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the comfortable Chandlier Suite to the food and the hospitality to us and Felix. Thank you Chris and Charlie for looking after us and Felix. We will return.

Room Tip: We've travelled with our dogs in Europe but never in Australia. Must love dogs was a home away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuttaJumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Jesse really enjoyed her baked dog treats at this home away from home for dogs. We had excellent hospitality from the hosts. It is a rarity that dog comfort is so well thought out with great fenced yards for peace of mind. We had full privacy in our Garden Suite with a cooked breakfast in the heritage listed dining room. Highly recommended. Thanks Chris and Charles and to their very relaxed pooches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Last weekend we decided to head to Rutherglen at the last minute. We stumbled upon must love dogs and we are so glad we did. Had a great time in the Chandelier suite, with cupcakes upon our arrival, and a wonderful local muscat in the decanter. Our hosts Chris and Charles and their dogs were lovely. Room was very clean, and breakfast was superb. We had a wonderful evening in town at the Taste restaurant, before enjoying the comfy bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Chris and Charles and their dogs were lovely, welcoming hosts who went out of their way to accommodate not only us and our furry friend but also our 3-year old son. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. We stayed in the whole cottage Using both the Garden suite and the Chandelier suite.

We highly recommend having dinner in the heritage listed dining room as Charles is a wonderful cook. We were so full from the breakfasts and dinners that we had no need for lunch.

The location is perfect - walking distance into the Rutherglen town centre and close to many wineries. Chris can even provide you with a list of dog-friendly wineries so you can take your pup along with you if you like.

We would love to stay at Must love Dogs again and recommend it to anyone looking for a get away with their pet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sue, Poppy, Paddy and I arrived at MLD late in the evening after a long and delayed drive. Despite the late arrival, Chris and Charles had a wonderful dinner prepared us and some treats ready for the woofers. The suite was spacious, warm and comfortable and the bed was very cosy. The facilities for Paddy and Poppy were excellent and they slept through out the night. All of us were made to feel to very welcome by our hosts and we would recommend this lovely place to anyone, with or without fur children. Be prepared to be fed very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gimmers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#4 of 13 in Rutherglen
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
181 reviews
6.0 mi away
Circa 1936
Circa 1936
#1 of 4 in Corowa
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: $145 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing