We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly dog friendly....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After trying to find a truly dog friendly B and B to take out three furry children we finally found it at Must Love Dogs! Chris and Charles are wonderful natural hosts with Charles delivering a scrumptious breakfast on both mornings. We were made to feel very welcome with the dogs spoilt rotten with home baked treats on arrival. High recommended....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our pooches are very important members of our family, and Must Love Dogs was the perfect place where the dogs were made to feel at home. The Chandelier Suite was spacious for us and our Jack Russell, Border Collie x and Aussie Shepherd! We all even fit in the bed, which was incredibly comfy. The room was so clean, no doggy smell whatsoever, even the garden was lovely. Our pooches enjoyed sunning themselves during the day, and lounging on recliners in the evenings. There's a list of wineries Chris and Charles can give you which are dog friendly and meant we could take our pooches with us while we did the tourist stuff. The breakfasts Charles served us in the dining room were scrumptious! Over our 4 night stay we tried the bacon & eggs, mushroom omlette and the pancakes. I went back to the pancakes on the last morning as I had to have them again before we returned home! The location is great, we walked into Rutherglen for pizza (excellent) the first night, and tried Indian the second (wasn't fabulous, wouldn't go back). The other nights we ate cheese, cold meats and biscuits, with our feet up in the garden watching the sun go down. It's a short drive up to the Murray River where our dogs had a few swims, and in the other direction it was a nice drive down to Beechworth and Bright. We'll definitely be back, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron4erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Chris and Charles are terrific and talented hosts. The B&B is well suited for a couple with dogs and Charles cooking is brilliant. Be sure to have the pancakes and splurge on an in-house dinner, best pork belly we've had. As you can tell we really enjoyed our stay. Very convenient walk to Rutherglen and fun area for cycling and of course dog walking.

Room Tip: We went with the Chandilier room but both have good yards for your furry children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

How many times have you stayed at a dog friendly b&b only to find that they've forgotten that us humans would like to enjoy the stay in a clean, fresh and cosy environment too?

Well, what a pleasant surprise and uplifting experience Must Love Dogs was for our entire family. We stayed in the Garden suite, a cosy and well furnished two room with ensuite that more than met our needs. The chocolate muffins and home made dog biscuits were a delightful welcome treat for us all. Not to mention the lovely Muscat that my husband couldn't help but enjoy, and enjoy.....

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, which says a lot considering I was 8 months pregnant! Best nights sleep in some time for both of us, which is surprising as we have an expensive plush pile ensemble at home.

The Saturday night dinner in the dining room was very romantic. Candlelit with soft music, a peaceful setting that was reminiscent of the days of old. The salmon and steak, both cooked to perfection, with tasty veggies were delicious. We also managed to find room for the meringue and stewed fruit desert that followed. As for breakfast - fantastic! The "pancakes", mmm pancakes, believe me you have to try the pancakes for brekky.

Chris and Charles were the most wonderful warm and friendly hosts. We could easily have sat with them for hours chatting our time away....we were disappointed when we had to leave.

To have the opportunity to stay in the Rutherglen region, go out sight seeing and have our four legged one baby sat was another wonderful offering of this beautiful couple.

Thank you so much - we highly recommend this place to family and friends and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a fun time at Must Love Dogs. Our Friday night roast dinner was delicious and beautifully presented in the atmospheric dining room. Our dog had such a lovely time playing with Chris & Charlie's dogs and we really enjoyed all aspects of our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend away staying with Chris and Charlie. They took great care of us, feeding us with delicious breakfast on both days. We stayed in the chandelier suite which was just a marvellous room complete with our own coffee machine and widescreen television. The attached bedroom was decked out with the most comfortable bed I've ever lain on, luxurious satin sheen sheets and a double electric blanket. All the renovations are new so the bathroom facilities were top notch with heated towel racks and a heater in the bathroom.

Each suite at Must Love Dogs has its own attached courtyard for the pooches to run around in where you can leave them for the day without having to worry. The pups are very spoilt by Chris who will even bake dog biscuits for them upon arrival. Humans also get a delicious cup cake so we are pampered too.

Not knowing what to expect at rutherglen it turned out to be the perfect weekend to rest, wine taste and relax all without having to worry about the pet who enjoyed the trip as much as we did.

Thank you Chris and Charlie!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything you read is true. Chris & Charlie are perfect hosts and bring their vast experience to this lovely Rutherglen B&B. We had a great couple of days enjoying the food and wines of the area and our dog had a great time visiting with Chris and their dogs while Charlie took us on a private winery tour.
If you want to travel with your dog, and why shouldn't you, I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MickeyD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
180 reviews
1 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison St Arnaud
La Maison St Arnaud
#5 of 13 in Rutherglen
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 13 in Rutherglen
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: $147 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing