We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class pet friendly accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class pet friendly accommodation”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband, 2 kids, fur kid and I had a lovely stay at Must Love Dogs B & B. Chris and Charlie are very friendly and extremely welcoming. Great breakfast which was enjoyed by all combined with comfy surroundings all made our stay very enjoyable. Will definitely try to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita74PominOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    29
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
183
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Chris and Charles run a fun, friendly establishment - for human as well as fur people. We don't have dogs but our friends do. Nevertheless, we slept comfortably, enjoyed Charles' fabulous breakfasts, and indulged to excess at the delicious dinner they offer as optional. Put this together with relaxing, well maintained spaces both indoors and out and Rutherglen's weather and wine offerings and you have the perfect recipe for a relaxing break. Meredith and Bruce, Seddon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the time we set foot in this wonderful B&B we and our furkids were made most welcome. Welcome muffins for both humans & dogs look and taste wonderful (yes, I accidentally ate a "doggie muffin"!) Chris and Charlie are caring hosts whose main aim is to provide a place where one can truly unwind. Charlie's breakfasts are beyond delicious and his omelettes are so light and fluffy it's a wonder they don't float away. MLD is a "must stay" venue for those looking for a quiet escape with their furry family members.
Claudine & Terry, Lakes Entrance

Room Tip: Both rooms have their own charm & very comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwfinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had an absolute ball staying at Must Love Dogs B&B. We stayed in the Chandelier room, it was lovely and welcoming with a very comfy bed. Chris and Charles were the perfect hosts. Charles is an absolute guru in the kitchen, his english breakfast will keep you going for the day. Chris was a great help, with lots of friendly and useful advice about where to visit in Rutherglen. Our fur kid - Chloe had a great time exploring the fully fenced and secure yard especially when she spotted Princess the big softy great dane on the other side. Kisses were had! We thoroughly recommend this place as an excellent pet-friendly holiday destination and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

our accommodation excellent, the best nights sleep we have had for some time and the breakfasts and dinner are without fault, Charlie you are amazing. Being with Chris and Charlie was like staying with dear friends. We, together with Tia (our greyhound) will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Iain and I had a wonderful weekend staying at Must Love Dogs. It was like staying with old friends who share our passion for our canine friends. The facilities were perfect for holidaying with our fury companions and Chris and Charles were wonderful hosts. Our wine tour was great fun and the breakfast in the heritage dining room was memorable.
We are looking forward to returning in the near future and will be recommending the experience to our friends and fellow dog enthusiasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Thanks Chris and Charles for a fantastic weekend away. It was so lovely to be able to take our pups with us and they certainly loved the extra attention. The breakfast were amazing as well as the two course dinner that you can't fault. I would still love the receipe for those potatoes.
Thanks again and we will certainly be back to visit. Libby, Ryan, Zoe and Barney

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyW385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 13 in Rutherglen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Property: Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing