We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Gem"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TASTE

TASTE
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Taste seats 118 inside and 30 alfresco (our courtyard is undercover and has heating and cooling systems and generally have live music on Saturday nights, as long as conditions are favourable). A La Carte dining/degustation menus available from 6pm with lunches and Sunday nights by appointment only. Contact us for reservations or information with regard to booking functions/weddings/etc either in-house or off-site.
Rutherglen, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A Gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Dined at Taste to celebrate the return of long term guests to our cottage and the recent publishing of guest's book!
Warm, hospitable and simply delicious modern Australian food...great wine list to match!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CottageonMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    69
    17
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food in a rustic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

For a sunday night the place was packed. Need to book. Service was friendly but a little slow. More like a country cafe than a restaurant but think that's the intention.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a casual, hospitable setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

What a lovely restaurant - We stopped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the menu and the quality and presentation of the food. Fi and Gav are very friendly hosts who have created a lovely environment for their restaurant. Our meals were delicious and servings were a good size. Excellent coffee too. We will definitely be going back for the degustation menu. I would highly recommend Taste to anyone visiting the region.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unassuming and brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Our mid-week dinner for two at TASTE Rutherglen was the most delicious and hospitable introduction to our first night of holidays in Victoria's High Country. Conveniently located in the centre of town and offering a concise (yet so hard to choose!) food and wine menu, we were delighted and seriously impressed by each course. With great service, good humour and ability to speak to the ever hospitable chef Gavin we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here! Be quick to make a booking before word gets out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank harryandlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Saw good reviews on your site so we rang and booked. We were driving from Sydney to see the Renaissance exhibition at the AGV in Melbourne on the weekend and thought stopping at Rutherglen (for the first time) and eating at a good restaurant would be a good stop on the way home. We spent Saturday in the Yarra Valley vineyards and were a little unsure of the Taste on Sunday night

Undoubtedly the best food, service and enjoyment of all 4 restaurants (Southbank, Yarra Valley & Rutherglen) we'd enjoyed. The others were good but Taste was exceptional & we'll return

Geoff Minter

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TASTE also viewed

 

Been to TASTE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing