We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm”

Wicked Virgin Olive Grove
Ranked #12 of 23 things to do in Rutherglen
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed some fantastic olives , were given quite a selection to choose from and loved the olive oil selection as well. The lady who owns it is a really interesting person and has a very dry wit. If you don't have a sense of humour you may not enjoy her company but we loved hearing about her management of the trees, the people who pick the olives and general history of the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pickledpea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Owners need to lighten up”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were finally offered some tastings but the owner was not in a happy mood. I would try the olive place called Gooramadda Olives first

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank footy22255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a gem to Discover!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

After visiting several larger wineries in the area, we came across this hidden gem just on the outskirts of town. What an interesting place with the last remaining remnants of the gold era. The homemade mud brick cellar door and surrounds were a delight. All their tastings are from products grown and made on site. The lady of the house with her quick wit and wicked sense of humour was a delight to engage with. We found out so much about the local history from her. She entertained us for ages. We had just the best time,coffee and light meal and left with a range of interesting goodies. A real hidden gem!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try some service with a smile”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We thought we would try some olives at this olive grove but from the moment we entered the lady who served us (believe she is the owner from talking to others) made us feel like we were doing her an inconvenience. She was hesitant to let us try olives and he overall manner came off as very rude. We thought we had caught her on a bad day but after talking to others from the town apparently she is renowned for this behaviour. Well she has done herself a disservice as we have told everyone about it and told them not to go to visit the Wicked Virgin Olive Grove. We wanted to buy a few of her products but there was no way after her treatment of us. Shame as the place itself looked nice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RenRu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie all over
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A disappointing visit on this occasion”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The products offered by the Wicked Virgin are excellent, and when I have been here before, the atmosphere is cordial and friendly. Not today. My friend and I on a winery tour felt as if we were a burden to serve. As I was after a couple of specific items anyway, I bought a few of the products, and even then, we weren't made feel welcome at all. A cold reception with grudging service. We didn't even bother trying the wines and only bought what I was planning on getting originally. Very disappointing!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingarajai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Virgin Olive Grove also viewed

Rutherglen, Victoria
Rutherglen, Victoria
 
Gooramadda, Rutherglen
 

Been to Wicked Virgin Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing