We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful wine & atmosphere.”

Scion Vineyard & Winery
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scion is a dynamic and creative boutique wine business established in Rutherglen, North East Victoria. Visit our intimate cellar door, take a wander through our 8-acre vineyard and be guided through our tiny winery. Meet the makers and enjoy our quintessential Australian country setting, only 2km south of the Rutherglen township.Our fruit is carefully hand-picked, wines are innovative/non-traditional and are hand-made with a focus on quality. We specialise in working with the varieties Muscat and Durif, which have been traditionally grown in Rutherglen for many years.We have a distinctive lineage in the Rutherglen region: inspired great-great granddaughter Jan Milhinch and son Rowly established Scion Vineyard from bare earth, 'scions' of pioneering Rutherglen vigneron (1859) GF Morris.Since planting in 2002, Scion has won trophies and gold medals with their hand-crafted wines including Best Australian Durif awarded at the 2010 Rutherglen Wine Show and Best Fortified for 2010 as described by Jeni Port with their Sweet Durif. They have developed innovative styles using the famous Muscat grape variety, including the delicate Rose Muscat dessert wine, a dry aromatic Orange Muscat Rosé and drier aperitif fortified wine, a vintage Brown Muscat.Don't forget to find Scion Vineyard & Winery on Facebook or follow on Twitter.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely adored the 2010 Affinity and was encouraged to try the 2012 After Dark which brought me back to desert wines!

Spent the day in the region, ended at Scion which was a complete standout.

Thank tazz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland M, Owner at Scion Vineyard & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Tazz2007,

Always great to hear of a dessert wine rediscovery! Hope that your time in the region was enjoyable, hope to see you again soon

Cheers,

Rowly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Scion Vineyard & Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 126 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved this winery. Out of all the wineries we went to over a 2 day period it was the smallest but the best. Roly the owner took us on a personalised tour with tastings. The passion this young man shows for his spin on wine making is insipiring.

Highly recommend, well worth a visit.

Thank Sambos62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland M, Owner at Scion Vineyard & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hi Sambos62,

Thanks for your review! Really glad that you had a great experience at Cellar Door and that you enjoyed the wines! It was a pleasure to tour you through the winery and hope to see you again soon!

Rowly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Do yourself a favour and visit Scion Vineyard & Winery and enjoy the pleasure of Rowly walking you through their selection of wine and the innovation/creativity of it's production!
This would have to be the best Vineyard/Winery we have ever been to (and we have been to a few) and I would recommend Scion to all my friends and family as a must when you are in Rutherglen - in fact if you do not go you have let yourself down! By the way the wine is to die for!

Thank travellercanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland M, Owner at Scion Vineyard & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi travellercanberra,

Love the Molly Meldrum introduction and thank you for the humbling feedback. Really pleased that you enjoyed your time at cellar door and hope that you are able to visit again soon!

Cheers,
Rowly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Scion Winery. Its a small vineyard that was established about ten years ago by the current wine-maker's mother. Rowley Milhinch, the current wine-maker, is passionate about wine and developing close relations with his clients. Generous with his time, Rowley took us through his wines and explained the rationale behind each of them. Elegance, balance and food matching are the key to Scion's approach to wine and we received excellent tips about the food that best matched its wines. There was an excellent and most unusual aperitif , an off-dry white wine, Fleur; some interesting Durif reds and a couple of unusual muscats .Rutherglen is, of course, famous for its luscious fortified dessert wines but Scion's <After Dark> wine is an unusual take on the muscat style- somewhat lighter than the older big, treacly (but wonderful) Rutherglen wines. Scion also sells a wonderful Rose Muscat with an aroma and flavor that speaks of rose water and musk. Rowley suggests serving these fortified slightly chilled. Good conversation, excellent wines and some fine olives and wonderful local chocolate are offered along with the tasting. There is a small $5 tasting fee but its returned if you buy some of the wine. All in all, this visit and our time with the wine-maker is one more demonstration of why small is best. in the wine industry.

Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland M, Owner at Scion Vineyard & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi MelbourneOzTraveller,

It's wonderful to read your comments that show appreciation of the elements of our cellar door experience. It was lovely to host you and welcome your next visit when travelling through the region.

Cheers,
Rowly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Scion is a beautiful Rutherglen vineyard/ cellar door to visit and sample whites, reds wines and fortified Durif. The After Dark (fortified Durif) is a must you, will be offered local hand made dark chocolate to sample with this simply stunning drop . If your in Rutherglen you MUST visit this cellar door its too good to miss.

1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland M, Owner at Scion Vineyard & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Melanie C,

Glad you enjoyed the After Dark and thanks for sharing your positive experience. We welcome you back next time and may have released the 2012 After Dark for you to enjoy by then!

Cheers,
Rowly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scion Vineyard & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Scion Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing